We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort.. a bit pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort.. a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Wow. This is a beautiful place to stay and wonderful service. This is the only place in Barbados that I have stayed so I'm not sure if the entire island is this pretty. The hotel is just something else with little pools surrounding the area and places to eat. The beach area is pretty small but beautiful. The food served on the property is excellent and the service is fabulous. Get a room with a private pool area and you're set for the week. So relaxing and a great get-a-way.

Not sure I would bring the kids.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WeLuv2Travel98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear WeLuv2Travel98,

We are delighted you enjoyed a “relaxing and great get-away” here with us at The Crane. We were thrilled to welcome you and hope to have the opportunity to do so again soon.

Regards,

Sean Alleyne
General Manager (Ag.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    571
    178
    113
    107
See reviews for
553
1,156
69
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carthage, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was our first trip to Barbados. We loved The Crane and Barbados. The beach was amazing! The hotel grounds and pools were beautiful too. The staff was very helpful. The Crane was more than we expected. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Erica H,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us here at The Crane and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Sean Alleyne
General Manager (Ag.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

As a treat the new wife and I checked in for one night in a room in the 'old hotel' section. This was at a rate of £140 room only, so not cheap.

First impressions weren't good. While clean the room felt tired and the lighting was especially poor. There was no fitted sheet on the mattress meaning that more or less as soon as you got into bed the sheet came loose exposing the mattress and becoming tangled with the other bedding. The sheets were also paper thin and of poor quality / worn out.

The 'best' was yet to come. Being a poolside room we expected some noise. What wasn't expected was the loud crashing of deckchairs being closed and pulled across the pool deck well into the morning (3 am?). Upon raising this issue the following morning we were told this was due to a wedding reception.

To my mind quality of sleep at a hotel should be top priority. In this we were failed dismally by the Crane.

In addition upon entering the room we were not told that the shutters (the only blinds on the windows) were on the outside. As a result daylight flooded the room at sunrise. You may say we should have checked the windows but would you really go outside at 11:00 pm to check shutters?

Upon rising early we also found that while there is a kitchenette and tea / coffee making facilities there is no milk provided in the room. This may be a European thing but I have never stayed in a hotel that didn't provide milk, never mind one costing £140 a night. When querying this I was told "you are really slumming it". Milk it turns out is available in the restaurant but only at certain hours (funnily enough not hours you may want a hot drink).

There were a few interesting events at the end of our stay also. We had late checkout at 2pm and being by the pool could see the room. At 1:30 pm we saw a Crane staff member approaching the room with key card in hand. He actually got as far as putting the key in and was about to open the door without knocking! We called out to him and he scurried off with a furtive look and not a word. The maid also strolled into the room at the stroke of 2 pm (not a minute later) to start tidying when we were still getting final things together. This felt intrusive and unnecessary.

In summary we were bitterly disappointed with our stay at the Crane and will not be returning in a hurry.

Room Tip: No where near a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AWS1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear AWS1298,

We were sorry to learn that your stay failed to meet expectations. The Historic Hotel (in which your room was located) was constructed in the 1790s and as such, retains a certain old world charm, enjoying some of the best views on the property.

With regards to your in-room amenities, The Crane does not routinely stock grocery items unless pre-arranged by guests, however milk is readily available from The General Store which is conveniently located in The Village, boasting a full complement of grocery and convenience items.

We have taken note of your experiences and unfortunately, some of the issues you experienced, while unavoidable, could have benefited from better communication and for that we sincerely apologise. While we do understand your reluctance to return, our wish is that you will give us another chance to create the true Crane experience for you.

Regards,

Sean Alleyne
General Manager (Ag.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

The famous Crane Beach is really as beautiful as reviews state and as pictures show. The question is: Is there Crane staff on that beach? Yes, hiding in a little white cabana. They don't acknowledge you, explain the yellow flag, give little families a hand, or generally protect you from the offensive and rude coconut men. Yes that's what they're called. They actually sell cheap booze and try to sell drugs to unaware Crane clients. These guys hover over the women and ogle them and are extremely rude. They're like crows. Is there not personnel that can look out for these poor women who get their privacy invaded? Oh yes, two old ladies who spend the day looking for shade. So that's the sum of the beach at The Crane. It's starting to look like a cheap hotel in the Bahamas!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank azur99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear azur99,

We were sorry to learn of your disappointing experience on Crane Beach. Like all other beaches in Barbados, Crane Beach is public and as such, is frequented by Barbadians from all walks of life. While we do maintain that this creates a unique environment in which visitors can experience first-hand the friendliness of our people, we are definitely cognisant of the unsavoury element this can occasionally introduce.

Please be assured that our Beach Attendants continue to be wary of illegal activities and welcome guest feedback as we continue to work in tandem with the local authorities to remove the culprits.

As long standing visitors to The Crane, we do hope that this particular experience does not mar the relaxing memories of previous stays. We will continue our work in this area and look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience a more typical Crane holiday.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I was there from April 28th to May 2nd with a corporate group. The resort is beautiful, quiet and the rooms are majestic. The great staff is what makes this resort so special and memorable. They say that Bajans are some of the friendliest people in the world and I can see why they say that after my experience. The only room for improvement would be the breakfast restaurant where only one cook is making omelettes. The line up is frequent and you end up waiting quite a while for fresh food. The buffet food is just ok and so is the coffee. The other thing is the A/C in the room is inadequate. It was somewhat difficult to sleep at night because it was quite warm. This is not a party resort and things shut down early. The beach is great but you need to watch out because the Atlantic Ocean is aggresive at times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Patrick2011_11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful Crane experiences with the world. We are thrilled that you were able to mix business with pleasure and you will be pleased to learn that we have taken note of the areas you highlighted for improvement.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon – next time for a truly relaxing Barbados escape!

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I attended a wedding and found everything to be fabulous. Hospitality, room, scenery, amenities, food - everything.

The scenery is simply stunning and the Crane makes it better with the setting and their various pools.

I can hardly wait to go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Stan E,

Thank you for this brief but fantastic review of your Crane experience. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we definitely hope to have the opportunity to do so again soon.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was our fourth visit to to Barbados, but our first at The Crane. We stayed in late April in a one bedroom suite with plunge pool in building 8 overlooking the amazing Crane beach. The view from the fourth floor was spectacular and we regularly sat on our huge balcony watching the sunrise over the beach - something we will never forget and can't wait to see again.

From our arrival and our first taste of their legendary rum punch, to the day we left, the service was friendly and efficient. Everyone we met at The Crane was genuinely happy to help and went out of their way to make our stay special. This personal touch is something that is rare in both The UK and The USA, but is something we have often experienced from the relaxed and friendly people of Barbados.

Crane Beach has been named by many as one of the best in the world and it is certainly spectacular. The sand is powder soft with a pink tinge and the sea is turquoise. The sea is not flat calm like on the Caribbean side of the island, but the waves make it interesting and are excellent for playing and body boarding. The Crane has its own loungers on the beach which their friendly staff will set-up for you. There is also a flag by every chair which you just have to raise to ask for drinks or food to be delivered to you whilst you relax by the sea. How great is that?

Whilst at The Crane, we ate at all the restaurants and found them to be very good and reasonably priced. We especially enjoyed dinner at L'Azure which was as good as most UK fine dining restaurants and equal to those on the West Coast. We also went to the Sunday Gospel Breakfast at L'Azure. The food selection was delicious and the singers and band very entertaining. We had dinner and takeaway pizza from the Italian restaurant D'Onofrio's. Everything was tasty and surprisingly authentic. Lunch at The Carriage House Restaurant looking across the pools and gardens to the sea was relaxed with good food and cocktails and was an excellent place to cool off after a morning by the pool or beach. Just beware of the delicious rum punch. They make them strong at The Crane!

This was our first stay ay The Crane, but certainly won't be our last. The suites are huge and beautifully furnished, the gardens and pools are spectacular and never crowded, the restaurants and facilities at The Crane Village are top notch and best of all the service from the wonderful staff is always friendly and beyond what we have experienced anywhere else on our travels.

We returned home relaxed and pampered and are looking forward to going back to The Crane as soon as we possibly can.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor Ocean View Room for cooling breezes and the most amazing views of turquoise seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear ndrew G,

We are thrilled you decided to experience The Crane for the first time! It definitely sounds as though you have finally found what you have been looking for on your Barbados holidays – a true oasis of relaxation and rejuvenation in a breathtaking location.

Do not become strangers! We hope to welcome you back for many more years to come – more sunrises and rum punch awaits!

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
13.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
14.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
8.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Property: The Crane Resort
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing