We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel in quiet area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel in quiet area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

A little out in the sticks if you are after tourist facilties but there is a public bus service to Bridgetown and taxis could be arranged through recption.
The hotel was clean and comfortable. It was very quiet but that may be because of the time of year. The reception staff were friendly. There was no free wifi available.

The food was reasonable and the service acceptable.

A fairly short walk of say 15 minutes or so, led to the sea with some impressive cliffs and some nice private houses, very 'des. res.'.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
17
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Tropical Winds while attending our friends wedding. This hotel is not a high end resort. However, it is clean, quiet, inexpensive and the staff is outstanding. They we very helpful with our needs. If you need a taxi ask for Rafael. He will get you where you need to go safely. He is also available for day tours. The hotel will be able to put you in touch with him. Cutters restaurant nearby is also a must. The food is fresh and flavorful. It's a mix of western and Bajun cuisine and is best for breakfast and lunch. Tropical Winds is close to many East coast beaches. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeteandKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We were three older ladies travelling together the two bedroom apartment was ideal. We loved the cleanliness and the staff could not have been more friendly. It is a little off the beaten track but with a car not far from anywhere. Food was good and freshly cooked though it took quite a long time to arrive-however we were on holiday!
We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: It is an apart hotel so take a few essential supplies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StonyStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Sorry to sound negative but my main problem was the wifi that did not work and was a little expensive. I paid for an hour used 15 mins and lost the rest as I did not use it up in a time allotted(no one new how long that was). This happened 3 times. The over seas calls proved a problem you had to go to the lobby and let the receptionist make the call and then put it through to your room. After waiting 10 mins I returned the lobby and she said "sorry I got busy".The tv was not good no sound or 2 poor programmes. Staff very friendly but vague about general info. You need a car as it is out of the way. Basic and needs better management.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room they are larger. The balcony is ok for one person at a time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrellisTrinidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed here for two weeks after my vacation stay at The Crane ended to look for investment property on the Island. My husband went home as planned so I having a clean safe place was imperative and this place fit the bill.
It's the little things that matter most sometimes!
The first hot and strong shower I had was at Tropical Winds. The room I had at the Crane had poor water pressure and was luke warm at best. This was a penthouse suite with roof deck and pool in a new building, what's the problem there? I also found the bed much more comfortable!
Very clean, good reasonably priced food, nice pool and great staff. Being alone (after my husband went home at vacations end) it was nice to have friendly helpful people to "come home" to!
My one and only problem was that the WIFI wasn't free and only worked while sitting in the lobby! Rather inconvenient and expensive due to my property search and communications home.
My only complaint, in a place where rum flows like water, I couldn't taste any in the two Pina
Colada's! I was about 3-5 minutes "late" for the 2 for 1 happy hour and paid full price so it was like getting 1 for 2, considering the amount of rum used in making the drinks. It was my first and last time I drank at the bar.
All that aside I would return to Tropical Winds without hesitation especially if they made the Wifi free and made sure it worked in the room, at the pool etc...

Room Tip: Location is key, if you want R&R peace and quiet, this is the place to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kmw1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

A little out of the way but, with car rental, able to tour around quite easily exploring nearby beaches and places of interest when didn't want to swim in the pool or relax on the patio. Staff were more than friendly, helpful, pleasant and appeared to enjoy their work of which they did a good job. Would definately return but maybe not in June as found weather too hot and humid.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NasusY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voiceunderground
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Remember, you came to Barbados for Barbados, not for the room. That said, for the price you can't do much better than Tropical Winds!

THE HOTEL
Don't worry, you won't be kept awake by planes flying overhead. Even though it's 10 minutes from the airport, the hotel is located in a very quiet, safe neighborhood. The drawback is that it's far from things but there is a bus stop just outside the gate where $2BDS will take you right into the action of Bridgetown, Oistins and the South Coast. The staff is awesome, always eager to hear about your experiences in Barbados thus far and offer local advice for booking tours etc.

THE ROOM
I stayed in a studio apt. which was quite comfortable and very clean. Although the hotel has satellite TV, many of the channels either don't work or have no sound but I didn't come to watch TV. Try to ask for a room overlooking the pool. All rooms have in-room safes and hot water is from solar panels. This means no sunlight=no hot water, be advised.

THE POOL
Perfect water temperature and no sand in your pants!

THE RESTAURANT AND BAR
Maybe I came at the wrong time of year, but this hotel and its restaurant seem equipped to handle ten times the traffic that it actually does. Every time I ate in the restaurant I was the only one, surrounded by about ten other fully set tables. The food is reasonably priced and very good, try the Bajan Breakfast platter! The bar was rather expensive, as hotel bars tend to be but they gave me a coupon for a free Rum Punch upon check in.

OVERALL
Next time I would stay closer to the beach, but Tropical Winds is a great base point for exploring Barbados!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Voiceunderground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
0.0 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#26 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#6 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#38 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel

Property: Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel
Address: Long Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing