We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Crane is all you need in Barbados........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
St Augustine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Crane is all you need in Barbados........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Incredible resort if your not incredibly picky. You need not leave the resort as everything is right on the property as well as the best beach and views. I traveled all over the island and nothing we saw compared to the Crane. Just don't wear camo in public not even blue and white camo boardshorts like I had on. The police frown on anyone wearing camo anything aside from the military there. If you like sushi like I do than ZEN is heaven. The tuna sashimi is the best Ive ever had anywhere. The rooms are spacious and with great views if you are ocean view in Bldg 5, 8 or 9. Plunge pools are pretty but not really functional as they are covered and way too cold to get in. Hotel should make them heated and it would make a huge difference. All in all great trip and Id recommend The Crane over anything else we witnessed in Barbados.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Steve M,

We couldn't agree with you more – The Crane is indeed all you need in Barbados. From the culinary delights in Zen to the breathtaking views of Crane Beach, it definitely sounds as though you enjoyed almost everything that the Resort has to offer.

You’ll find that none of the pools at The Crane are heated as over the years we’ve found that our guests enjoy the cool respite from the typically hot Barbados weather.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to doing so again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    521
    164
    108
    105
See reviews for
500
1,053
65
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just love this resort! We arrived and check in was a breeze. We enjoyed our complementary drink and had a late lunch at the Carriage House (we recommend the Bajan Flying Fish Cutter or the Grilled Chicken - both were tasty). We stayed in the Historic Hotel for the view and sea breeze. We loved sitting on the balcony of our room, enjoying a drink, and listening to the surf pound against the cliffs and beach below. Every day we went on a excursion to a part of the island and were always welcomed back with a smile and a quick chat about our outing. The General Store on the property has everything you need for your stay, although we found ourselves going to the nearby supermarket (less than 10 minutes away by car) partially to simply experience a bajan supermarket but also to get some local treats (like bajan sugar to bring back home). Although the resort had lots of guests, we had no problems at all in finding chaise chairs for the beach nor were any of the pools too busy. We recommend the Managers Cocktail Party on the Tuesday night - it is neat to talk to some of the other guests staying at the resort. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed eating at all of the restaurants - the pizza at D'Onofrios (the Italian restaurant on the property) in particular was surprisingly good. Bring one set of nicer clothes (slacks and a nice shirt or a dress) to eat dinner at Zen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Allan W,

It seems to me that you had the true Crane holiday while here in Barbados. Since 1887, The Historic Hotel has stood as a testament of The Crane’s rich history. You have described in great detail the perfect Crane regime for how to enjoy your holiday and the importance of taking time to simply relax and enjoy the island at your own pace.

We agree that the resort seldom feels crowded; this is in part due to the resort layout and a range of amenities to choose from including four restaurants, a café, six pools, retail shopping, a cocktail bar and the pink sands of Crane Beach. In fact, you can now enjoy light lunch on the beach from The Grove Bar & Grill which also serves your favourite tropical drinks.

Thank you for choosing The Crane on your Barbados holiday and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We swapped our Hilton points through RCI to visit this resort and we are delighted that we did. The Crane is only about 10 minutes from the airport in a taxi. The taxi rank was very well organised and the fare was US$16.00. Reception was quick and efficient and a welcome drink and cool towel was offered whilst we were checking in. We were shown to our apartment which was in Harrismith, room 822, overlooking perfectly groomed gardens and a glimpse of the sea. Best of all was the wonderful sea breeze which meant that we could sleep with the patio doors open to enjoy the natural air-conditioning. You really do get used to the sound of the tree frogs in the evening. Our accommodation comprised a well-equipped kitchen which included washing machine and tumble drier. Tea towels, scourer, washing-up cloths, dishwasher tablets, tea bags, coffee, sugar, salt and pepper, were all supplied. The dining/through lounge was tasteful and comfortable. The bed was comfy and the bathroom spacious and well-stocked with products, Everything was spotless! Access to the beautiful Crane beach was via a lift. Sunbeds and umbrellas are plentiful. The sea is quite challenging and you would have to be a strong swimmer to venture out into it. It was good fun watching people body-boarding or just jumping the strong waves. The restaurants at the resort are top class and the grocery store supplied our basic needs. Bar 1887 has Happy Hour between 5.30pm and 6.30pm where all alcoholic drinks are half price. We enjoyed a trip to Bridgetown on the local bus which you can get if you exit the resort, turn right and the bus stop is about a 5 minute walk, on the same side of the road of the Crane. The fare is $2.00 (Barbados dollars and they like the right money handed to them) to go anywhere.. The return bus is accessed from the bus depot in the centre of Bridgetown, gate 12. The journey took about an hour. The Crane organises a weekly Friday evening shuttle to Oistins which is well worth doing.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms have different benefits but our room, 822, benefited from a sea breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rosyglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Rosyglow,

Thank you for taking the time to post this delightful review, it is truly a pleasure to know that you had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday with us.

Many of our guests often comment about the “natural air-conditioning” at the resort as The Crane is favourably positioned on the south-east coast and benefits from the cooling trade winds which affect the island.

In addition to a weekly shuttle service to Oistins, we also offer our guest a weekly shuttle service to Bridgetown and the Limegrove Lifestyle Centre. Our Guest Services team is also available to arrange taxi services so that can explore the island at your own pace.

Thank you for choosing The Crane on your Barbados holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back to “peaceful luxury”.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This resort was very beautiful, wonderful pools and gardens and views over the sea.. we shared a ground floor apartment, so had own pool which was wonderful, clean and well looked after with spectacular views over the gardens, and other pools, a humming bird visited us almost every day. We had studio part, at rear, so own patio, surround by lovely gardens, and loads or birds visited us.. Gardens well maintained.. its own private beach, which although small, really lovely with fine pale pink sand...Fab.. Restaurants food was very good, especially L 'Azure. service very good with happy and friendly staff all over this resort, even chatting to gardeners, we got tips and very impressed with young gardeners knowledge.
Enjoyed trips round the island; Mount Gay rum, good tour, and best cocktails afterwards, hic,, we had a great afternoon there... Andromeda gardens, sensational... also flower forrest... Harrison Cave, best trip, great tourist venue, well planned and organised with video first, then underground on a big trolley train, cathederal and great hall areas, a wonderful site to see.. Earthworks pottery a good place to visit as well,... islanders we found a very friendly happy people, especially at church service, which by husband went to.. Mothers day was a great celebration.... we had an excellent holiday....
one complaint, although apartment pool excellent, patio did not seem to be on a regular list to clean, also the same with small patio at rear on to gardens, also apartment patio chairs and sunloungers, were very worn, that let down the appearance somewhat... all other areas we found were well maintained... an second complaint as well, although apartments looked good, the smart wooden floors did not keep rooms cool, they were always warm at night, it took a long time to cool apartment... and Aircon, was approx £4 an hour, so expensive, it the ceiling fan was not sufficient..... whereas the bathrooms with marble floors were much cooler.
on a positive note. our family hired a car, and at end of first week, car had two problems, so we called in at car hire as we headed back to apartment, and within 15 min we were out with another car... brilliant service, to enjoy our second week...

Room Tip: take a good mosie repellent, ours did not work.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphy-edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Murphy-edin,

Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed review. We are happy that you had an opportunity to spend two weeks enjoying all that The Crane and Barbados have to offer. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We have also taken your comments regarding the patio chairs and sun loungers into consideration. Just one small clarification, all beaches in Barbados are in fact public beaches and although The Crane Resort is located on the cliff above the beach we do not in any way own this beach.

I have also spoken to our Housekeeping Manager who confirmed that every occupied room in the resort is cleaned daily by attendants between the hours of 9am- 4pm unless guests have specifically indicated otherwise.

In terms of your air conditioning charges, these are in line with rates published by the Barbados Light & Power for fuel/energy surcharges. Our members are advised of air conditioning fees and required to sign their agreement to the necessary terms and services when checking in to the resort.

A belated ‘Happy Mother’s Day’ to you and we look forward to welcoming you to the resort on your next Barbados holiday.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a one bedroom ocean view suite. The room was well equipped (two full bathrooms, full kitchen, washer/dryer). The ground were well kept and clean. The pools and beach had enough chairs and were kept extremely clean.
The food and the quality was below a fast food outlet. Breakfast was a nightmare: one day ordered eggs over easy, the eggs came out brown and hard with raw bacon. The waiter was shocked when I sent it back. Another morning the same waiter was surprised when I asked for the fruit plate that was included in my order. Ate at the Italian restaurant and became violently ill later that evening. Zen had the only eatable food, but it was over priced for the quality of the ingredients. Found this the problem at all off the dining outlets, poor quality of the food. I thought being on an island there would be fresh seafood and fish. Dining at the Carriage House the waiter informed us the crab salad was not real crab. It seemed like the property did not have any trained chefs. Thus hungry for the entire stay, I would not recommend the Crane.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Racquetdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place has stood the test of time. We stayed in a "junior suite". Given it's size I can't imagine what a grown-up suite would look like. It included kitchenette with fridge, stove, dishwasher, the works. Living room with flat screen tv, masterbedroom suite with huge master bath and jacuzzi tub. Balcony overlooked the Atlantic and we had our own little "plunge pool" which was the size of a hot tub. Service was typically Caribbean slow but the place was so beautiful you really didn't care. Food was good but expensive, with 3 restaurants to choose from. Two huge swimming pools - one is the original which has been filmed in movies dating probably from the 1960's. The view over the Atlantic coast is breath-taking. We would definitely go back. The only drawback is that it's fairly far from Bridgetown or any other community with night life. So take some good books (or iPad- the wireless worked fine and is free) and be prepared to lie around and be quietly spoiled in the lap of luxury old Caribbean style.

Room Tip: It's worth the money to have the full-on Atlantic ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisainthestates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear lisainthestates,

We agree that The Crane has definitely stood the test of time as the oldest continuously operating hotel in the region. I’ve noted that you actually stayed in a One Bedroom Residence with plunge pool. Each residence is equipped with all the modern conveniences, and décor, luxurious finishes and stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean.\

Presently, we have four restaurants on property; Zen Restaurant- ‘Zagat rated No. 1 for food in Barbados; L’Azure Restaurant- a fusion of International and Caribbean cuisine; D’Onofrio’s Trattoria- casual Italian dining and The Carriage House- the perfect spot for a party of two or an entire family. In addition to our restaurants we also have the Village Café which serves a selection of pastries, ice cream, local treats and specialty coffees, all made right here on property.

We are happy to hear that you would return and looking forward to your next visit.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Crane is a wonderful resort! The staff was very attentive and friendly and our room was spectacular. Being at The Crane was being in paradise. The Atlantic Ocean was quite rough, strong currents and under tows. While at the beach look for the locals....get a fresh coconut from them for $5. The milk is wonderful. Zip lining was a great time as well.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeisgood66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear lifeisgood66,

Thank you for this fantastic review on the resort and your lovely comments about our staff. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and experienced the high standards of customer service that the resort is known for.

The Crane is indeed located on the Atlantic side of the island, and can experience intermittent high swells. We encourage all Crane guests and beach goers to observe red flag warnings or speak with one of the life guards who can advise of swimming conditions on the day.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you to resort in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
13.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,654 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
8.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
8.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Property: The Crane Resort
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing