We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come hungry!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Pitin y Juana
Ranked #198 of 204 Vinales B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Okay, so we booked it because of the food. When we see the words "best in Cuba" we're not going to pass it up easily. So we fought our way past the casa ladies at the bus stop (even passing up the one that said she's also a profesora de sexo) and made it before anyone could grab the terrace room. They're installing a pool in the back, but the construction didn't detract from our stay since we were on the same siesta schedule as the workers. So, yes, Juana's (and mama's) dinners were the standards by which we judged all subsequent meals on our month-long Cuba trip. Always fresh and hot and piled high, the food lived up to all expectations. And the mojitos weren't half bad either. We ate dinner at home every night, and happily gobbled up breakfast every morning (with all the Viñales walks we did, we needed the calories). The biggest disappointment was having to leave. Aww.

Room Tip: The terrace is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelCalifornians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 111 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2011

I ate like a king at Juana and Pitin's house. Juana is a great cook. The lobster was amazing! Both Juana and Pitin are very sweet - I kept feeling the urge to hug them but held back (cool Minnesota Scandinavian upbringing). The room downstairs is simple, but I doubt you'll spend much time there other than to sleep since there's so much to do in and around Vinales. You dine in one of two open air patio areas that were excellent.
You can walk downtown and to the internet station from here. Actually, you can walk just about everywhere in town from here - the town is small.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had the downstairs room, which was generally ok, clean enough (some ants but nothing worse)... apart from the bed- my partner woke up with a sharp pain, which was the spring that had broken through the matress and pierced him in the back! The food was comparable to other casas- the fish definitely the best. The worst part of this casa was the service- the guy who greets you at the station is lovely but it ends there- he doesnt even live in the casa. The family are pretty unfriendly and even though we speak a bit of spanish they didnt really bother with us. Beware the big guy (husband?)- asking him a question you will get a death glare. Our experience in cuba depended a lot on the families we stayed with- unfortunately this one didn't add to it! Other great casas around the town, don't stay in this one

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eMzdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in early December. We had the upstairs room which was a good size, and the outside terrace was a plus (just a shame we didn't have the greatest weather to enjoy it) the bathroom was fine - though has some trouble with the water at times.

Locations was great - slightly outside of town but in somewhere the size of Vinales that isn't an issue and was only a 5 min walk away. Food was nice and good value for money - the fish was especially good.

This is a nice place to stay but wasn't one of my favourite casa and I think there are perhaps other places in town that could be better. Not sure if it was the language barrier (ie our lack of spanish and their lack of English) that was the difference but found the other places we stayed friendlier and warmer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerityK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Villa Pitin y Juana have 2 rooms they let. We were in the downstairs one which was pleasant but compact with it's own en-suite shower & WC AND A/C. The upstairs room looked better and even had it's own little rooftop terrace. Although Juana doesn't speak much English, it was not a problem, and her son, who spoke very good English, was around to help with any trips we needed to arrange.
Juanas evening meal was simple but super tasty, as were her Mojitos, with extra Rum if required!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldenfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillaume V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: unbedingt nach Terassenzimmer fragen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lind m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vinales hotels
0 mi away
Horizontes La Ermita
Horizontes La Ermita
#5 of 7 in Vinales
589 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
853 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Oreste El Pelotero
Casa Oreste El Pelotero
#57 of 204 in Vinales
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villa El Habano
Villa El Habano
#5 of 204 in Vinales
557 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Magdiel y Maidalys
Casa Magdiel y Maidalys
#87 of 204 in Vinales
18 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Cristina y Abel
Villa Cristina y Abel
#46 of 204 in Vinales
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pitin y Juana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pitin y Juana

Address: Km 25 Carretera a Pinar del Rio, Casa # 2, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range: $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing