We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, amazing beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value, amazing beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We honeymooned at The Crane in mid-October 2012 on our first visit to Barbados.

The grounds are beautiful and well kept. A "village" at the center of the resort houses a few shops including a souvenir shop, and ice cream/coffee shop, as well as the resort's bars and restaurants where the food was all good and the prices reasonable given the venue. Price-wise, you can do a little better by shopping at the nearby grocery store but not dramatically so, especially if there's just two of you. That said, the lovely breakfast with amazing views at Azure will run up your bill real quick.

The highlight is the world-renowned beach. The sand is made of coral, so it's pink, soft, and always cool. Lounge chairs and umbrellas are at your disposal, and the guys at the hotel cabana and their unofficial coconut-drink-slinging counterparts will make you have whatever you need to enjoy your time there. An "at your own risk" climb from the beach to the cliff outcropping provides a secluded moment for you and yours as the brilliant blue waves crash below you. Most take the adventurous route back by jumping in, but the faint of heart will trek back the way they came. Stay near the cliffs for afternoon shade.

We stayed in the "Residences in the Park." The room was beautiful and clean. The full kitchen had everything we needed and the private roof-top lounge area with gas grill, outdoor shower and plunge pool took it to the next level. It was really great. Our side of the building we were in faced the ocean (tho we couldn't really see it), but I believe the other side faced hotel new construction. Consider this when booking. The Crane is not especially close to Bridgetown or other "cities" on the island, especially on the windy roads of Barbados; excursions from the resort require a little bit of planning, though there are always taxis waiting to serve guests. It's not unusual that your driver hangs out and drives you home.

The staff at hotel was very nice and always helpful.
We had an amazing time at The Crane!

Room Tip: Many of the third floor "Residences in the Park" units have private plunge pools and gas g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Mike K,

Thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review. It certainly sounds as though you enjoyed everything The Crane has to offer – especially Crane Beach! Crane Beach is famous for its pink sands, turquoise waters and exhilarating surf and is widely regarded as among “the top ten best beaches in the world.”

The completed Residences in the Park are our newest additions to the available accommodations at The Crane. The “standard” suites in the inner circle are discounted to reflect their close proximity to an active construction site. However, we have found that the additional features of lush private gardens, roof top pools and barbeque grills effectively buffer the construction.

Don’t become strangers! We look forward to welcoming you back to Barbados and The Crane again soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,401
    581
    180
    113
    108
See reviews for
568
1,169
69
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 10th anniversary by staying a the luxurious Crane resort. We had a fabulous time. The property is simply stunning with spectacular views of the ocean. We spent 3 nights there and it was so relaxing. We spent our special day lounging by the pool, having a delicious lunch followed by a sumptuous dinner at their restaurant L'Azure.

While there we also had a lovely dinner at Zen which offers Japanese and Thai cuisine. The sushi at Zen is amazing. A treat for the true connoisseur.

The only thing I thought they needed to improve was the temperature of the pools. We stayed there in December and the pools were freezing. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our staycation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyMBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear CathyMBeck,

Congratulations on your 10th wedding anniversary! We are thrilled you chose to celebrate this momentous occasion with us at The Crane. It certainly sounds as though you enjoyed everything that the resort has to offer.

Note that our pools are unheated because we have found over the years that our guests (the majority of whom are from temperate climates) enjoy cool dips in the pools during the typically hot Barbados days.

It is always our greatest pleasure to welcome our fellow Barbadians to The Crane. Don’t become strangers – we hope to see you again soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We took our honeymoon here for twelve nights and it is absolute paradise! The resort is very isolated from the rest of the island, but it makes it even more romantic. The resort is beautiful, the food was amazing, Our favorite place to eat was zen, soooo good!) staff is very friendly. The water at the beach is a little rough but the sand is so soft and pink colored. You will get asked to buy weed on the beach but they won't keep harassing you when u say no. The staff was very helpful in planning activities for us to do off the resort. We loved that they had a coffee shop/ ice cream, and a store to buy groceries and whatnot. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view room which had two full bathrooms, washer and dryer, beautiful balcony area and full kitchen, dining room and living room area. I would definitely go back here and recommend to people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Stephanie G,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We are thrilled you had an enjoyable time with us at The Crane. Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review.

We have taken your unfortunate experience of solicitation on Crane Beach very seriously. You’ll be reassured to learn that our Security personnel are working in conjunction with the Royal Barbados Police Force to identify the perpetrators and eradicate this illegal activity from Crane Beach.

Nevertheless, it sounds as though you definitely enjoyed your Crane stay overall. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.louis, missouri, usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Barbados and stayed at the Crane. Simply put, it is a great resort overlooking the famous Crane Bay. The view of the Caribbean Sea from atop this cliff is so beautiful it is hard to describe. The restaurants, bars, pools, spa, and beach are perfect. The room, a junior suite, was huge, clean and had a nice view of the gardens which are manicured to perfection. The staff was friendly and helpful and service at the restaurant and bars, elegant.

Some comment that it is too far from "things". Not sure what else you need for a relaxing vacation resort on a warm caribbean island. But if you want to explore, I do recommend you rent a car. We rented a Mini Moke and cruised all over the island and checked out other "resorts". Trust me, they do not compare and the idea of being close to a more crowded section of the island for convenience, is not a trade you want to make. Relax and enjoy the resort, rent a car and pop into Oistins (6 miles) for some fresh fish and a Banks beer, or head down to the gap (8 miles) for a night out. When you return, sit out on the lawn at the Crane which is well lit at night, watch the sun set and listen to the waves crashing against the rocks below. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank estovirstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear estovirslt,

It sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed all that The Crane and Barbados have to offer! You haven’t left much for me to add. It seems that you and your wife have found a veritable second home here with us The Crane.

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We look forward to your return!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited with friends as they were interested in buying. The location is fantastic, the views breathtaking and the facilities ten fold. We were shown round by a very nice lady who was very informative and welcoming. The rooms lack nothing and are very well presented. The restaurants and pools all have amazing views. This resort has everything if you are looking for relaxation peace and luxury with great views. You would not really know that you were in Barbados though, so not for everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Reason8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Reason8,

Thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review. We could not have stated it better – The Crane has everything if you are looking for relaxation, peace and luxury with great views.

The Crane certainly isn’t for everyone. But those travellers who value undisturbed tranquillity will find that our location on the South East coast of the island affords this and much more!

We hope to welcome you and your friends back soon – next time, as members of our Crane family.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Another great stay at the Crane Beach Resort in room 922 with the beach & pools enough for us and our 10 year old daughter.

After boogie boarding & relaxing on the white sanded beach we especially enjoyed the original swimming pool for its size & location, situated on the cliff edge (overlooking the beach) with the sky as its back drop when in the pool - gave it a 'heavenly' appearance - just so beautiful

Boogie Boards can be hired though we took our own.

Staff throughout the resort were very courteous & friendly.
Special thanks go to Housing Keeping Supervisor Sandra for her very warm welcome and to her team of able ladies Valerie, Jian & Cynthia who did an excellent job in servicing our room daily.

Great resort & location- we shall return!

Room Tip: seaview for the view & seabreeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear dee m,

We couldn’t agree with you more – the view of Crane Beach from the Historic Pool is indeed ‘heavenly.’ It was our pleasure to welcome your family back to The Crane. It certainly sounds as though you all enjoyed another tremendous stay us. Your suite, a One Bedroom Ocean View, is definitely a comfortable fit for up to four people.

Sandra and her very capable team were delighted by your special mention. They are each shining examples of the typical Crane employee – warm, affable and attentive to detail.

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review. We look forward to your swift return!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

we have just spent 10 days at The Crane on our honeymoon, i dont know where to start the suite was spectacular. The staff were exceptional along with the service they delivered. The beach has to be seen to be believed, just stunning! The restaurants were fantastic, but most of all the bajan people were most friendly and welcoming, so proud of their beautiful island and with very good reason. I would recommend aanybody to try this hotel, it is quite removed from the main tourist areas and a car may appeal to certain people. We enjoyed a fabulous holiday and would do it all again. A very special place!

Room Tip: an ocean view is not essential as the place is spectacular regardless of where your room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngieS900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear AngieS900,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! You definitely enjoyed everything The Crane has to offer. From the luxuriously appointed suites to the award winning restaurants, there is something for every new couple to discover and enjoy together.

The key to The Crane’s appeal lies in its removed location on the South East coast of the island. This affords our guests a level of privacy that is unmatched. However, for those who wish to explore the island, they are always pleased to learn that popular night spots such as Oistins and St. Lawrence Gap are only a short drive away!

Don’t become strangers! We hope to welcome you back soon – perhaps, to celebrate an anniversary.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
13.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
13.6 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Property: The Crane Resort
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing