We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit Barbados to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and we were delighted with our choice of the Crane Resort. The accommodation- a junior suite- was excellent in all respects. Large ground floor bedroom leading out to our patio and sun loungers. Our bathroom boasted a jacuzzi , shower etc. we also had the benefit of a small kitchenette. Restaurants on site were very good especially the Italian . The gospel breakfast on Sundays should not be missed. The staff were brilliant throughout our stay -nothing being too much trouble and one lady left her restaurant to direct us to the other restaurants open on our first night.
We hired a small car through guest services for three days at a cost of 96 pounds and covered most of the island including the west coast. Also visited Harrison caves and a nearby cafe known as Celestine's-great food and service. No menus as Celestine prepares a range of 4-5 meals daily. Sunbury plantation house definitely worth a visit and the nearby 4 square rum factory.
On friends' recommendation we also ate at lobster alive next to the boatyard - a good place for a pre dinner drink in Bridgetown. Our anniversary meal was taken at Lonestar - another strong recommendation.
The hotel's private beach is outstanding as we're the 5 pools on site. In short a fantastic hotel . We were welcomed with a strong rum punch on arrival and continued to sample these at the manager's Monday night cocktail party (and many other occasions throughout our week)
Best holiday for years and we will be back again next year

Room Tip: Ground floor is good but a higher level room overlooking the sea would be our choice next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian330dm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear ian330dm,

Congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary! We are delighted you chose to celebrate this momentous occasion with us. The Crane certainly is ideal for an anniversary celebration, offering intimate accommodation combined with attentive service, against a perfectly romantic backdrop.

We definitely appreciate you taking the time to share this comprehensive review of your experience with the world. Thank you for your high recommendation. We look forward to your return next year – and for many more years to come!

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,401
    581
    180
    113
    108
See reviews for
568
1,169
69
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

a well run and friendly hotel being going there as a member for five years and the staff cant do enough for you ,5 pools and a world beater beach with large apartments and great restaurants what more do you want.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_SF7275XP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear David_SF7275XP,

Thank you for this brief but fantastic review of your experience here at The Crane. We could not agree with you more – with an impressive array of world-class amenities set against the backdrop of a world-famous beach, The Crane certainly is “a little paradise in paradise.”

It has been a pleasure to welcome you back year after year and we look forward to doing so again soon.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Crane Residential Resort a great place for couples and families. The Crane has great pools and a beautiful beach. I love this resort and all of the great food. I did not have to leave this resort to find better food. The restaurants were first class and the service is excellent! The staff were the best that I have worked with ( my husband and I travel 3-5 times a year). There are excursions that can be booked each day of the week if you would like to use this service. I like luxury so this is where I will go again. Before I left , I made a reservation for next year and cannot wait for that time to come!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and may have a plunge pool. I really enjoyed the huge balcony with reclining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crocker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear crocker2013,

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic Crane experiences with the world. It definitely sounds as though you had an overall fantastic stay with us. From luxurious accommodations to Zagat rated restaurants, The Crane boasts all the makings of a memorable vacation.

It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we look forward to doing so for many more years to come.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was my seventh year at The Crane, I am a 4 week shared owner. The property no longer meets the publicity. No entertainment other than loud non stop sport from the bars. Zen food excellent but no special feel as authentic uniforms substituted for basic. No dress code in Azure - flip flops and shorts/t shirts at dinner. Local Staycation groups noisy and disruptive on Friday/Saturdays. Total lack of security to control this. Faults not repaired in our unit even after six days. We checked out early.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Park Residences - used for groups and uncontrolled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JilenaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have been coming to the Crane for over 8 years now and with the addition of the Crane Village we love the expanded choice of dining options as well as gym and provision store. The beach is outstanding and while too rough for us to venture in, just stunning to walk and gaze at! Our favorite room to stay is the ground floor 1 bedroom with 28ft pool! No need to leave your room ever! So relaxing and love the full kitchen and our own laundry and 2 bathrooms! Don't miss Cutter's Rum Punch that is within walking distance from The Crane. We visit in late November with lower fares and shoulder season so not so busy but still great weather.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whatagreatlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear whatagreatlife,

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic Crane experiences with the world! It has been an absolute pleasure to welcome you to The Crane over the years.

Undoubtedly, you have been in the perfect position to witness the many developments and improvements that have taken place and we are thrilled you continue to enjoy The Crane.

Again, we appreciate your high recommendation and we will only continue to get “better and better.” See you soon!

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Crane Residential Resort is the perfect spot to get away to for family, friends or couples.
We stayed in a beautiful large condo with 2 extra large bedrooms. Beautiful sea breezes were always blowing into out rooms and you could hear the waves at night.
The amenities at the Crane are top notch, with several 5 star restaurants to choose from, spas and several pools, many with spectacular ocean views.
The beach at the Crane is honestly the nicest beach I've ever been on. With fine white sand and a very active surf. The whole beach is surrounded by cliffs. Really a stunning place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Jeff P,

Thank you for this rave review. Even in such a brief review, you have managed to paint such a beautiful picture of your experience. We could not have said it any better – “The Crane Residential Resort is the perfect spot to get away to for family, friends or couples.”

It was definitely a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to having the opportunity to do so again soon.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

10 stars for the property. Wonderful beach and pools and picturesque outbuildings. If you re impaired there is a lot of walking to do. Beaches are rough but this is the east side of the island.
3 stars for the location of the property. You are trapped here. Going to Oistins or St. Lawrence Gap is a $US30 cab fare each way. There are four reasonable restaurants on site but if you are staying a week there is a lot of duplication. Renting a car is a problem for those who don't want to drive on the left--and it is expensive--about $500 for the week.. if you are coming on business definitely not the place to stay.
9 stars to the staff. Helpful and pleasant while having to deal with a stream of guest complaints. Good for tours and other off property activity.
1 star to the standard room. We found the room dirty (mouse dropping and dead roach). We had to wipe out all the drawers with a wash cloth. No hot water for two days with no explanation. Poor towel service. After 4 days we got moved to a spectacular room but the air still does not work right.
Conclusion. At these prices stay at the Fairmont on the west side of the island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Bernard S,

We were disappointed to learn that you did not thoroughly enjoy your business trip with us. Over the years, The Crane has built a solid reputation as the perfect destination for both leisure and business travellers due to our world-class array of amenities and services.

In fact, the overwhelming majority of our business travellers prefer our removed location as it allows them to truly unwind following long days of meetings and conferences. Our complimentary WiFi and long distance calls, also equip the business traveller with all the tools to be productive on resort.

Please accept my apologies for the state of your room on arrival. What you have described is certainly not something we often hear and this blatant departure from our established room preparation procedures will be investigated thoroughly.

Again, we are sorry that this particular stay failed to meet expectations. However, we do hope you give us another opportunity to create the true Crane experience for you.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
13.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
13.6 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Property: The Crane Resort
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing