We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Major disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
ninbabez
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Major disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I spent time at the Crane on our way back from our honeymoon on another island. We had heard good things about the Crane and thought we would check it out for ourselves. I wish we stayed at the Hilton like we did on our previous trip in Barbados!
Upon check in the staff was incredibly rude and less than accommodating. We were told we needed to wait so that a bellhop could take our bags but first they needed to check to see if our room was ready. After a long day of travel, we just wanted to put our bags down and relax! After many failed attempts to contact anyone, we were told to wait until someone came to get our bags for us. Ten...fifteen...twenty minutes went by and we were restless! We picked up our bags and went to find our own way up to our room! We were met by someone at the bellhop station that finally said they would help us!
The room was beautiful, we splurged on a room that had a great view of the bay and had a plunge pool. Unfortunately, it was freezing and dirty and we were unable to use it. What happened next was not the Crane's fault, but it could have been handled much better. The power on the entire island went out from about 4PM until almost 9:00PM. We made dinner reservations which we were told we could still go to but would have a limited menu. With the prices at that restaurant for a limited menu, we decided to skip that. We roamed around with the other hundreds of guests staying there on a mission to find food! We ended up at the pizza place where we had to barter our way in. They were sending guests away! We told them we were willing to wait but just wanted a table to secure that we would be able to eat sometime that evening! It was pure chaos. All I ask, get a plan in place for these types of things people! Come on! Finally the power came on and we all rejoiced. Too bad it was after we paid to eat a soggy pizza in the dark.
Let us move on to breakfast. With the enormous property that the Crane is you would think they would have more than one place to eat for breakfast. Absolutely not. My friends, you are better off going to McDonald's. The buffet was awful and completely overpriced! We were charged $25.00 per person for a small omelet, bacon, and fruit since not much else is offered. We were ready to vacate that premises as soon as possible and will never return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ninbabez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear ninbabez,

We were very disappointed to learn that your Crane experience failed to meet expectations. Friendliness is the hallmark of our staff so we were quite surprised by your reports of rude and less than accommodating staff. We will be investigating this further because this is definitely not something we condone. Additionally, L’Azure’s buffet breakfast offers quite a spread and is widely regarded as a tradition for visitors and locals alike.

With regards to the unexpected power outage, we do indeed have a contingency plan in place in the event of such occurrences. However, we apologise if this was not communicated effectively to our guests.

In your review, you referenced the many “good things” you have heard about The Crane. Please allow me assure you that these still hold true and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back to experience all that The Crane has to offer.

Sincerely,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,401
    581
    180
    113
    108
See reviews for
568
1,169
69
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at The Crane for 14 nights in June in a studio apartment in block 4.We arrived early at 2pm for check in as we had already been on the island for a week and our room was ready which was great ,check in was speedy and friendly. This resort is beautiful with fantastic gardens and an amazing beach the lovely quiet pools,the pools where a little cloudy at times one big plus is that there were always plenty of sun beds (the ones around the pools really could do with a good clean as they are very dirty).
All the staff members we met where friendly and helpful we ate at L azure which was lovely for Sunday lunch and a couple of evening meals our waitress was so lovely I believe she was on off the interns from Grenada.
We also ate at the carriage house many times for lunch the carriage house have a great feel to it every staff member welcomes you as if you where family, Errol ,Jason and Susan are a great example of what is good about The Crane.We had a couple of pizza takeaways which were OK but very expensive I think the ones from Cutter (just outside the resort)are much better and slightly cheaper.
We love the 1887 bar but I wish there was more live music.
We have previously stayed at The Crane in a ocean view apartment ,this was our first time in a studio.
We did miss the ocean view however the studio /garden apartments are really large and with just the two of us it was ideal with a full bathroom with a walk in shower and jacuzzi which sadly did not work and after reporting it repeatedly we gave up and just accepted it, which is not acceptable!! However who wants to waste their holiday queuing up at the front desk every day to report that something had not been repaired again day in day out, it becomes really frustrating it should of been repaired straight away or if they couldn't fix it they could of inform us.This is the sort of problems that makes you question returning to a resort .
We also had a leak in the wardrobe from the air conditioning and the maintenance team arrived and fixed the leak straight away but course the aircon!! never worked before or after the leak so it was a hot two weeks we requested a fan and opened the windows however the next morning we had been bitten badly my mosquitoes so we asked for a net for our bed which we received along with a replacement iron (it was very wet after the aircon leaked onto it and maintenance just left it there dripping water ) a toaster as ours kept sparking every time we used it .These were all delivered with a couple of hours,however we also asked them to spray our room as we had 3 plug mosquitoes repellents plugged in and we could see the mosquitoes flying around ,these requests were made at 8/8.30 in the morning and we had to remind reception again at 6pm that the room had not been sprayed the housekeeper finally arrive at 8pm by this time we had given up and we had driven to emerald city and bought ourselves a very large tin of Off if you want something done at The Crane it is always a long wait or just do it yourself.
We enjoyed our stay at The Crane but I have to say the Maintenance and Management team are badly letting it down. Of course that means they are letting down the Guests and all the staff members that work so had to ensure the guest have a good time.
One of my example of this is we were there the day the local electric company cut of all the power for a planned up grade for six hours. We were made aware this was going to happen so we went out for the day leaving at 8.30am and arrived back at 4.30pm and of course there was still no power we went to reception and was told it would be back on in twenty minutes and we were told this 3 times and if you saw a manager they were rushing by with a mobile phone stuck to their ear and avoiding all eye contact (I think they are taught this at management school if that doesn't work bury your head in the sand) ,instead of keeping us informed and telling us they had blown a fuse, because someone had turn all the power on at once and it may take another couple of hours to sort out we could of of handled and accepted that had anyone had the decency to tell us many guests were sitting in the 1887 bar as it was dark ,so it would of been so easy to keep us informed . The Crane management chose not to include the guests and I thought that was unacceptable behaviour for any manager or colleague involved with the hospitality industry.
However the following week the power went out again one evening and we headed down to reception to find out what had happened and there had been a island wide outage and the duty manager that evening(not sure of his name ) was fantastic, he with the reception staff the ever helpful Jennifer were organized and had candles and matches to hand out to guests and they were trying to find out what had happened and the duty manager and his team where engaging with the guests and stayed positive helpful and very reassuring and it was lovely to feel that a manager at The Crane cared what happen to his guest.
The Maintenance team as I said above also lets down a beautiful resort .They really do need to deal with requests from guest and either repair things that have gone wrong or let the guest know it is if it is not repairable even better make sure things are in working order before the guest arrive.We did have our iron and toaster replaced by maintenance but we realized what they had done after we saw them coming out of the next door apartment they swapped them for the empty apartment,two days later a family move in to that apartment and yes you guessed!! they had a broken toaster that sparked at them every time they tried to use it .
We did have a lovely holiday in Barbados we were on the Island for four weeks and spent two of those weeks at The Crane which we did enjoy but we found it quite a frustrating that this is an expensive resort and they are just not getting it right I paid for a jacuzzi and air conditioning and I felt really let.I believe the management have forgotten that the guest have saved up all year for this holiday and want to relax and enjoy all the facility that are promised.

Room Tip: One with a working jacuzzi and air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear rkaty,

We are pleased you experienced an overall enjoyable stay with us at The Crane. The Resort certainly does enjoy a naturally spectacular location which, when coupled with our welcoming and attentive team makes for a completely relaxing experience.

However, we do apologise for the inconsistencies in service experienced during your stay. Please be assured that your unfortunate experience represents a gross departure from our established standards. We recognise that these minor inconveniences do detract from what would otherwise be perfectly relaxing vacations. Each of the issues you experienced have been noted and we will continue to make the requite adjustments in our Maintenance programme to address these service failures.

On behalf of my entire team, I would like to assure you that Management remains committed to our guests’ experiences and we hope that you will grant us another opportunity to create the true Crane experience for you.

Sincerely,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobbs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We just returned from vacation at the Crane. This resort has seen better days. We first arrived and there was a problem with our reservation because of a wrong date issue. We were put in a room with no air conditioning. It was dirty and needed repairs. We were given $178.00 credit. Next day we were given a new room which was somewhat cleaner but again the air went out, the phone didn't work and the elevator went out in our building (we were on the 5th floor). We talked to management about the problems and again asked for a credit, we were denied. This not only happened to us but to three other guest that I am aware of ( a couple on their honeymoon, and woman who finally gave up complaining and cut her vacation short). EVERYONE EXCEPT MANAGEMENT were wonderful and understanding of our problems. This property is PLAQUED with building issues. Beware of this property and management! However the beach and views were outstanding.

Room Tip: Don't go to this resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear kim g,

I was extremely sorry to learn that your Crane experience did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your experience is far removed from our guests’ typical Crane experiences.

Management is indeed committed to maintaining the beauty and function of the resort. Our maintenance progamme is rigorous but as with any other system, we do experience the occasional service failure. However, we have taken note of your observations and these have been addressed.

While we do understand your reluctance to return to The Crane in light of your unfortunate experience, we hope that you will give us another opportunity to create the true Crane experience for you.

Sincerely,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at the ocean view 1-br villa at The Crane in early July 2013.

Pros: The view from our unit (building #3) was breathtaking. The floor to ceiling window doors from the bedroom, as well as the living room, faced the main 3-tiered pool and the Atlantic Ocean.

Cons: The A/C doesn't work well. We wasted a lot of time on our 1st day trying to bring the unit up to par: the refrigerator had to be replaced and the portable A/C units were installed. Some of the stores on premise closed too early (like 5 PM) or not in business over the weekend, which I found odd.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Mini K,

We are pleased you enjoyed The Crane’s “million dollar” views. The Resort certainly does enjoy exceptional vistas and each of our suites was specially designed to rival our naturally spectacular surroundings.

We do apologise for the initial challenges you experienced with your suite’s AC. Please be assured that we are continuing to work towards eliminating these occasional service failures. Also, Crane Village’s retail stores Colombian Emeralds and Cave Shepherd are actually open daily until 6pm. However, it sounds as though your stay may have coincided with their scheduled stocktaking exercise which usually requires early closure.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to create the true Crane experience for you.

Sincerely,
Michael Philips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Black Eddy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I celebrated my honeymoon at this resort last year and it was very enjoyable. This was the first time I went out of the all-inclusive resort stay but I have to say that the food was amazing. We especially enjoyed the Thai-Japanese restaurant. The views were amazing, the massages were excellent and the service was great. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KF0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Keri F,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! From the culinary delights in Zen to the relaxing massages in Serenity Spa, it definitely sounds as though you enjoyed a romantic start to the beginning of your lives together.

Don’t become strangers! We look forward to welcoming you back soon – next time, to celebrate your 1st anniversary.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Johns Antigua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my fifth stay in Barbados,my first at the Crane hotel. The rooms were well appointed and luxurious with free wifi and telephone calls worldwide to landlines.
I dined at the restaurants L'azure, Zen and D'Onofrios.Everything I ordered was delicious and dietary requirements were easily met.
There were also infinity edged views of the beach from two of the restaurants notably Zen but the elevator to access the beach had issues while I was there.
The staff has to be among the best in the world from check in through check out and nothing is too much for them.Great service was exemplified by Ms.Keisha B&T(Guest Services) along with their supervisor Bernice at Front desk. Lisa at L'azure and Kystell an intern at D'Onofrios were also great service ambassadors.
Unfortunately and probably the only downside was that we had to leave after five nights but I will definitely return to this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Sean L,

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. Even in such a brief review you have managed to capture almost everything that is alluring about The Crane.

Friendliness is indeed the hallmark of our staff and Bernice, Keisha B, Keisha T, Lisa and Kystell were all delighted to learn that they played a special role in creating a memorable Crane experience for you.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to doing so again soon – next time, for a longer stay!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful resort. The rooms and pools are extravagant. This was one of the nicest rooms we have every stayed in. We had a plunge pool and only got in it once, due to it being cold. The beach is beautiful with clear water and pink sand. There was alot of sea weed when we visited. They had workers whos purpose was to clear the seaweed but half of them just stand around. The staff here is definitely on island time so prepare for that. There were also locals on the beach that would always bug us about buying something. The food from the resort resaurants is good. Probably a little over priced, like many resorts on these islands, but good enough. We walked over to Cutters a couple of times and enjoyed it as well. We also went to the Oistins fish fry and enjoyed that as well.

Overall a great stay. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Fanman47,

We are absolutely thrilled you chose to start the next chapter of your lives together here with us at The Crane. The Resort’s beautiful location certainly does inspire romance and is the perfect backdrop for any honeymoon.

Like all beaches in Barbados, Crane Beach is public and is frequented by a few peddlers selling locally made arts and crafts. These gentlemen are typically quite friendly and understanding if visitors are not interested in making a purchase.

Unfortunately, your stay coincided with the unusually large deposits of seaweed which affected many of the island's beaches. However, we are pleased to report that Crane Beach is once again pristine with powder-soft pink sand and azure waters.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
13.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
13.6 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Property: The Crane Resort
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing