We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Views - Can't be beat”
Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views - Can't be beat”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We were very attracted to this beautiful beach and it really is breathtaking, so much so it may spoil you for any other beach. The grounds of the place have several views that are spectacular. A public beach but the Crane Hotel has a designated area with comp chairs & umbrellas. Get out there early while there are plenty of umbrellas. They take down the chairs at 4:30 and lock down the beach at 6(?) for security. The surf is very active making the sounds and views spectacular. The sand is white and powdery. On the East side of the island, the sun is less strong as it goes west. 5 Pools – wish the one bubbly pool was heated for late afternoon dips once the sun has passed. All pools are beautiful.

We had a room in building 4. A Jr. Garden Suite booked with a JetBlue package for 5 nights. Unfortunately these rooms are on the back of the building facing the construction being done on new units. I think only the large suites face the pools and beach. The noise wasn’t bad, but we never made use of the nice balcony. Also the entrance to each building is in the back. A better view would have been nice, but so many places on the grounds have beautiful views we did not miss it. We had a galley kitchen with some limited dishes and cookware, coffee maker, kettle, microwave and mini fridge – sufficient for a couple staying 5 days. We did not cook but kept some water and soda cold and made tea. The little store has drinks, snacks, wine etc and some cereals & quick meal mixes. Not enough if you really want to cook meals, but good to have snacks since last seating at restaurants is 9PM.

Great to have an ocean view big room (the dipping pools are chilly), but better to spend money on food and catamaran cruises (I recommend R&R Luxury cruises). Our room was lovely.

5 Restaurants on-site: D’Onofrio’s (Casual Italian) we ate there 3 nights. Delicious salads, entrees, pastas and designer pizzas. The Carriage House by one of the pools – great for lunch/drinks. Wish it was open later or there was a light/casual option available for dinner. Zen (Thai/Japanese) reservations go fast because it is small. Nice view but after dark it is harder to see. We found it to be overrated and a little pricey. Having been to Thailand and dined upscale & at a beachside shack (also great options at home in New York), we felt the food was ok. Breakfast at L’Azure was ok. An adequate and forgettable buffet (but great bacon) with omelet station and canned tasting OJ – this is something they could improve upon. Great view from L’Azure. We never had dinner there. There is an ice-cream Café in the ‘village’ that has coffee and good scones, banana bread and a few local treats – we did most of our ‘breakfasts’ there. The last is the beachside hut. The guys do great service (drinks and snacks) without being overly solicitous. It is a public beach with other unaffiliated entrepreneurs selling drinks. Very friendly and polite, but I’d stick with the Hotels guys (they wear hotel shirts).

The Sunday Gospel Breakfast is at L’Azure – same buffet with extra pastries, more fruit and some yogurt added. It is more like contemporary Christian music with maybe an Anglican hymn thrown in. The young choir has lovely voices and harmonizes well with music tracks, unfortunately the choir master started to sort of sermonize with a circular narrative that went on too long and went nowhere. We’d have done better to just have breakfast and enjoy a little of the music as background through the doors. I also think they have extra staff on Sundays that are a bit less experienced. This whole event (including food) was rather clunky all around and did not fit with the rest of the resort.

The ‘Village’ is sort of like the courtyard lobby and includes a couple of the restaurants, café, duty-free/gift store, general store and high-end jewelry store. No other shops. On Wednesday afternoon and the Monday cocktail party the courtyard has local craft vendors/flee market style.

We arrived on a Thursday and the place was a peaceful oasis. Over the weekend many more people arrived: more families with kids and many more teens/young twenties (I think maybe Canadian Spring Break). The Crane also does time-shares and is expanding. By Monday it started to feel more like a reunion spot. Apparently we were just lucky to arrive during a less busy couple of days. Less hot water for the pre-dinner shower once it got more crowded. We love the place but are not sure about returning if it keeps growing. Hard to resist the gorgeous views you can’t really find elsewhere.

Service is not perfect but always very friendly – we were ok with that. The whole Island is friendly all around.

Room Tip: skip the gospel brunch take an R&R Cruise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lewa096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Lewa096,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review of your Crane experience. It definitely sounds as though you experienced almost everything we have to offer. One of The Crane’s most appealing qualities is its ability to never feel crowded. Even during periods of 100% occupancy, The Crane remains a “peaceful oasis” and we pride ourselves on this.

Your feedback is important to us as we continuously strive to surpass our guests’ expectations and we have also taken note of the areas you highlighted for improvement. You will be particularly pleased to note that we are about to roll out a number of changes to our breakfast menu that you will definitely enjoy.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we look forward to doing so again.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    589
    186
    113
    110
See reviews for
582
1,189
71
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The junior suite we rented was very nice. Spacious and comfortable. The pool and beach facilities were also top class. Unfortunately the breakfast is quite poor. Of the restaurants it is only the Zen that is good. Don't waste your time and money at D'Onofrios.

Room Tip: Our junior garden suite was very spacious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olof L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Olof L,

We are pleased you enjoyed your Junior Garden View suite which is perfect for couples, offering all the amenities of our larger suites but in a more intimate setting.

We have also taken note of your comments regarding our food & beverage offering and you will be pleased to note that we are about to roll out a number of changes to our breakfast menu that we are sure you will enjoy.

Thank you for sharing your Crane experiences with the world. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

With the greatest staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Within 24 hours of being here, I knew everybody on the grounds. Such a great atmosphere. It has everything you could want on the grounds itself. Plus the staff will send you to the true authentic restaurants in the cities.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tex582003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear tex582003,

It definitely sounds as though you enjoyed a thoroughly “fantastic getaway” here with us at The Crane. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again soon.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Me and my wife had a quite evening of this beautiful place where you can see the sun set and leave on evening the staff are well trained as well hoping to return here as soon As possible I must say desserts are to die for

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Jacob S,

Thank you for this brief but rave review. We are truly delighted that you have fallen “in love” with The Crane and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon – next time for a longer stay!

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a weeks stay at the beautiful Crane. We absolutely loved our stay here! It is a very lovely place and a little world of its own. The beach is beautiful, the waves are fun. The food is good. The people on staff are very polite, friendly and most helpful. No complaints from us. It was paradise! Thanks to all for our lovely stay from your Texas friends!

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean view are the best! Well worth the money. You can hear the waves all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear jane h,

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful Crane experiences with the world. It sounds as though you enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing stay with us overall.

We really do have a little world of our own here at The Crane and it was our pleasure to welcome you in. Do not become strangers – we hope to have the opportunity to do so again soon.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We just returned from a 6 day stay at the Crane. We are a family of 5 (3 adult children)
The Crane exceeded our expectations. The grounds, tennis courts, beach and pools were beautiful. All of the staff was extremely helpful and always friendly.
The restaurants on site were all excellent. Our only criticism was that the store in the "Village" could have been better stocked with more fresh fruits and vegetables.
We will definitely return to the Crane as soon as possible!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Liza C,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful Crane experiences with the world. We were thrilled to learn that we exceeded all expectations as this is certainly what we aim for! We have also taken note of the areas you have identified for improvement.

We sincerely appreciate your high recommendation and we also look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible!

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel resort is a paradox. Beautiful location, beautiful gardens, world class beach. Top restaurant ( L'Asure) . Very spacious rooms. But, rooms just not clean enough, room service average, housekeeping over stretched. Reception staff friendly, but not really bothered. No poolside service for drinks, customers allowed to reserve sun beds . The owner obviously focused on timeshare and build, not customers and service. This place could be outstanding- but it isn't.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites with full size pools are great. Upper suites with plunge pools in turrets are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Eddie R,

We were very disappointed to learn that your stay with us fell short of expectations. Please be assured that our guests’ experiences remain of paramount importance to Management and we have taken note of the areas you have highlighted for improvement.

Unfortunately, your experiences were not at all representative of The Crane. However, we do hope to be granted another opportunity in the future to create the truly relaxing experience that is The Crane.

Sincerely,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
13.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
13.6 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Property: The Crane Resort
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing