We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly house with good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal de Gloria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal de Gloria
Ranked #112 of 200 Vinales B&B and Inns
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly house with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

Just got back from four nights with Gloria and family. We were very pleased with the accomodation and the meals served by Gloria were great; always something different and always too much to finish (and we have an 18yr old son!)
Gloria has lots of ideas for days out and we enjoyed our stay a lot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GWashOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    13
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Stayed in this casa for 3 nights Jan/Feb 2011. (2 couples)
The family is very pleasant and Gloria makes great meals and will set you up with horse ride tours, cigar purchases and more.
There is a very nice porch with rockers at the house entrance and a view from the rooftop.
A comment - there was a motorcycle kept in the back part of the house and gas odours were smelled occasionally in areas of the house and porch.
The daughter-in-law (who is also a nurse) moonlights as a manicurist and did an excellent job on both my wifes and sister-in-laws nails!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BC_HowLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We experienced a warm atmosphere and had a pleasant time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuban_expierence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

We had a lovely time in Vinales & Gloria was so kind & welcoming. I don't think anything happens in this town without Gloria knowing, if you need something organised just ask!!
Drinks on the terrace in your rocking chair - happy days!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CubaLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacristal, Booking Manager at Hostal de Gloria, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
Thanks a lot for all the nice comments you did about Gloria and their family. We answer in their name because they don’t have emails access and at the same time we manage their bookings. They are very happy about everything you wrote and will try to keep improving their business
Kind Regards
Anita y Francisco from Villa Cristal in Vinales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

We stayed in Gloria's house for four nights, and everything was very good!
Gloria cooked for us and arranged walking and horse back riding trips. We have nothing to complain about, she took very good care of us and was so helpful all the time!

We said to each other all the time: "I am so glad, that we stay in our street and not her," when we were walking in Vinales. Gloria's street is so full of life, there are children playing, people fixing old cars, people in horse carriages passing by and chickens and pigs everywhere - with the mountains in the back ground. And you can relax and enjoy every bit of it from Gloria's terrace - maybe with one of her homemade drinks at your side.

We also met Gloria's family several times and her sweet little grand child that gave us many laughs.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HepCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

We are a family of 4 - 2 adutls and 2 teenage boys and we spent our time in Vinales at Gloria's Hostal. Gloria was amazing and her dinner was delicious - best food we had in Cuba. Her rooms were clean and very convenient. The terrace is a great place to relax and take in teh fabulus view. She set up a fabulous hike through the farm and mountain area around Vinales for us for us and even organised a ride to our next destination. I would reccomend Gloria and her Casa to anyone visiting Vinales. Wonderful person, and great accomodation and amazing food.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacristal, Marketer at Hostal de Gloria, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Thanks a lot for all the nice comments you did about Hostal de Gloria and her family. We answering in their name because they dont have emails access. They are very happy about everything you wrote and they will try to keep improving their bussines
Kind Regards
Francisco & Any from Villa Cristal in Vinales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal de Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de Gloria

Property: Hostal de Gloria
Address: Orlando # 15, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Gloria is located in a very quiet area, around 4 blocks from the center, where you will have a nice view of the valley because the house is builded on a little hill. Besides the two rooms they rent to tourists Gloria and her family, husband, son and his wife and her grandchild, are living in the house too. Her husband can show you how to make handmade cigars and if you wish, you can smoke them too :) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing