We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crane Resort
Nearby Hotels
Casa Grande Airport Hotel(Saint Philip Parish)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shonlan Inn and Apartments(Christ Church Parish)
$80
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
$71
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Silver Point Hotel(Silver Sands)
$122
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$591
$453
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbay Hotel(Christ Church Parish)
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inchcape Seaside Villas(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barbados Beach Club(Christ Church Parish)
$240
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bougainvillea Barbados(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
$305
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$707
$562
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,790)
Filter reviews
2,790 results
Traveler rating
1,648
661
217
138
126
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,648
661
217
138
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeneral storeplunge poolcarriage housegospel breakfastpink sandthe air conditioningwasher dryerthe cliffstayed in buildingemerald cityocean viewrum punchzen restauranttime sharesushifull kitchengrocery store
Filter
Updating list...
1,567 - 1,572 of 2,790 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent a week at the Crane, Barbados, with my family. It was excellent in all aspects. Accomodation was fantastic, we had a wonderful view from the Crane beach, the rooms were spotless clean and the service at the hotel was good even though we were there on Xmas and they had fewer employees. The resort restaurants were also fantastic, we had great food and wine and charming environments. Pool is enrmous and amazing. We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_Bertelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Ana_Bertelli,

Thank you for this short but delightful review, we are certainly happy that you and your entire family had a wonderful stay with us over the holidays. Our ocean front residences feature stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean and our housekeeping department works tirelessly to ensure that these rooms are cleaned to the highest standards.

With four restaurants on property, we offer an array of dining options from classic Thai and Japanese cuisine to delectable cuisine from southern Italy.

It has been our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we look forward to your next visit!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Crane in January of 2011 (note 2011, not 2013). We've traveled to a few other places in the Caribbean and this was definitely one of our favorites. We were looking to relax by the beach, pool and bar and this is definitely the place for that. It's a bit secluded, but we found that to be a very good thing. Being isolated in a beautiful place, with a lovely room and view, staffed by really kind and helpful people is a good thing--as long as you like your traveling companion (I got lucky there). The rooms are very spacious, and the plunge pool (although a bit cold at times) is an absolute must. I rarely go back to the same hotel but if I do go back to Barbados, i would absolutely stay at the Crane again.

Room Tip: Ask for a plunge pool, and a room with a balcony overlooking the water (not the parking lot)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thayer1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear thayer1974,

It was certainly a pleasure to have both you and your wife stay us. We often say to our guests that ‘relaxation’ is spoken here and if you are looking to disappear and just kick back, then The Crane is the perfect place for you.

We are happy that you enjoyed your one bedroom suite with plunge pool and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next Barbados vacation.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Really expensive, but worth the money. This is The 5* hotel all over its plush, grand, massive complex which is so clean just amazing in every way. The rooms are to die for, contemporary colours mixed with solid woods making it feel homely too. People you NEED to stay here if you ever visit Barbados

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank forevershelbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Yolo79,

Thank you for this brief but rave review! It certainly sounds as though The Crane met and surpassed your expectations, especially with our grand, luxuriously appointed suites.

It was a pleasure to have you and we certainly hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I bought two weeks at the beautiful Crane Resort several years ago and we are thrilled each time we return to our lovely and well appointed apartment. Nothing compares with Crane beach and those wonderful Crane breezes. The grounds, the pools, the restaurants, bars, staff---all come together to make for a fantastic experience. We have traveled all over the world, and find the soft pink sand and turquoise sea at Crane Beach unmatched!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Rhonda C,

Thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review. We are delighted that you continue to enjoy fantastic experiences with us each year. We couldn’t agree with you more – nothing compares to Crane Beach and our wonderful Crane breezes.

It has been our pleasure to welcome you both to The Crane over the years. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had tired of the intensity of luxury all-inclusives, and decided to go to the Crane for 2 weeks in January. It was perfect… Paradise!
The suites:
we stayed in a one-bedroom suite in building 8, which overlooks the beach. It was exactly what we wanted: clean and quiet with a wonderful covered balcony a full kitchen a large living room, 2 bathrooms, 2 large televisions, and a very comfortable bed. Suites with the private pool on the first floor looked inviting, but people hardly ever used them it seemed. Some say the plunge pools in the one or 2 bedroom suites were cold but others seem to enjoy them. I think it is worth upgrading to an ocean view, but even the one-bedroom lockout garden view suites are large and comfortable. There is a charge for air-conditioning, but we never needed it. Breeze just blows right through. The only bugs I saw were sand fleas on the beach.
The grounds:
the grounds are very well-maintained, with gardeners constantly working. There are orchids attached to palm trees, and a wide array of ornamental plants. There are mischievous monkeys eating the mini banana trees that the Bajans call fig trees. The pools are out of this world, with a large formal pool near the spa, used by quiet adults. The multilevel main pool area has quiet nooks, comfortable lounges with brand-new deep chair pads, and multiple waterfalls. It has a shallow section for little kids, and a good mix of sun and shade. There is a large bubble pool, like a hot tub but not hot, overlooking the ocean, and a wonderful lunch and bar area.
The restaurants:
they are all good, from the expensive Zen (where Mick Jagger was dining one night) to the inexpensive carriage restaurant at the pool and Italian restaurant in the village area. The signature restaurant, L'Azure , has a stunning view. We had earlier read complaints about the service, and it was slow and disorganized one night at L"Azure for some reason, but otherwise perfect. Food in Barbados can be expensive, but you can make meals in your fully equipped kitchen, and buy food nearby supermarkets or at the minimart in the hotel "village".
The beach:
incredible. There were always waves, but lifeguards made sure that small children were looked after and kept people away from the undertow area near the cliffs.
Lots of umbrellas for shade, at no cost to people staying at the Crane, handy elevator down, shower at the bottom of the elevator, and wonderful soft pinkish sand.
Entertainment:
thankfully there is no loud music at the pools throughout the day, no group sports, and just a fun guitarist or band at the central bar at night. If you are looking for nightlife or big shows, you will have to go elsewhere, and the Crane is quite a distance from the busy spots on the social war and the elegant places on the West Coast. It was perfect for us because we were looking for relaxation.
Overall:
staff was friendly and very anxious to help. We had no problem getting extra towels or taxis anything we needed in the room. This is quiet beautiful well-maintained resort. Don't go if you're looking for action, but for romance and relaxation, this is an excellent choice. We will be back.

Room Tip: Buildings5, 8 and 9 are quiet, with great views of the beach and ocean. Building one is the historic hotel, and still needs upgrading. Building 2. 3 and 4 look over the pools and garden and then the ocean. Buildings 36 and 37 are in the gardens but have ocean views from the top floors.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exeter_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear exeter_12,

We are delighted that you enjoyed “a perfect winter vacation” with us at The Crane. It certainly sounds as though you made the right choice in search of romance and relaxation away from the spotlight typically shone on the West Coast of Barbados.

We do apologise for the singular inconsistency you experienced with service in L’Azure. Please be assured that we remain committed to the minimisation of such occurrences.

Just to clarify one point, the AC charge does not apply to direct hotel guests, but is only applicable to Crane Members in our Shared Ownership Programme or to guests who have exchanged through RCI®. However, we couldn’t agree with you more – the constant breezes that circulate our suites completely negate the need for AC.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Philips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews