We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crocker2013”
Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“crocker2013”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Crane Residential Resort a great place for couples and families. The Crane has great pools and a beautiful beach. I love this resort and all of the great food. I did not have to leave this resort to find better food. The restaurants were first class and the service is excellent! The staff were the best that I have worked with ( my husband and I travel 3-5 times a year). There are excursions that can be booked each day of the week if you would like to use this service. I like luxury so this is where I will go again. Before I left , I made a reservation for next year and cannot wait for that time to come!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and may have a plunge pool. I really enjoyed the huge balcony with reclining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crocker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear crocker2013,

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic Crane experiences with the world. It definitely sounds as though you had an overall fantastic stay with us. From luxurious accommodations to Zagat rated restaurants, The Crane boasts all the makings of a memorable vacation.

It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we look forward to doing so for many more years to come.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,455
    593
    187
    113
    111
See reviews for
594
1,207
71
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was my seventh year at The Crane, I am a 4 week shared owner. The property no longer meets the publicity. No entertainment other than loud non stop sport from the bars. Zen food excellent but no special feel as authentic uniforms substituted for basic. No dress code in Azure - flip flops and shorts/t shirts at dinner. Local Staycation groups noisy and disruptive on Friday/Saturdays. Total lack of security to control this. Faults not repaired in our unit even after six days. We checked out early.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Park Residences - used for groups and uncontrolled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JilenaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have been coming to the Crane for over 8 years now and with the addition of the Crane Village we love the expanded choice of dining options as well as gym and provision store. The beach is outstanding and while too rough for us to venture in, just stunning to walk and gaze at! Our favorite room to stay is the ground floor 1 bedroom with 28ft pool! No need to leave your room ever! So relaxing and love the full kitchen and our own laundry and 2 bathrooms! Don't miss Cutter's Rum Punch that is within walking distance from The Crane. We visit in late November with lower fares and shoulder season so not so busy but still great weather.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whatagreatlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear whatagreatlife,

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic Crane experiences with the world! It has been an absolute pleasure to welcome you to The Crane over the years.

Undoubtedly, you have been in the perfect position to witness the many developments and improvements that have taken place and we are thrilled you continue to enjoy The Crane.

Again, we appreciate your high recommendation and we will only continue to get “better and better.” See you soon!

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Crane Residential Resort is the perfect spot to get away to for family, friends or couples.
We stayed in a beautiful large condo with 2 extra large bedrooms. Beautiful sea breezes were always blowing into out rooms and you could hear the waves at night.
The amenities at the Crane are top notch, with several 5 star restaurants to choose from, spas and several pools, many with spectacular ocean views.
The beach at the Crane is honestly the nicest beach I've ever been on. With fine white sand and a very active surf. The whole beach is surrounded by cliffs. Really a stunning place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Jeff P,

Thank you for this rave review. Even in such a brief review, you have managed to paint such a beautiful picture of your experience. We could not have said it any better – “The Crane Residential Resort is the perfect spot to get away to for family, friends or couples.”

It was definitely a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to having the opportunity to do so again soon.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

10 stars for the property. Wonderful beach and pools and picturesque outbuildings. If you re impaired there is a lot of walking to do. Beaches are rough but this is the east side of the island.
3 stars for the location of the property. You are trapped here. Going to Oistins or St. Lawrence Gap is a $US30 cab fare each way. There are four reasonable restaurants on site but if you are staying a week there is a lot of duplication. Renting a car is a problem for those who don't want to drive on the left--and it is expensive--about $500 for the week.. if you are coming on business definitely not the place to stay.
9 stars to the staff. Helpful and pleasant while having to deal with a stream of guest complaints. Good for tours and other off property activity.
1 star to the standard room. We found the room dirty (mouse dropping and dead roach). We had to wipe out all the drawers with a wash cloth. No hot water for two days with no explanation. Poor towel service. After 4 days we got moved to a spectacular room but the air still does not work right.
Conclusion. At these prices stay at the Fairmont on the west side of the island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Bernard S,

We were disappointed to learn that you did not thoroughly enjoy your business trip with us. Over the years, The Crane has built a solid reputation as the perfect destination for both leisure and business travellers due to our world-class array of amenities and services.

In fact, the overwhelming majority of our business travellers prefer our removed location as it allows them to truly unwind following long days of meetings and conferences. Our complimentary WiFi and long distance calls, also equip the business traveller with all the tools to be productive on resort.

Please accept my apologies for the state of your room on arrival. What you have described is certainly not something we often hear and this blatant departure from our established room preparation procedures will be investigated thoroughly.

Again, we are sorry that this particular stay failed to meet expectations. However, we do hope you give us another opportunity to create the true Crane experience for you.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This resort is amazing!! We went at the end of September to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. This came highly recommended by a friend who had stayed here before. Right from the time we arrived we were treated so well. Everyone is so friendly and you know right from the start are there to help ensure you have wonderful holiday. We asked for a room in building 5 after reading reviews and they were able to arrange a room there for us. When we came in to check in we were offered a very yummy welcome Rum Punch, our room wasn't quite ready so we went to The Carriage House for lunch which was delicious. The views all over this resort are beyond words - everywhere you look is beauty!! Our room was great, we has a partial view of the ocean and our balcony overlooked the manicured gardens. When we got to our room there was a lovely floral arrangement with a card wishing us a happy anniversary as well as a nice bottle of wine. The room was a nice size with a mini kitchen to store our snacks, coffee and a fridge to keep our drinks cold. We brought lots of snacks and the driver from the airport stopped at a gas station for us so we could pick up some drinks. There is also an onsite grocery which has everything you need as well. We did have an issue with our a/c which was taken care of right away and then when it stopped working again they very kindly changed our rooms and were gracious enough to upgrade us to an unbelievable suite overlooking the ocean. We were definitely WOWED!! Rooms are also cleaned daily and the housekeeping staff are great. We tried all the restaurants except for Zen and had a great meal at all of them. The service all over is top notch. The pools are clean and with so many of them we quite often felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. The beach is like none I have ever seen before and it was great to have the elevator take us back up at the end of the day. The ocean is warm and the waves fun to play in but strong. We did get taken out by a few large ones. The water is so clear you can see the ocean floor. There is loungers and umbrellas there as well to be used. We did walk over to Cutters restaurant one day for lunch and it was delicious. We also did Oistins on Friday night - a must while in Barbados. While at Oistins we went to Georges to eat and the fish was amazing!! We also went on a Catamaran from Bridgetown to swim with sea turtles, we did a sunset cruise on Cool Runnings and we would highly recommend them as well. This was a perfect vacation. The other nice thing was the free international calling - so were able to be in constant contact with our family and the free WIFI was great as well. If you are planning a trip and have made the wise choice to go to Barbados you won't be disappointed by The Crane. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nunnzi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Nunnzi42,

Congratulations on your 10th wedding anniversary! We are delighted you opted to celebrate this fantastic milestone with us here at The Crane.

Your comprehensive review has left absolutely nothing for me to add – it definitely sounds as though The Crane may have been designed with you in mind!

It was truly a pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we look forward to your swift return!

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

For years I had wanted to experience staying at the Crane Beach hotel in Barbados. Finally, the opportunity came when a group of friends and I booked a trip to Barbados for Rihanna's concert, which was eventually postponed. We decided to jump on that plane anyway!

Our rooms were upgraded to Ocean View. There was a fully stocked (minus food) kitchen to use, 2 full bathrooms, a dining area, a living room and balcony - basically comfortable. There were at least 3 restaurants to choose from, several pools, beach access and off course tourist shops. You did not have to leave the compound if you didn't want to.

Unfortunately though, as with many hotels, maintenance of the facility was lacking somewhat. We experienced heavy rain during the first day of our vacation. It seeped into the living room between the glass panes and wooden frames and soaked my bag and bedsheet (I stayed in the living room). Water from the shower also leaked between the plastic sheets onto the bathroom floor - a slipping hazard.

I would have appreciated a more Caribbean flavour to the food offered at L'Azure. Maybe the staff would consider adding, for example, a few Caribbean breakfast dishes, to the very Americanized menu.

To make matters worse, I may have gotten food poisoning from the Italian restaurant on the compound (I had the under-cooked mushroom risotto and panna cotta). I spent the rest of my time there mostly in the bathroom.

The Crane Staff were very friendly and helpful. I really wish to commend Staff members, Dwayne and Cyrilla. Dwayne was very kind to obtain fresh flowers for one of my roomies. And I am ever grateful to Cyrilla for helping me when I was sick. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Choose an Ocean View Room but until repairs are completed to the windows and bathrooms, please avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Del_Cuore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneOM, Operations Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Del_Cuore,

We were sorry to learn that you experienced a disappointing stay with us. The Crane’s cliff-top location poses unique challenges to the maintenance and upkeep of the resort. As a result, we have implemented a comprehensive maintenance progamme with each of our buildings on a strict rotation annually. The recent inclement weather highlighted some areas for attention which were rectified immediately.


I passed on your comments to Dwayne and Cyrilla who were absolutely delighted by your special mention. They certainly are shining examples of the typical Crane employee – warm, friendly and helpful.

Please be assured that Management remains committed to our guests’ experience and we have taken note of each of the areas you have highlighted for improvement. We do hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back to experience the true Crane experience soon.

Kind regards,

Korey Boyce
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,009 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,557 reviews
13.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,952 reviews
8.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
10.0 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Property: The Crane Resort
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing