We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Vinales!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Leonel et Amarilis
Ranked #37 of 200 Vinales B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Vinales!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Casa Leonel et Amarilis was our best casa in Cuba! Leonel and Amarilles made us feel home the moment we arrived in Vinales. They welcomed us with a fresh manga fruit drink. They were very friendly and gave us plenty of advise to get around in Vinales. The breakfast was very good with lots of fresh fruit, bread and eggs. Diner was even better, especially the grilled fish and meat. Every morning it was possible to tell our wishes for diner and Amarilis made something great! The local restaurants couldn't compete with the food of our casa.

Before we went to the casa de la musica in the evening we smoked cigars with Leonel and had some great homemade Mojito's. It's also possible to buy cigars of good quality from Leonel.

We think this casa was the best casa of Cuba and we definitely recommend Leonel y Amarailis!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tijsenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    25
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
93
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room was clean, but basic and not very luxurious for two adults and two kids. However, the hosts were absolutely brilliant. They helped us with some really nice excursions, they invited os to chat with them in their livingroom, they cooked lovely food, they fixed drinks and fruits, they were adorable to our children and they even washed our clothes for a small fee. The warm terrace outside the room was fantastic in the evenings when the kids had fallen asleep. It is impossible to wish for anything else for this astonishlingly low price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

You'll see, every owners of Casas particulares will suggest you another place to stay for your next city. And this happened to us at La Habana: our hosts suggested us Leonel. Unfortunatly when we arrived they didn't have enough place for 4 people but they were INCREDIBLE helping us for another place to sleep. We stayed at their house to relax a little bit waiting until they were calling lots of different houses for us.
They are both teachers and love to explain you what to do in Vinales giving you interesting suggestions.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IreAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was the best casa i stayed in in Cuba, the family are INCREDIBLE, so warm and friendly, everything was clean and comfortable, but you cannot get better than this family. I felt like part of the family. Amarillis is an amazing cook, her food was the best i had in cuba, don't waste your time going to a restaurant she is wonderful and if you are lucky she will give you cooking tips. If you are lucy enough to meet there son and hang out with their friends you will have the best holiday of your life! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was probably the best casa in Cuba:
- Friendly, Social family
- Lovely homestay (enjoy some drinks together with this inviting family)
- Excellent terras view of the mountains
- Nicest town to visit (nature, biking, hiking, horse riding in the fields, talking to the locals)
- A lot of good advice on places to visit and what to do in Vinales by Leonel
- Enjoy some music/ guitar by José (son of the house) and sing along.
- Best food in all of Cuba (nice food and a lot to eat). Amarilis is a wonderful cook
- Room is excellent (airco, clean, ...)
I recommend going to Vinales and staying here (their e-mail adress for direct contact: casaleonelyamarilis@gmail.com)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
216 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed with Leonel and Amarillis for a couple of days. They are very hospitable people. Although they don't speak a lot of English communication is possible. Their good intentions compensate fully for this.
The room has a terrace with a table and chairs. Great for smoking a cigar with Leonel (una per dia). Airconditioning is available.
The food is prepared with a lot of love and breakfast and diner are great.
Vinales is a quiet village with great surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esdeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We were two finnish students who didn't know anything about viñales, but when we arrive to the house both leonel y amarilis helped us to get started, told us where to visit and gave us tips how to do things less expensive since we were students with smaller budget. The food is amazing and cheap compared to the prizes they have in the restaurants! Aircondition, comfy beds and nice terrace!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vinales hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Mariposa
Villa Mariposa
#20 of 200 in Vinales
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Villa Silvia
Casa Villa Silvia
#33 of 200 in Vinales
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Cristina y Abel
Villa Cristina y Abel
#30 of 200 in Vinales
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Haydee Chiroles
Villa Haydee Chiroles
#22 of 200 in Vinales
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Cristal
Villa Cristal
#26 of 200 in Vinales
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Jean Pierre
Casa Jean Pierre
#101 of 200 in Vinales
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leonel et Amarilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leonel et Amarilis

Property: Casa Leonel et Amarilis
Address: Rafael Trejo (interior) 7H, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing