We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and careful hosts, a relaxing house in a beautiful valley!”
Review of Carmen y Daniel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carmen y Daniel
Ranked #52 of 200 Vinales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good and careful hosts, a relaxing house in a beautiful valley!”
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We selected this house based on TripAdvisor ranking and we surely did not regret it: the hosts, particularly Daniel, have been soooo kind, present and discrete at the same time. You need them, they are there, you want privacy, they disappear. Daniel prepared us the best mojito we drunk in Cuba: ask him his special recipe.....Their house is in a quiet spot of Vinales, few tens of meters away from the main street.
The room we stayed in is separate from the main house, has its own newly decorated bathroom, and you get breakfast and dinners served on a private table in the internal patio. Very comfortable.
Sightseeing in between the mountains, fields and caves of Vinales is a great experience, people are all behaving in a very friendly way.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    21
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
56
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmoe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

A, no [--], do it now rather than later, host which will accomodate all your needs, whether you want it or not :). The room we stayed in was nice but book this casa for the food and make sure to eat all meals here, lunch included (which you have to specifically ask for). Nice prices and good taste.

Do not however book your activities though this case, this has nothing to do with the case and everything to do with their contact persons doing the tours. We asked for a 3h horse riding in the beautiful Vinales mountains and got 3h boring horse walking over unchanging forest terrain, other guests staying during the same time asked for a walking tour to the aqua holes (or something)and got such a bad experience from the guild that they refused to pay their entire fee in the end.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falaffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We were three couples staying here and at Lucilio and Nirma next door. The two families get along so well that it was like one big house. Both families are sweet, friendly and generous. Daniel makes a dynamite mojito and is an amazing chef. He prepared a dinner of lobster, tuna and much more that was the best meal we had in Cuba. He seemed so happy to have us in his home and never stopped smiling.
Our room was on the small side but definitely adequate. The other couple's room was much larger.
I would definitely recommend staying here or next door at Lucilio and Nirma.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyväskylä
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Muchas gracias Daniel y Carmen!

Sheltered, very clean and safe Casa, located couple blocks from the main street of Vinales. Food is tasteful & delicious -and Daniel cooks so big portions that you have do your best to eat everything:) We also drank our best mojitos during our 3,5 week trip in Cuba!

Highly recommendable and friendly Casa Particular :)

Pipsa& Harri, Finlandia

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChivasR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

English:
We spent a very nice time in "casa particular" Carmen y Daniel. Both of them did their best to make us feel as we were at home. Although their daugther was in hospital, because of the birth of her second baby, Daniel was with us everynight, and also Carmen. Their little niece, Ana, help them whenever she can. She is a very kind girl. Daniel enjoy cooking and we had the opportunity of testing some of the traditional cuban dishes. In the meantime we disccus with him about what we have been doing in the day or what was going on in general. He is very sociable and outdoing man. We have a great reminder of them. Thanks for everything.
Español:
Pasamos unos días muy agradables en "casa particular" Carmen y Daniel. En todo momento nos hicieron sentir como en casa. A pesar de que su hija estaba en el hospital, esperando su segundo hijo, tanto Daniel como Carmen estuvieron con nosotros todas las noches. Su nieta, Ana, les ayudaba siempre que podía. Es una niña muy agradable. A Daniel le gusta mucho cocinar y le gustaba sorprendernos con tradicionales platos cubanos. Después disfrutábamos de una amigable conversación que se centraba entre las cosas cotidianas del día a día ó en cómo se había pasado el día. Es un hombre muy sociable y extrovertido. Tenemos muy gratos recuerdos de ellos. Muchas gracias por todo.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vggyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed at Carmen and Daniel's for four days. Great place to stay if you want a comfortable convenient place in Vinales but most importantly with some of the friendliest people in cuba. They make you feel like family.
Plus Daniel is a great cook and host and has great stories about the island's past and present.
Daniel's menus include fantastic fish, shrimps, a variety of vegetables including yucca, plantain, potatos, etc, etc .... a killer black bean soup....cuba libres and mojitos....and much more.

If you are four then 2 people can stay at Carmen and Daniel and the other 2 can stay next door with Danilo and Nirma (see trip advisor for a review of their great place). You can then arrange it to have dinner together and have one night dinner at one house and then the other(Nirma and Daniel will take turns to cook!). Their patios are connected so you can easily move from one to the other patio!

This is a very convenient location close to the center of Vinales. The room is immaculately clean with a good air-con and its new bathroom. Unlike many other casas, the room is detached from the main house so it is a little more private than most. But arguably what makes this a fantastic place to stay are the owners, Carmen, Daniel and their daughter Yudith. They are so friendly and nice. Daniel is a fantastic cook and puts his utmost effort to make the dinners/lunches top notch!
Some of the best food we had in Cuba.
Well above most casa's in Vinales and if you are four you can split across the two casas that are neighbours (Carmen/Daniel and Danilo/Nirma).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scala2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights with this lovely family.
We a family with a 7-years ol;d son have been travelling for 6 weeks all over Cuba. Mostly we slept in casa particulares. We always look for a friendly place with a nice outside sitting area like a veranda or garden/patio. this place got it all. There are lots of casa's in Vinales. I looked at around 15 of them. This together with their neighbours(family) had the best rooms and sitting area. A veranda and a garden with flowers. The room is not huge but with enough space for your luggage and with a nice bathroom. The room is not too big for the airco what we had experienced in other casa's. The food is really good. If you go for a day out they will pack fruit for you. They can arrange all kinds of activities for you but are also happy if you just read a book on their patio We definetly recommand this place!!!!.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijke-malaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vinales hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Cristal
Villa Cristal
#26 of 200 in Vinales
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
796 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horizontes La Ermita
Horizontes La Ermita
#4 of 7 in Vinales
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Rancho San Vicente
Rancho San Vicente
#5 of 7 in Vinales
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Oreste El Pelotero
Casa Oreste El Pelotero
#53 of 200 in Vinales
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Magdiel y Maidalys
Casa Magdiel y Maidalys
#111 of 200 in Vinales
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmen y Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen y Daniel

Property: Carmen y Daniel
Address: Pasaje Cienfuegos # 54, Vinales, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing