We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely casa in Vinales”
Review of Villa La Esquinita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa La Esquinita
Ranked #113 of 202 Vinales B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in Villa La Esquinita for 3 nights in Vinales. Tony and Aracelys were very kind and helpful. Since we couldn't speak Spanish and Tony could speak little English, he tried his very best to communicate with us (included checking his dictionary) and we were so grateful for it. Tony gave us a lot of sightseeing advice, took us to Botanic garden and arranged the fantastic horse riding tour for us. Aracelys cooked very well, breakfast and dinner were amazing (vegetable soup & eggplant were superb)! The room was clean, spacious, comfortable with air-con and fridge. It's so relaxing to sit in rocking chairs at backyard during night time, watching starry sky with gentle breeze. Highly recommend Villa La Esquinita if you visit Vinales!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our first experience of Casa Particulars and boy did we get spoilt! Tony and Aracelys are incredibly gracious hosts and we felt right at home with them and their family (Papo and Niulvy xxx). They gave us great tips for sight seeing in the area and arranged a beautiful horse ride for us. We ate dinner and breakfast there as well - Aracelys is a fantastic cook so make sure you take up that option!

My only regret is that we didn't get to stay longer. Thanks for the experience T & A (and N & P). We hope to see you again one day!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We've just returned from a two-week holiday in Cuba with our 3 young children. For our two-night stay in Viñales we were lucky enough to stay in La Esquinita, the home of Aracelys & Tony. What a great place! From the minute we arrived we all felt completely at home, especially the kids.
The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The food was true, homemade Cuban cooking and plenty of it. Tony & Aracelys were incredibly friendly & helpful, ready to explain about Cuban lifestyle & also to help organize outings in and around Viñales. We all had a marvelous time. the children really felt at home and were happy to spend time with our hosts, exploring the allotment and meeting all the animals.
The guide recommended to us for the morning horse ride in the area was excellent, as was the taxi driver who took us to all the main sights just outside the town. To top it all our twin girls celebrated their 9th birthday the day we left the house, and before going Aracelys & Tony surprised them with a huge Cuban birthday cake and made a big fuss of the event.
A highly recommended Cuban house to stay in. Contact them directly by e-mail niulvysc@yahoo.es

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Pastorgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were a group of 9 spread across a few casas in Vinales. Myself and hubby stayed at Casa Esquinita whilst some others stayed at Casa Papo y Niulvys ~ both Casas are owned by family members (parents Tony & Aracelys own Esquinita and son Papo & daughter-inlaw Niulvys & their 2children own the other).
The two Casas are situated next door to each other but it kinda feels like the 2 properties are on one bit of land & they happily share everything, they both have their own patios so we were able to enjoy the wonderful hospitality of both Casa families so do bare this in mind if you require more than one Casa. We were the "first drop" by our mini van driver so he reversed the van into the driveway where upon everybody rushed out to greet us with a warm welcome; introductions were made we were all offered drinks (even those not staying at either Casa); then we were shown to our rooms ~ both houses are spotlessly clean, bedrooms have 2 comfortable double beds, aircon & fans; fridge and en-suite bathrooms with showers that worked well.

The gardens of these Casas were truly magnificent with an array of plants, trees, animals & birds. We were given a tour of the gardens and had the pleasure of tasting fruits picked fresh from the trees and although I dont each peaches at home I adored the peaches as they didnt have a "furry skin".... Yummmm !!

After the rest of the group had settled into their casas they came back to meet us folk staying with P&N (Pappo y Niulvys) and T&A (Tony and Aracelys from Esquinita). Niulvys appeared in the doorway offering us all a drink and then offered to make us all snacks, we declined saying there were too many of us and that we were going into the village to find somewhere to eat, she laughed and said it was no problem at all and offered us all a choice of snacks; to keep things simple we all opted for toasted sarnis that actually turned out to be more like Paninis and tasted soooooo delicious, infact so delicious some opted for second helpings! That was the start of some fantastic cuisine that I can happily put on my list of "Great food we have eaten in Cuba".
Between P&N and T&A they provided the whole group with breakfast and evening meals on a daily basis ~ Breakfast was delicious and included the following:- eggs however you wanted them, mini toasted cheese paninis (lol), cereals, toast & Jam and a most delicious & beautifully prepared huge fresh fruit platter which was absolutely divine and the best fruit we have ever eaten in Cuba. Coffee was delicious and the best coffee we had during our 3 weeks; the freshly blended fruit juices were amazingly tasty.
The choice of evening meals was quite extensive, tasted truly delicious and cooked to perfection; considering they were cooking for a big group I think they deserve a 20 out of 10 rating, I know Casa food is generally pretty good but between the two families they surpassed all of our expectations and worked relentlessly to keep us all fed, watered & supplied with alcohol; no mean feat..lol..

The families were able to organise a whole host of excursions activities for us, Tony even managed to find us an air-conditioned mini van to take us all on a tour of Vinales when he found us stranded at the bus stop because the hop on/hop off bus was out of service, this great personal service came at the same price as the bus and covered the same route; we were able to spend as much time as we wanted at each point of interest and also taken to other places not on the bus route, what a result!!

I cant believe that these beautiful people welcomed ALL of our group into their homes and allowed us all to encroach on their family time so much, they really did work hard to look after us all so well; their hospitality is second to none and the warmth and happiness that exudes these families have left an imprint in our hearts forever, saying goodbye was very emotional for all.

I know we will return one day, not to see Vinales again but just to say "Hello" and let them know we havent forgotten them and to enjoy their fantastic hospitality (and cooking) once again...lol

I have to say a special Thank you to Jorge in Havana for his choice in Casa recommendations and for organising every aspect of our group trip to Vinales, including our mini van and driver, without Jorge I wouldnt have known where to begin to organise our trip:- "Thank you Jorge so much, you are a true gem". If you have any questions or would like some help or advice with planning/organising your own trip please feel free to send me a private message, I'm happy to help where I can.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoonyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

In Vinales we were navigated to another location than La Esquinita which we had confimed and where we were expected to have dinner. Under the pretence that is was full, we were relocated to a truly terrible location. After a sad dinner we were confronted with an unpleasant guy selling us a horse ride which could take us nowhere. Unsatisfied we complained and found out we were setup.
We walked to the real La Esquinita and were welcomed intensely. The whole family had been so worried. Not only worried about us, but as their guests were (again!) 'stolen', they were also very upset. The guys who do this get half the rate you pay...
They helped us get our stuff to La Esquinita and finally we could relax again.
Nylvius, Papi, their parents and family (over for the weekend) were so friendly and warm hearted. It was an intense pleasure to stay there.
The room was spacious and very clean. Good airco and vent. Silent fridge in the room. Great beds. Good king size matrasses.
Dinner was good and breakfast was Cubans best with great sandwhiches which we enjoyed as lunch during the long trip to Cienfuegos.
They got us a very nice horse ride trip. Easy horses; not unimportant. ;-) And an easy going guide who took us everywhere we wanted to go for 4 hours.
We stayed for 2 nights which was enough for 'see it all', but a bit short for 'enjoy it all', as we arrived late and left early.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed here a few days ago, and highly recommend it to anyone staying in Vinales.

Pros:
* Tony and his family are very friendly and accommodating
* The meals they prepared were easily some of best we ate during our 5 days in Cuba
* The house is clean, comfortable, and close to the town center (5 minute walk). Great value for the price.
* Tony was very helpful in arranging guides and activities

Possible drawbacks:
* Communication could be an issue if you don't have a spanish speaker traveling with you (fortunately we did -- thanks Jacob!)

Tips:
* Watch the sunset at the Hotel Los Jazmines (10 minute cab ride from town)
* There's a outdoor nightclub in the town square. Great music and dancing in the evenings.
* There's a house near town that has a large garden with a path meandering through it. Ask Tony where exactly it's at.
* Let Tony and his family cook you dinner. Amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommytracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very highly recommend this house. We arrived 4 hours before dinner time, and after interviewing us about our preferences, the family sprung into action and cooked an absolutely delicious meal. Staying here was one of the best parts of our entire trip to Cuba. I would highly recommend to anyone. They also helped us arrange a car for the next day to visit the nearby beach and drive us back to Havanna -- not a small feat.

The family does not speak much English, but I'm sure you could get by if you didn't know much Spanish.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
0.0 mi away
Villa Campana
Villa Campana
#44 of 91 in Vinales
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Ony y Luis
Casa Ony y Luis
#55 of 220 in Pinar del Rio Province
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa La Cubana
Villa La Cubana
#109 of 202 in Vinales
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Niurkis Cruz Torres
Casa Niurkis Cruz Torres
#41 of 202 in Vinales
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Cristal
Villa Cristal
#25 of 202 in Vinales
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Los Pandaderos
Villa Los Pandaderos
#23 of 202 in Vinales
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Esquinita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Esquinita

Address: Rafael Trejo no.18 e/ Mariana Grajales y Joaquin Perez, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing