We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Comfort Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel
Crown Point, Tobago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet and Comfort Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel in January 2013 for four days and it was truly a nice vacation package we enjoyed. The receptionist at front desk was really professional, nice, informative and helpful. The atmosphere was quiet and serene and that was just the type of vacation we needed to have. The rooms were very attractive, clean, relaxing and equipped with an aircondition unit, comfortable bed, a kitchenette and a nice bathroom area. The ground floor rooms could not access the pool from your balcony which I think was not suitable.
The restaurant service at breadfast time was a bit slow but it was tasty and delicious. The few staff members I interacted with while I was there on my short vacation was very friendly and always willing to help in everyway that they can with a warm greeting and a smiling face.
We took a coastal sail aboard The Jolly Rogers that same night we checked in at the hotel and I must say Barbados is really about Tourism because I booked the sailing online and called to inform them that we were there for a few days and were coming in on that same night of the boat ride. They sent transportation and waited for us even though we were a bit late for the ride. We also took the submarine ride aboard The Atlantis II and visited the seafood festival in Oistins and that was spectular we have a great time there. It wasn't our first visit to Barbados so many of the attractions we would have visited years gone by and this one certainly is not our last.
All in all I must say that my vacation in Barbados was well spent and I enjoyed it thoroughly. The warm and friendlyness of everyone there was very captivating because there was always dialogue and questions asked about your country and its people so well done BARBADOS.

Room Tip: Choose the room at the end of the grond floor because it is closest to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 113Archie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
18
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for just one night,we arrived late afternoon and the lady at the reception desk was really friendly and showed us our rooms.The rooms where clean with comfy beds and good shower's a little kitchen area and a safe deposit box and the air conditioning worked really well . The view from our balcony was a small garden area with a fence,if I where to stay here again I would request a pool view,the pool was quite small with plenty of beds and looked very inviting.
We drove down to Sharks hole for a morning swim and it is a beautiful small bay,it is only a two minute drive we could of walked in ten minutes however we were on a tight time scale as we had a flight to St Vincent to catch .
We would use this hotel again in the future it is on a bus route ,however if we stayed there again we would want a car .

Room Tip: ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I'd never been to the Caribbean before and wanted to go somewhere that had plenty to do for two weeks. As I was travelling during Carnival time I wanted somewhere relatively cheap and away rom the main tourist centres. I researched long and hard on the internet and found Tropical Winds.

At £40 a night (low season) it was very good value. The standard apartment was big, clean, with good A/C. Cooking facilities are limited to two hobs and so you are limited to cooking things that do not need to get too hot. Having said that the slow service in the restaurant is worth the wait as the food is both excellent and competitively priced. Menu is fairly limited by most standards but having tried everything on it, I can attest that all is fabulous. The bar in comparison to the food is relatively expensive but not extortionately so.

The hotel is about 45 minutes by bus (fare 2BD) from Bridgetown and I went everywhere on the island using various services. I did hire a car through one of the receptionists and got a very good deal for two days' use. This allowed me to zoom up to the north of the island and see the Wildlife Park, Bethsheba etc. The nearest beach is a two minute walk away and is tiny but Crane Beach about 20 mins walk is one of the best on the island. Understandably it is very popular at any time!

The staff of the hotel are very friendly and although asking plenty of questions I was always greeted with a smile and helpul advice. In summary if you like good service, peace and quiet and good value for money this is the place for you. If you want entertainment and to be in the thick of things, go to Holetown or St Lawrence Gap.

I am celebrating my 50th birthday next March and I will be going back to Barbados and to Tropical Winds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grh1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
208 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We did not pay for this hotel. It was supplied after LIat failed to get us onto our connection due to s technical error with the plane. It is essentially a place to sleep and I suspect Liat keep in it business. The room was clean and air conditioned, but basic. The tv was stuck on BBC world service and we were unable to change it. There was a small balcony overlooking the pool - we did not use it but it looked clean.
There is a small restaurant and bar. The food provided was edible if the service (particularly breakfast) slow. The staff were extremely friendly and definitely an asset to a hotel in which 95% of it's guests for the night were tired, weary and highly irritated passengers who had missed onward flights. There was wifi but charged at $10 an hour we did not use it.
It is in a quiet residential area. Cliffs overlooking sea are around 10minutes walk away, there is a small cove slightly further along that some people were swimming in but it looked reasonably deep.
If I had paid $100 us a night for this place I would have been highly disappointed. If we had needed to stay in Barbados another night we would not have gone back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonsterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

A little out in the sticks if you are after tourist facilties but there is a public bus service to Bridgetown and taxis could be arranged through recption.
The hotel was clean and comfortable. It was very quiet but that may be because of the time of year. The reception staff were friendly. There was no free wifi available.

The food was reasonable and the service acceptable.

A fairly short walk of say 15 minutes or so, led to the sea with some impressive cliffs and some nice private houses, very 'des. res.'.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Tropical Winds while attending our friends wedding. This hotel is not a high end resort. However, it is clean, quiet, inexpensive and the staff is outstanding. They we very helpful with our needs. If you need a taxi ask for Rafael. He will get you where you need to go safely. He is also available for day tours. The hotel will be able to put you in touch with him. Cutters restaurant nearby is also a must. The food is fresh and flavorful. It's a mix of western and Bajun cuisine and is best for breakfast and lunch. Tropical Winds is close to many East coast beaches. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeteandKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We were three older ladies travelling together the two bedroom apartment was ideal. We loved the cleanliness and the staff could not have been more friendly. It is a little off the beaten track but with a car not far from anywhere. Food was good and freshly cooked though it took quite a long time to arrive-however we were on holiday!
We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: It is an apart hotel so take a few essential supplies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StonyStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
0.0 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#26 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.0 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunbay Hotel
Sunbay Hotel
#42 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel

Property: Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel
Address: Long Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing