We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach and rooms”
Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The junior suite we rented was very nice. Spacious and comfortable. The pool and beach facilities were also top class. Unfortunately the breakfast is quite poor. Of the restaurants it is only the Zen that is good. Don't waste your time and money at D'Onofrios.

Room Tip: Our junior garden suite was very spacious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olof L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Olof L,

We are pleased you enjoyed your Junior Garden View suite which is perfect for couples, offering all the amenities of our larger suites but in a more intimate setting.

We have also taken note of your comments regarding our food & beverage offering and you will be pleased to note that we are about to roll out a number of changes to our breakfast menu that we are sure you will enjoy.

Thank you for sharing your Crane experiences with the world. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,201 - 1,207 of 2,650 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

With the greatest staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Within 24 hours of being here, I knew everybody on the grounds. Such a great atmosphere. It has everything you could want on the grounds itself. Plus the staff will send you to the true authentic restaurants in the cities.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank tex582003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear tex582003,

It definitely sounds as though you enjoyed a thoroughly “fantastic getaway” here with us at The Crane. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again soon.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Me and my wife had a quite evening of this beautiful place where you can see the sun set and leave on evening the staff are well trained as well hoping to return here as soon As possible I must say desserts are to die for

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Jacob S,

Thank you for this brief but rave review. We are truly delighted that you have fallen “in love” with The Crane and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon – next time for a longer stay!

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a weeks stay at the beautiful Crane. We absolutely loved our stay here! It is a very lovely place and a little world of its own. The beach is beautiful, the waves are fun. The food is good. The people on staff are very polite, friendly and most helpful. No complaints from us. It was paradise! Thanks to all for our lovely stay from your Texas friends!

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean view are the best! Well worth the money. You can hear the waves all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear jane h,

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful Crane experiences with the world. It sounds as though you enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing stay with us overall.

We really do have a little world of our own here at The Crane and it was our pleasure to welcome you in. Do not become strangers – we hope to have the opportunity to do so again soon.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We just returned from a 6 day stay at the Crane. We are a family of 5 (3 adult children)
The Crane exceeded our expectations. The grounds, tennis courts, beach and pools were beautiful. All of the staff was extremely helpful and always friendly.
The restaurants on site were all excellent. Our only criticism was that the store in the "Village" could have been better stocked with more fresh fruits and vegetables.
We will definitely return to the Crane as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Liza C,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful Crane experiences with the world. We were thrilled to learn that we exceeded all expectations as this is certainly what we aim for! We have also taken note of the areas you have identified for improvement.

We sincerely appreciate your high recommendation and we also look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible!

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel resort is a paradox. Beautiful location, beautiful gardens, world class beach. Top restaurant ( L'Asure) . Very spacious rooms. But, rooms just not clean enough, room service average, housekeeping over stretched. Reception staff friendly, but not really bothered. No poolside service for drinks, customers allowed to reserve sun beds . The owner obviously focused on timeshare and build, not customers and service. This place could be outstanding- but it isn't.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites with full size pools are great. Upper suites with plunge pools in turrets are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Eddie R,

We were very disappointed to learn that your stay with us fell short of expectations. Please be assured that our guests’ experiences remain of paramount importance to Management and we have taken note of the areas you have highlighted for improvement.

Unfortunately, your experiences were not at all representative of The Crane. However, we do hope to be granted another opportunity in the future to create the truly relaxing experience that is The Crane.

Sincerely,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We just returned from a month at The Crane. We are owners there and this is the longest we have stayed. The joy of just lying by one of the many crystal clear pools with a spectacular view of the turquoise ocean, reading a good book and ordering a drink delivered to your lounge chair is hard to match. Watch a Bananaquit (small brightly colored bird) land on the edge of your cup looking for something sweet. Every day you just get lazier and lazier. Get a little energy and go down to the pink sand beach. Lie on a lounge chair under an umbrella, delivered and set up by one of the beach attendants, and listen to the surf or go in and have the waves splash on you. How can you beat that? The property and gardens were beautifully maintained. Our well equipped penthouse, overlooking the ocean, was delightful.

We had dinner at Zen, lunch at L'Azure, lunch from the Grove Bar & Grill on the beach and lunch and dinner at the Carriage House, all of which were very good. Our favorite was D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant. We all agreed they had the best thin crust pizza we had ever eaten. The mushroom risotto, gnocci putanesca and tuna were all great as well. The general store has wonderful croissants, filled with a sweet form of cream cheese or with ham and cheese, made fresh each morning. And how could I forget the ice cream shop with homemade ice cream and pastries.

The staff at The Crane are very friendly and helpful, but there were several who stood out - Sabrina, our wonderful housekeeper, Francia, our Residence Manager, Susan and Errol at the Carriage House and Cloethe, Angela and Waiple at D'Onofrio's.

The Crane is not for everyone. If you are looking for loud nightlife, the ability to walk to a number of restaurants outside the resort or lots of places to shop, this is not the place for you. If you want a beautiful, upscale and relaxing vacation, where the most difficult decision you have to make each day is what to order for dinner, this is it.

We can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: If you can, opt for an ocean view unit. You won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYSbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear NYSbeachgirl,

We could not agree with you more – The Crane is not for everyone but if you value peace, tranquility and natural beauty then we check all the boxes!

I passed on your comments to each of the employees mentioned who were all thrilled to learn they played a role in making this stay another memorable one.

It was our pleasure to welcome you “home” again and we look forward to doing so again soon – next time for an even longer stay.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,865 reviews
13.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,119 reviews
9.2 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,174 reviews
8.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
2,011 reviews
8.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range: $180 - $940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing