We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous place away from it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous place away from it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Crane is unbelievable, quiet, elegant, secluded, and one of the best beaches in the world. The hotel resort complex is up there with the best in the world. They offer large suites with 28ft infinity pools to small garden ones. This is our 9th trip and its gets better every year. If you want quiet relaxation away from the hustle and bustle this is the place. The West coast is too busy and noisy. We have never used the air conditioning in a room yet, since there is always a cooling breeze off the Atlantic even though the temp is always in the high 20s C to low 30s C.

Room Tip: Choose one in building 5, 8 or 9 on ground floor for the infinity pool. Building 5 is most expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Geoff B,

It has been our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane over the years. We couldn’t agree with you more – if you want quiet relaxation away from the hustle and bustle, then this is the place! With the cooling trade winds that circulate our grand suites, relaxation is easy.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We hope this visit continues to surpass expectations and we look forward to welcoming back for the 10th time.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,399
    581
    180
    113
    108
See reviews for
567
1,168
69
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maidenhead
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our 4/5 visit and although I love the beach it really needs to attend to some essential things.
We've visited and watched the development with interest and have stayed their now several times.
Sadly the list of problems, although fairly minor added up and they really need to up their game to compete with other 4/5* star establishments.
Firstly, on arrival no safe in room or hairdryer, although there were holes where they should have been! Got them reinstalled after a few days. Glass top on table covered in smeary film.
No do not disturb or please service room signs. Towels were tiny, smallest I've encountered in a hotel.
Coffee machine in icecream parlour was broken for duration of visit, as was the lift to the beach.
Jacuzzi in pool complex was either closed or very cloudy. Other pools were not sparkling and clean, water cloudy with debris. Plus saw pool men sprinkling powders into pools during day, surely this should be done at night.
No entertainment in bar, caught end of guitarist once, no notification of him, or anyone else.
The general store shelves were half empty, unable to get what we wanted. Came back at 10.50pm one night to find bar closed!!

Such a shame as I want the Crane to succeed.

Lastly, for 3 days our peace and quiet was spoilt by a gang of 9 feral youngsters running around in a pack, none more than 10 years old unsupervised, screaming at the top of their voices. Management should be more proactive to stop this happening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maidenheadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear maidenheadgirl,

We do sincerely apologise for the unacceptable state of your suite on arrival. As frequent visitors to The Crane, you would be aware that this isolated occurrence represents a gross departure from our established room preparation procedures.

Our pools are cleaned daily in addition to a scheduled deep cleaning rotation. Unfortunately the time of your visit coincided with one of the deep cleaning rotations of the Alfresco Pool. We do apologise if this and the entertainment schedule of Bar 1887 was not communicated effectively to you. I also wish to assure you that the cloudy state of the pool complex was only temporary, immediately following heavy rainfall. This would have been rectified soon afterwards.

We appreciate your candour and I assure you that we share the same goal of success for The Crane and will be reviewing each of the issues outlined in this review with the goal of implementing both short-term and long-term solutions.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Best vacation every. Very nice place and staff willing to do anything to help. Little $$$ but worth every penny. Very nice views from the hotel and restaurants.

Crane, thanks for a great time and wonderful service.

Room Tip: We were in building 5, which is near the end and overlooking the ocean. it was a quite a bit of wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AG-NY_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear AG-NY_NY,

Thank you for this brief but fantastic review! We are thrilled you enjoyed the “best ever vacation” with us at The Crane.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to doing so again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spend the day yesterday at The Crane. They have an unadvertised deal where you can spend the day at The Crane for $25 BBD ($12.50 US). You get access to the beach and the money you spend can be used as a credit at their restaurants. We also checked out the pools.

The beach at The Crane (Crane beach) is pretty nice though the surf can be a little harsh (though fun to play in). The grounds are also very nice. While the pools look really nice, I have to say they are disappointing as they are too shallow. While they say four feet, they are really three feet, (unless I've been 8 feet tall).

We had lunch at the Azure restaurant overlooking the beach.

Since your entry fee gives you equal credit at the restaurants, you can view it as almost a free day and as such I have to recommend it.

We can in from Hastings so the bus ride was about 40 minutes exactly. The bus stops right in front of the Crane.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fr3lncr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Fr3Incr,

We are delighted you took advantage of our Day Pass which grants easy access to the spectacular Crane Beach as well as a BDS $25 credit towards food & beverage in any of our restaurants and bars.

It is always our pleasure to welcome guests of other hotels to The Crane to experience all that we have to offer. With five amazing pools (which are open to our resident guests only), there are options of water as deep as 10ft in our Historic Pool to as shallow as 3ft in the children’s section of the multi-pool complex.

Thank you for this rave review. We do hope you will visit us again – next time as a resident guest.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spend a week at The Crane in August 2012 and really liked our room - high ceilings and a view out of this world! We left the windows open at night and did not have to turn on the air conditioning at all (beware if you do - they charge you per minute and it would be a hefty fee if you left it on all week). The surroundings of the resort are top notch. They are expanding the hotel though, so there is construction during the day and lots of workers taking care of the grounds. The resort is quite far removed from the action, but there is a shuttle that goes into Oistens on Friday evenings for the fish fry which I would definitely recomment (and this comes from a vegetarian!)... lots of fun and our favourite night out. There is also a shuttle that goes from the hotel into town to shop one morning. Cabs can be expensive ($50USD per way), so the shuttles are great. The service at the restaurants on the resort was very slow and the food was meh. We took advantage of the kitchen facilities and had some meals in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoSunnyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear TorontoSunnyD,

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. It definitely sounds as though you had an enjoyable time with us at The Crane and in Barbados overall.

We are thrilled that you took advantage of the cooling trade winds that circulate our suites. However, I must point out that the AC charge, to which you refer, is not applicable to all guests. Only Members of our Shared Ownership Programme and guests who have exchanged via the RCI Points network are subject to this charge.

You’ll also be pleased to learn that since your stay in August, we have made several improvements to both the food & service in our restaurants. We hope to welcome you back very soon to experience these changes and more!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SI NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was our second trip to The Crane. We went in November 2012 for our 25th anniversary. Ee wanted to go to a special place. The Crane is a very special place. We love it there. We had a beautiful ocean front room. Thank you Mr. Korey Boyce for the upgrade, very grateful for that.

The grounds and views of the ocean are outstanding. Having breakfast at L'Azure while looking at the beautiful beach is breathtaking. As for the beach itself, it is outstanding. Beautiful pink sand and plenty of chairs with umbrellas. We were unable to go int o the ocean though. It was way to rough for us. Very few people actually went in. If you want a calm beach, go to Accra or Miami Beach, both wonderful.

We enjoyed all the restaurants, L'Azure and Zen our our favorites and both with gorgeous views of the beach.

The pool was great. As full as the resort was, you could always find a quiet place. I do agree with a prior post about the "towel cards". One towel per person and only if you have a card is a little silly for a 5 star resort in my opinion. We like one towel for the chair and one to dry off with, not possible with this system.

We found the staff to be extremely friendly, both times we were there in fact. Day or night if you walked past a staff member they would always have a smile and say hello. Housekeeping did a wonderful job everyday.

We are planning our next trip there as we speak.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SITravellerSiNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear SITravellerSiNy,

Congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary! It was Korey’s pleasure to do anything he could to ensure that you and your wife enjoyed such a momentous occasion with us. It definitely sounds like you had an enjoyable time overall.

On the days when the red flag is flying, we definitely advise swimmers to avoid the waves. However, Crane Beach is actually the safest swimming venue on the Atlantic side of the island. With a natural encircling coral reef that breaks the waves as well as a daily lifeguard presence, Crane Beach makes for an invigorating but safe swimming experience.

We implemented the towel card system as a control measure. However, we do appreciate your feedback and will be reviewing the system.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at The Crane in Building 5. Although the unit was a bit older, it was very well maintained and extremely spacious for a studio. The bed was very comfortable, the veranda was lovely, and the bathroom huge! We didn't see one bug, but did have a small finch visit us everyday from the garden. The grounds are beautiful and the singing of tree frogs was a refreshing reminder that we were in the tropics. Although the pools were a bit murky they were a welcome relief from the hot sun. We found the beach to be gorgeous to look at but too rough to go in. We had a car which was perfect, because we got to see a lot of the island and went into Oistins for fish almost every evening. Such a wonderful island and a memorable vacation at The Crane. We would most definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trini152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear trini152,

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Junior Garden View suite, which features many of the amenities of our larger suites but in a more intimate setting – perfect for couples!

We do apologise if our pools’ appearances were anything less than crystal clear. Please be assured that in addition to a daily cleaning rotation, our pools are subject to regularly scheduled deep cleanses. You’ll also be pleased to learn that Crane Beach is not only beautiful but is also the safest swimming venue on this side of the island. With a natural encircling coral reef that breaks the waves and a daily lifeguard presence, Crane Beach makes for a safe and exhilarating swimming experience.

Again, thank you for posting this review. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
13.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
13.6 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Property: The Crane Resort
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing