We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok room, good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Pitin y Juana
Ranked #199 of 207 Vinales B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We grabbed a room here as everywhere else seemed to be full and it was in Lonely Planet.
The room was OK, upstairs, and clean, but the shower was hopeless, little more than a dribble.....
We did meet a great guide for a walking tour through them however....Jessie was great and the tour really worth doing through the tobacco farms and hills.
Vinales was lovely to stay in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 115 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Great people, and excellent service. Food was delicious and Breakfast is the best in town! Juana and staff are very friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfortable! I don't have any complaints about my stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gvillar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This Casa was mentioned in Lonely Planet as a wonderful place to stay in Vinales as the family was so warm and friendly and food was terrific.
Yes, food was terrific - and yes, initially, family was very friendly and welcoming. But after the first day, we felt we were "burdening" tis family by asking for things such as the much touted Mojitos or some extra bread or our water turned on.........On occasion we actually got the eye roll thing from our hostess.
Anyway, we visited a friend in another casa three blocks over and it was night and day as far as friendliness and hospitality were concerned. And of the 4 casas we stayed at, (this one in Vinales and 3 in Habana, this was by far the least friendly. Methinks they are riding on the mention in Lonely Planet, which they make sure to mention to you shortly after you arrive...

Room Tip: Upstairs bedroom is better and quieter, however, no toilet seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennymasae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

During our trip around Cuba we stayed in several Casas and this seemed to be one of the better ones. Our room was situated at the top of what amounted to a fire escape and had its own terrace and easy access to the small plunge pool on the adjoining terrace - very welcome on a hot day.

The room was basic - as expected - but equipped with a fridge and air-conditioning. The ensuite bathroom had an unusual shower system but did all that was necessary.

Food was plentiful, nicely cooked and presented; the family seemed warm and friendly and our lack of Spanish was met with good humour.

We enjoyed our two nights in Vinales and this was in no small part due to our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le-pecheur-Villepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My wife and I were fortunate to have a chance to stay at Villa Pitín y Juana on our honeymoon a few weeks ago. We were taking a side-trip from our week in Havana and the hospitality and cuisine that awaited us in Viñales really made an impression on. We really didn't know quite what to expect from a "Casa Particular" and were looking for a counterpoint to the rest of our lodging, 4-star Havana tourist-class hotels. Everyone in the family took an active interest in our stay, helping us program and maximize our all-too-brief time there, and making us feel absolutely "at home". The food, as advertised in Lonely Planet and elsewhere, is sublime, wonderfully home-cooked Cuban recipes of the freshest ingredients possible. We would not hesitate to recommend Pitín y Juana to anyone looking for positive and genuine contact with a Cuban family and a clean, bright Place to stay in a spectacularly beautiful section of the country.

Room Tip: there are only 2 rooms, and they're both nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbachrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Okay, so we booked it because of the food. When we see the words "best in Cuba" we're not going to pass it up easily. So we fought our way past the casa ladies at the bus stop (even passing up the one that said she's also a profesora de sexo) and made it before anyone could grab the terrace room. They're installing a pool in the back, but the construction didn't detract from our stay since we were on the same siesta schedule as the workers. So, yes, Juana's (and mama's) dinners were the standards by which we judged all subsequent meals on our month-long Cuba trip. Always fresh and hot and piled high, the food lived up to all expectations. And the mojitos weren't half bad either. We ate dinner at home every night, and happily gobbled up breakfast every morning (with all the Viñales walks we did, we needed the calories). The biggest disappointment was having to leave. Aww.

Room Tip: The terrace is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelCalifornians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I ate like a king at Juana and Pitin's house. Juana is a great cook. The lobster was amazing! Both Juana and Pitin are very sweet - I kept feeling the urge to hug them but held back (cool Minnesota Scandinavian upbringing). The room downstairs is simple, but I doubt you'll spend much time there other than to sleep since there's so much to do in and around Vinales. You dine in one of two open air patio areas that were excellent.
You can walk downtown and to the internet station from here. Actually, you can walk just about everywhere in town from here - the town is small.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
1.7 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 8 in Vinales
882 reviews
40 mi away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#5 of 6 in Cayo Largo
2,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Jean Pierre
Casa Jean Pierre
#120 of 207 in Vinales
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Casa Magdiel y Maidalys
Casa Magdiel y Maidalys
#78 of 207 in Vinales
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Cristina y Abel
Villa Cristina y Abel
#48 of 207 in Vinales
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mariposa
Villa Mariposa
#20 of 207 in Vinales
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pitin y Juana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pitin y Juana

Address: Km 25 Carretera a Pinar del Rio, Casa # 2, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range: $44 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Pitin y Juana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing