We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised -- We loved it!!!!”
Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised -- We loved it!!!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

After stalking Trip Advisor reviews obsessively, I was a little worried about what our 9 day trip at the Crane would bring. I am SO happy to say that we really thought it was amazing -- the best place for us on Barbados! I'll preface my review by saying that we stay at 4 and 5 star hotels and travel often (and we are definitely foodies). That said, the Crane really exceeded all of our expectations.

The beach is AMAZING -- the best on the island in my opinion. Beaches on the west side of the island are much smaller from what we saw. Crane beach offers chairs, umbrellas, towels, etc... and drinks! There are waves, but they were fun for us. The water is warm and crystal clear, and the sand is the nicest i've ever seen (i've been to antigua, st john, st thomas, anguilla, puerto rico... the list goes on... and not on cruises.).

We had a garden view junior suite, and we really impressed. We had planned on upgrading once we got there, but didn't feel a need to. It was spacious, clean, updated, and we enjoyed the view!

The pools are also fantastic...and were virtually empty for the week we were there. i'm guessing most people were at the beach? either way, the peace and quiet was great.

The staff at the resort are top notch -- friendly, attentive, and just good service. house keeping kept our room perfect each morning, guest services (Kesha in particular!) handled our MANY requests for restaurants, taxis, etc., and the others were fantastic as well.

Regarding the food, we had breakfast included in our rate, so we had breakfast each morning at Azure. It was good, not amazing -- but definitely fine for us. We ate lunch at Cutters (offsite) or Carriage House each day, and those were good for lunch. For dinners, we went off the resort, as we weren't impressed with the dinners there. That's okay for us --- we'd rather try new things anyway. But, for full disclosure... we really didn't care for Zen. D'onfrio's was decent though... :)

The resort is isolated, peaceful and quiet. If you want to explore, you'll need to rent a car or be prepared to pay a lot for taxis. We did cabs, which were great... but very pricey. But it was worth us to stay somewhere peaceful and beautiful, and not be sandwiched in between other huge resorts (ie, the Gap...). It's all about your preference :)

All in all, fantastic resort! We hope to be back next year! Thanks so much to all the staff!

Room Tip: We had a garden view suite and thought it was great. Spacious and lovely view (though not water!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Jillian M,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. You really haven’t left much for us to add! We are delighted that you didn’t allow yourself to be swayed by any negative reviews as it sounds as though you enjoyed almost everything The Crane has to offer.

Keisha and the entire team at Guest Services were delighted by your special mention. It was their pleasure to ensure that your Crane experience was everything you imagined it would be.

We were surprised that you did not enjoy Zen, as it is rated Barbados’ No.1 for Food by Zagat. However, we’re pleased that as “foodies” on vacation in the Caribbean’s epicurean capital you enjoyed many of Barbados’ restaurants.

Again, thank you for taking the timeto post this review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crane!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,481
    608
    192
    118
    114
See reviews for
619
1,227
72
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What a grand place! Like a giant SAND CASTLE !!!!!There is so much there ~ one would not have to leave at all! Stellar views of the beautiful turquoise and deep blue sea! Lush flora all about! Nice places to eat ,snack, dine! The "pink" beach powerful and mesmerizing ! Henry the beach valet is so gracious and accommodating. Tissa at the Zen restaurant serves some amazing food. The gospel breakfast at L'zure simply an experience to bring tears of joy!
My only complaints would be the lack of bathrooms at the beach and that the neighboring area is such a clash of poor verses rich!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mreightcourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Mreightcourse,

I could practically feel the excitement in your words! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and the members of staff mentioned were all delighted to learn that they played a role in creating your fantastic Crane vacation.

Crane Beach, like all beaches in Barbados is public and as such planning permission from the local authorities must be obtained before we can commence construction of bathroom facilities. However, you’ll be pleased to learn that this is in our future development plans.

Don’t become strangers! We hope to welcome you all again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a fabulous trip to The Crane. We were so excited to see our spacious room and beautiful view. It was lovely sleeping with the windows open, hearing the ocean, and waking up to an amazing ocean view. We came prepared for mosquitoes, but did not need anything at all. The restaurants were good, especially Zen. Grounds seemed well kept and the staff were very friendly. It was slightly inconvenient that the elevator was broken in our building, but manageable, The beach was gorgeous and we had good experience with service on the beach. We were looking for a quiet getaway, which this resort offers. We did go into town for The Cliff one night and one day for a calmer beach which was a bit of a drive, but we were aware of this. Overall, we would recommend The Crane. In fact we are hoping to visit again this next February!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Kristi R,

It definitely sounds as though you enjoyed your stay with us and your suite in particular. We couldn’t agree with you more – there are few things more peaceful than drifting off to sleep in our suites to the soothing sounds of the ocean below.

We do apologise for the inconvenience caused by the elevator during your stay. However, I’m pleased to report that the mechanical issue has been resolved and the elevator is once again fully functional.

Thank you for your wonderful comments and high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crane soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My inlaws gave us a timeshare at the Crane many years ago but we never used it. It just didn't seem like our type of trip. We are usually discerning travellers and tend to travel high end (Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, etc.). We decided to try our 1-bdrm unit at the Residences of the Crane with some trepidation. I must tell you that we had a fantastic time. The unit itself was fully appointed and beautiful. Like a full apartment with so much room, we didn't know where to spend our time. Our balcony which overlooked the ocean was huge and we spent so much time just sitting out there without going anywhere. The beach was clean and lovely. If you love to walk miles, than this beach won't be big enough for you but there were plenty of lounges and umbrellas and very helpful staff. The sand on this beach and the colour of the water are unparallelled. The restaurants were better than what we expected, especially Zen, which knocked my socks off. The food isn't cheap - but it isn't cheap on many islands. We made our own breakfasts in the room so it wasn't a problem. A special call out to Sandra (housekeeping manager) who set the stage with such a warm and welcoming greeting to us and her "get things done NOW attitude). All the people at the Crane were warm and friendly and we felt safe and welcomed. Why 4 star and not 5? This isn't a place where people are going to run around to set up your lounges for you (they will but there isn't a huge staff to do this). They aren't going to bring you wet towelettes at the pool and papaya slices. This is a place where you will take care of yourself more than at a 5 star resort but we didn't feel neglected either. The other guests (many of whom are timeshare owners) are lively and proud of "their place". It is a good atmosphere. Where it could be improved? It would be nice if they posted the entertainment for the evening - there seemed to be some confusion about that. Also, there are some small details if you are to look carefully - some cushions at the outdoor restaurant are worn out, cleaning products left in the hall at times, slow service at the pool restaurant...little things that didn't detract from our trip. We will go back to the Crane (and that is a high recommendation, indeed)!

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Woodlandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Woodlandgirl,

We are thrilled you finally took the leap and decided to experience all that The Crane has to offer. While ours is an understated elegance, far removed from the obvious opulence of some other luxury resorts, we’ve found our typical guest value naturally spectacular views, world-class amenities and services and warm, friendly genuine service above all else.

Residence Manager Sandra certainly is a gem and exemplifies the warm and genuine nature of our staff. It was her pleasure to welcome you to The Crane.

We also appreciate your feedback about the areas in which we could stand for improvement. Please be assured that The Crane is steadfast in its commitment to present consistently high quality products and services.

Thank you for this fantastic review and your high recommendation. We hope to welcome you often in the years to come.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wonderful stay at the Crane for our honeymoon! Fantastic beach, lovely room, great pools and it was handy having shops, restaurants and bars on the doorstep. Zen restaurant is the best for quality and the Carriage House is brilliant for lunch. Had one of the best spa treatments I've ever had at their spa. Few things were a bit hit and miss - we couldn't get into the restaurant for breakfast on our first day there, because it was too busy and there weren't enough staff - we left a complaint with them about it and were happily surprised to find a bottle of wine, chocolate covered strawberries and an apology note left in our room the next day. Would not recommend the afternoon tea at L'Azure (it was pretty awful as standards go and not in keeping at all with the rest of the resort). Apart from that though it was an absolutely fantastic stay and would definitely recommend the resort! Hope to revisit in the future for our anniversary! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Kate S,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We are delighted you chose to create those precious first memories of your lives together with us at The Crane.

We also appreciate your candid feedback about your experiences in L’Azure. While I’m glad that we were able to recover from your initial unfortunate experience, please be assured that we have taken your points and are making every effort to improve in these areas.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Definitely don’t become strangers! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stay here every year and have always enjoyed our time. It is located on the southeast part of the island so it is in a rural area away from the hustle of the West coast. It gets constant wind which is nice. The beach is excellent and safe for children as well as providing good body surfing. The restaurant choices could be better, since Zin, the Asian place, is pricey and the rest are only decent food. The hotel and resort has a nice little "village" with its own bars and places to purchase everyday items, and a convenience store. The rooms in the old part of the hotel are by far the best, while some of the others can be hotter and require air conditioning. Multiple pools and tenis courts make this an excellent choice. Renting a car, if you like to travel and see other sites, is a must as the bus service is slow and lacking.

Room Tip: Old part of the hotel is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sfrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Sfrantz,

Thank you for taking the time to post this comprehensive review of The Crane. We are always delighted to hear the perspective of our repeat guests as this allows us to chart our improvements over the years.

Please note that L’Azure and Zen are priced in accordance with similar fine dining restaurants in Barbados. However, our remaining restaurants The Carriage House, D’Onofrio’s and The Coconut Grove Beach Bar and Grill offer casual dining experiences at more inexpensive prices.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you over the years and we look forward to many more visits!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have just returned from spending one week at The Crane on my own, followed by a week accompanied by my four children aged from 18 years down to 4 years of age.
A perfect combination of peace and tranquility, followed by a week of family fun - I love my family, but, it's nice also to be occasionally without them for short periods!!!
Time at the Crane is like time spent in a living postcard. Wherever you are within the grounds, the views are exquisite and it is a delight to be surrounded by so much space and luxuriant landscaping.
It was as wonderful to spend relaxing hours, simply enjoying clifftop views from a sunbed accompanied by just a kindle and a rum punch, as it was, to be actively involved with the children playing in the pools complex, or watching for turtles, or down on the beach playing in the sea and boogie boarding. The sea swell is fabulous and with commonsense good care, safe great fun, even for a four year old! - If you want glass smooth swimming - use the idyllic original pool!
The staff were incredibly friendly at all times and assisted with all our enquiries politely and efficiently and swiftly dealt with any matters arising during the stay.
Thank you's in particular go to Jennifer (housekeeping), Errol at The Carriage Bar, Cory down on the beach, Cameron, Sheena on front desk and Amanda E. All went out of their way to be helpful.
Yes it's secluded - that's the joy of the place - but, you are only a 7 minute cab from Grantley Adams or 20 minutes or so from the Gap - and if you want to do more further afield (and you enjoy west coast traffic jams) it is all easily accessible by taxi or private car.
Go on, take my advice, enjoy some Cranechillax time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hotelbravo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Hotelbravo50,

We don’t believe we have ever heard it put so nicely – time at The Crane is like time spent in a living postcard. We couldn’t agree with you more! With acres of lush landscaping, complemented by magnificent ocean views, The Crane certainly is a sight to behold.

It definitely sounds as though you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Each member of staff mentioned was delighted to learn that they played a memorable role in creating your fantastic experience.

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,650 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
13.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
316 reviews
8.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
8.2 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Property: The Crane Resort
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing