We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Esther, great introduction to Casa life”
Review of Casa Esther

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Esther
Ranked #74 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Vinales
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife and I visited Cuba for the first time during the last 2 weeks of January 2012 and after 3 nights in Havana we stayed at Casa Esther for 2 nights not really knowing what to expect. The room was very clean and spacious and whilst there was no back garden or roof area the front porch made a great people watching spot. By the end of our trip we had stayed in 5 diffrent Casas and whilst Esther's did not have the relaxing areas others offered it was by far and away the best cooking we experienced in Cuba. We would have no hesitation in staying with Esther again on our next trip and hope we can speak enough Spanish by then to converse with Esther.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 58 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed 3 days in Casa Esther early January. The room and the bathroom were very clean and spacious. Esther cooked the best 2 meals we ate in our 2 week cuba trip. her son Joaquin has a nice 1950's car cab. He drived us around for 2 days including the beach, the caves, tobacco farms and all other interesting places Vinales has to offer. Overall we had a great experience. I strongly suggest Casa Esther.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maydemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Our trip in Vinales was only two days therefore we only stayed for one night, nevertheless we enjoyed the stay very much. Esther is indeed a great host, her place is clean and comfortable, good shower and food is super. We do not speak Spanish, but it did not hinder us from experiencing the warmth of the host.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hofami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed, with my wife and daughter, for three nights at Esther's Casa over new years. We had a wonderful stay. Esthers cooking is superb and we felt very welcome, almost like part of the family. Her son, Joaquin, has a beatiful old Chevy and he took us on a couple of great tours around the valley and beyond. I wish I have the opportunity to go back one day.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank KristerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had read so much about this casa but never found how to contact the dear Esther before going. When we arrived in Vinales at night we easily found a casa, which wasn't Esther's, still, we did give up as we absolutely wanted to taste her food.

Casa Esther is located at the end of the main Vinales street (where buses arrive), opposite to a small gas station. I know this does not sound appealing but this is Cuba, and a/ gas stations are a luxury b/ just get in the casa (a chef is painted on the facade, you can't miss it).
Esther warmly welcomed us, showed us her charming back door courtyard were the restaurant is, and inquired about what would please us for diner.
We came back 1/2 hour later, and diner was ready to be served.

We had chicken, fried fish (beautiful) served with a hot black bean soup, rice and fresh vegetable salad: nothing complicated nor very original but trust me, it was one of the best diners we had in Cuba, everything was beautifully cooked and tasty (not to mention a ridiculous price, nearly 1/2 of what you pay when eating in your casa).

We came back next day for lunch and enjoyed some grilled tuna, again, beautifully cooked, and Esther was alway as warm and welcoming.
The only thing you need to be aware of are the quantities: Esther is generous, and finishing your plate IS a challenge.

Hope you'll enjoy Esther's food and company as much as we did.

Room Tip: Esther's daughter has a casa just 2 minutes away from the restaurant. She was just finishing ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Esther and her husband Joaquin are warm and welcoming hosts. They were extremely helpful with all aspects of our stay, from offering to do our laundry (at a small fee) to helping us set up excursions and purchase bus tickets. The room has two double beds, a refrigerator, a hot shower, and a/c and a fan. Esther's food is delicious and plentiful--you definitely wont starve staying with them, and the food was some of the best we had in Cuba! My friend and I speak Spanish, so language wasnt a problem for us, though Esther and her husband do not speak English. I would definitely recommend as a great place to stay in Viñales.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lginsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great room, large with aircon and fans. Good shower. Lovely, attentive hostess who also respected your own space/time. Esther didn't speak English and my Spanish was very limited but as long as you ensure you know the Spanish for 'what time', 'breakfast', 'dinner' you should be fine. When i didn't know what she was offering me for dinner she made a sheep noise and we both laughed! If you don't speak any Spanish then Villa Crystal is directly opposite and they are more than happy to translate for you and Esther. Her son (speaks English) drives an old Yank Tank taxi and can take you wherever you want to go. Fabulous, comfy stay - would highly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElliotandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vinales hotels
0 mi away
Villa Campana
Villa Campana
#38 of 95 in Vinales
33 reviews
0 mi away
Villa La Cubana
Villa La Cubana
#114 of 205 in Vinales
82 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa Oreste El Pelotero
Casa Oreste El Pelotero
#66 of 205 in Vinales
88 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Cristina y Abel
Villa Cristina y Abel
#46 of 205 in Vinales
110 reviews
0 mi away
Villa El Habano
Villa El Habano
#4 of 205 in Vinales
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Esther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Esther

Address: Rafael Trejo 94, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Vinales
Price Range: $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice tranquil Casa Particular with great hosts and a nice patio where you can relax in your rocking chair to watch the Vinales life going by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing