We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vinales Best !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Colonial Mercedes
Ranked #62 of 200 Vinales B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vinales Best !”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thankyou Mercedes and Michael for your warmth, hospitality that you have always shared with me. Your home feels like my home in Cuba.

To visitors : stay here!!. There is a level of warmth and care you will find nowhere else in Cuba. The food is absolutely wonderful also. I would suggest you book for 3 days because Vinales is a special place to enjoy (check out Plaza Polo, the caves, los Jasmines, go walking, horse riding, drink the sugar cane juice - near the petrol station - and eat chocolate ice-cream.

Michael speaks perfect English - and can help with well informed advice on the area.

Room Tip: just one room - so book ahead if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    24
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
114
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was the most welcoming place we stayed in Cuba, with the best food as well! On top of that Mercedes was like a loving mother who couldn't do enough for us. We loved the location: we could walk everywhere and each morning while having our coffee we would watch the neighborhood come alive. Vendors in horse drawn carts came down the street calling out their wares. Mercedes had her favorites and the sellers would always come back to her if she was busy the first time they came through. Maikel was a wonderful addition to our experience. He spoke excellent English and was so friendly and professional. He works in guest services in one of the high end hotels and it shows. Staying at the Casa Mercedes is like having our own in house concierge, private chef and mother!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrwbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The combination of a wonderful hostess, a great service (for making trips) and more then excellent food makes this casa the best during our Cuba stay. We stayed here for 3 days and the care of Mercedes and her family made this an excellent start of our holiday

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roeland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Brilliant casa. Mercedes, the owner, could not have been more friendly and helpful - she went way beyond the call of duty. After a day trekking in the hills, our shoes were covered in mud - when we came down the next morning, she had cleaned them for us. The food was incredible-probably the best we had in Cuba - and also very cheap

As others have said, her son Maikel was really helpful in setting up trips etc. He speaks amazing English (better than some English people i've met!)

Room was very nice-you get a large living area to yourself as well as a bedroom and bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The most hospitable casa we have been to in Cuba. We stayed here for four days and really enjoyed the atmosphere of Vinales and the comfort offered byu this Casa. The son easily arranged a few trips: horseback riding in the valley, see Vinales, Pinar del Rio and a tabacco factory. Mercedes is a good cook, willing to serve something delicious at any time. The son also arranged for us to be able to swim in the swimming pool of the Ermita Hotel, which has an amazing view. In summary, a wonderful stay of four days and we recommend it to all of you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zevenbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Mercedes and Mariano treated us like royalty. We had a choice of meals at the time we chose and mountains of local fruit such as mangos, guava, papaya, pineapple and bananas. We had a private room and bathroom with shower and everything was spotlessly clean. Their son Maikel was extremely helpful, making suggestions for days out and organising them if we preferred. This casa really does tick all the boxes and deserves the best possible rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorisShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I have never written a review of any hotel or B&B in the past but felt compelled to write about our excellent 3 day stay at Casa Colonial Mercedes during April 2012. To be honest it really was the ultimate highlight of our wonderful holiday in Cuba.

Vinales is a beautiful peaceful area with stunning scenery, but what made it extra special was the home from home at Casa Colonial. We were treated with exceptional warmth and literally nothing was too much trouble for Mercedes and her son Mikael who arranged everything for us, including bike hires, tours, horse-riding and salsa lessons, all at very short notice. This ensured no stress in organising anything. We simply kicked back, relaxed and had lots of fun! Practicing my newfound salsa dancing skills down the road from the Casa, at Polo Montanez bar (a great night out!) with Mercedes niece and the wonderful local people of Vinales is a memory that will stay with me for a long time.

The Casa itself is amazing value compared to an impersonal hotel. It is a clean, homely, comfortable place to unwind with a private living / dining room, large bedroom, private bathroom and a lovely porch with rocking chairs to sit back and sip homemade mojito’s on. Mercedes is lovely person and despite the language barrier (we speak no Spanish unfortunately) it was fun to communicate and get to know her. Mercedes is also an exceptional cook and catering to our vegetarian diet was absolutely no trouble. It was undoubtedly the best food we had and something that we missed during the rest of our time in Cuba.

I would recommend both Vinales and especially Casa Colonial Mercedes to any friends visiting Cuba as a must. Thanks to Mercedes, Mikael and family for being such great hosts, hope to visit you again some day!

Priya and Neeru

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vinales hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Horizontes La Ermita
Horizontes La Ermita
#4 of 7 in Vinales
554 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rancho San Vicente
Rancho San Vicente
#5 of 7 in Vinales
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Mercedes

Property: Casa Colonial Mercedes
Address: Rafael Trejo # 2, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English and French speaking hosts in a colonial casa particular near Vinales center. A large air-conditioned room with a high ceiling. Private bathroom and amazing food. Maikel, the son of Mercedes, works in tourism and can help you to arrange any kind of tours you want to do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing