We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cubanacan Hotel y Villas Marina Hemingway
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
A TripAdvisor Member
“Better than expected...”
Reviewed May 21, 2005

Having read previous reviews of the Marina Hemingway, I thought we were in for a mozzy-infested 1960s throwback, but this was far from the case. There were a few mozzies about in mid-May (so perhaps more in June/July?), but all you need is your anti-bug spray, so what's the problem? Girls - there are hair dryers in the rooms... The pool is very nice although loud poolside music might not be your cup of tea (this might not be a regular 'thing'). Breakfast was a buffet affair, so you can stock up for lunch too if need be... There's a bank/exchange almost opposite in small white 'hut'. A few nice shops for shopaholics. Or why not stock up on some cheap but good Cuban coffee at the nearby grocery store? Must not forget the Marina Hemingway's excellent bell boy who speaks good English and will no doubt ferry you about the marina, and also knows from afar when you might be in need of a lift back (!). The stylish-looking Chinese restaurant at the marina was very good (and cheap). It's a bit of a treck, but air conditioned with good service & a nice loo (!). Don't be put off by the dress code rules and check 'what's cooking' before you order. There are also 2 Italians nearby too.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2005

After reading the reviews, I expected the worse! We arrived approx. 1am from London, (as you can imagine very tired after a 12 hour flight) , the staff were amiable, a porter (for 3 pesos) showed us to our room which was clean and larger than I expected, with 2 double beds and a balcony with a view over looking the marina.

The hotel does provide a FREE shuttle bus into Havana (and return) which takes approx 30 mins (20 mins by taxi - 10 - 15 pesos each way) approx 3 times a day, but any good holiday company should advise this before you travel.

There where some local people using the pool, however we did not find them a problem, generally there was enough tables and sunbeds for everyone. Remember - this is a Marina and therefore a lot of people dock here and use the facilities. It is Cuba, unless you are in a all inclusive private tourist complex, you will here salsa music and see local cuabn people.

OK, so it I don't think it is a 4 star hotel (maybe 3 star or 3 star plus) but please remember where you are going and how much you paid. Please don't be put off by so many negative reports, its really not that bad.

Please let me know if you have any questions, I'd be happy to help and be honest about it - DeborahBaber@AOL.com

Have a great time!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2005

This is a straightforward tourist hotel a little out of Havana but with a reliable free shuttle bus. The problem is that all afternoon it operates as a kind of public swimming pool with an unreasonably noisy public address blaring out disco and local music for the sole benefit of the many local people who flood in and certainly not for the hotel guests whose complaints go unheard. Oh, and they are not above cheating you on the hotel reception. Don't miss seeing Havana, but stay somewhere else if the hotel is important to you.

Helpful?
5 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2005

The hotel comprises a number of buildings alongside a private road within a gated marina. We arrived late in the evening and there was no one to show us where our room was or to help with luggage. Refurbishment is taking place but it caused us no problems. Rooms are quiet and spacious with two double beds and they have pleasant views over the water, but they are nondescript. There was no sign of mossies in February so we didn't need to spray or use electrical devices at all. Breakfast is in a large self service restaurant and of average quality though as a plus point the choice is wide. There are a few restaurants just a short stroll away in the marina complex, Italian, Spanish and Chinese, also there are expensive clothes shops and a small supermarket. In the afternoons the pool gets busy with lots of yacht owners and crew etc. The biggest drawback we found was the distance from old Havana; it is claimed to be 20 minutes but that must be in a fast car with little traffic. Using the hotel bus or one of the old american cars took more like 35 - 40 minutes and can become tiresome after a coulpe of trips. Exhaust fumes are a real turn off in the old cars by the way as they all seem to have leaking exhausts. Oh, and don't lose your electronic door key as there appears to be no way to have a replacement cut!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 10, 2004

We stayed there for 4 nights June04 and the first day we killed over 80 mosquito,s in our room. There was hundreds of splat marks on the wall before we arrived. Its an old hotel which is in need of remoderation. The locals can also use the pool area. We left a beach towel and a t-shirt by accident at the pool. We went back and it was gone. Staff unhelpful and not really bothered,so beware what you leave behind.

Its quite east to get to central havana about 9-10 dollars taxi ride.

Really helpful bell boy Pedro. I tipped him lots of times.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 29, 2004

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from Cuba. We stay at the Marina Hemingway for 4 nights. I definitely would not rate this hotel as a 4*... 2* max!! Overall, its very rundown and in bad need of a revamp. Its a real pity because the Marina is a nice place. The rooms, whilst they looked okay, the smell of must and damp in the air was terrible. The balcony doors were impossible to open and if you did manage it, closing them was a real challenge! The 24 hour restaurant didn't look that nice but the food was suprisingly okay. The swimming pool for residents, was mostly occupied with locals who looked at you as if you were the one who shouldn't be there! I found the staff at reception extremely unhelpful and some particularly rude on occassions. Smiling or being pleasant was not on their agenda. Had they perhaps made more effort, my opinion of the hotel may not have been so bad.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 27, 2004

Excellent value for money when you book direct with the hotel - the rooms, restaurants and general area were very clean. The restaurant prices were very good and quiet day and night. This is not party central - I was there to rest and enjoy a few cigars, walks and watching the sunset from my balcony. Note this is not the Hilton, nor did we pay Hilton prices - $60.00 U.S. per night! Only a $7 cab ride to central Havana.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
0.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.0 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 79 in Havana
1,335 reviews
0.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,644 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cubanacan Hotel y Villas Marina Hemingway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubanacan Hotel y Villas Marina Hemingway

Property: Cubanacan Hotel y Villas Marina Hemingway
Address: 5ta Ave. Y 248 | Santa Fe, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
Number of rooms: 314
Also Known As:
Marina Hemingway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing