We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unbelievable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent the last weekend at the Crane using our points from RCI. The first thing that got my attention was the friendliness of the satff - all staff. No member of staff passed us without greeting, and as Barbadians, that was not something to which we were accustomed. The room -a one bedroom suite was just great. The view was excellent, looking at the sea, and listening to the waves lapping the shore. Even the taxi drivers in the carpark were very polite, and made you feel welcome. Everyone was just so helpful. Dinner and lunch, we did not go to breakfast, were just fabulous, and the excellent service continued. We were so relaxed after the lunch that we did not want to leave the restaurant. To sum it up, Jennifer asked if I wanted to stay another night. I declined because of other commitments, but bookings were made for another stay in April.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are most relaxing, especially if you have a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Carl A,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. It certainly is always our pleasure to welcome fellow Barbadians to the resort and show you the hospitality which has made The Crane famous. I'm especially pleased that, with over 4,500 RCI resorts to choose from around the world, you chose to stay in Barbados and experience what makes The Crane the #1 rated resort.

We'll be looking forward to seeing you in April and hope to exceed your expectations.

Warm regards,

Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    515
    164
    108
    105
See reviews for
491
1,053
63
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Crane, would like to thank every one who made my stay enjoyable especially Mary the Housekeeping Supervisor, who although the rain was falling, went through it to get me a beach towel, and took time out to listen to me about problems I was experiencing at home. Thanks Mary.

Room Tip: ground room had pool on patio, it was wonderful to have my own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Harold W,

Thank you for this brief and heartfelt review. Many of our guests agree that Crane staff treat them as a part of their extended family, even if that means simply lending a sympathetic ear.

We are all delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Warm regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville,NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent our Thanksgiving week at the Crane in Barbados. All I can say is wow. Wonderful property - fantastic beach and stellar service. Our room attendant, Diana, went out of her way to assist with my mother, who is elderly. She helped us get in contact so we could get Mom meals in the room beyond the normal offerings and really went out of her way with her schedule to make sure the rooms were taken care of and in top condition. We spent the majority of our time on site both on the beach and beside (or in!) the pools. The property must have been full for the holiday week, but the beach never felt crowded and there were always chairs available. The pool was the same. We did partake in the catamaran trip through the Crane and really enjoyed that as well. A great week at a stellar resort.

Room Tip: If you can, opt for building 5 - best views of the ocean - you literally look down off your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runninginNC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear runninginNC09,

We are thrilled that you had a fantastic time at The Crane. I have passed on your kind comments to Diana, who continues to deliver exceptional service while going above and beyond for our guests here at the resort.

I always feel especially pleased when guests have the opportunity to experience the full range of amenities across the resort and to explore a bit more of Barbados.

Thank you for choosing The Crane on your Barbados holiday. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I spent 1 night at The Crane in Barbados (a chance to experience Barbados while at the same time, avoiding an awkwardly long connection at the airport).
We only stayed one night, but we were immediately captivated by the stunning views, gorgeous beach, immaculate pools and landscaped gardens. Our room (just a standard garden view) was equally magnificent, with heirloom furnishings, roman tub and large separate stand up shower....
While this resort is not an all-inclusive, every unit is fully furnished with a kitchenette (the better the room category, the fuller the kitchen I'm told) and cooking utensils (which is great if you're on a budget) On top of the 5 star amenities that the resort offers (great restaurants & bars, daily maid service, spa and fitness centre on site, duty free shops, etc), it's also got its very own self-sufficient village where you can buy groceries, go for coffee, meet for drinks, etc. (Pretty fabulous selection of wines at the General Store). We had free wi-fi at the resort and computers in the lobby too if you didn't think to bring your own laptop. This resort is also a time-share....if we were ever to consider doing a time share, we think this just might be the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear NTSV,

Thank you for choosing The Crane for your brief trip to the island, and for this amazing review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Having kitchens in every room is definitely a plus for our guests, whether they are staying in a Junior Suite kitchenette with its mini fridge, 2-burner stove, electric kettle, coffee maker and microwave; or in a 1-bedroom or 2-bedroom suite with double-door fridge (icemaker included), stove, oven and dishwasher; or in a Penthouse with a barbeque grill and wet bar on the roof deck.

We're looking forward to your next stay with us, hopefully for much longer than 1 night this time.

Warm regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our day started off beautifully....Liat Airline was a 1/2 early. We arrived at the Crane at 9:30 am and were amazined at how friendly the staff were, how cold the beer was in the General Store. lol . Cheryl upgraded us to a room with a pool and a hot tub...it was fantastic. The service in all the restaurants was excellent as well as the food. The property is amazing....we had a wonderful weekend and are looking forward to returning soon. Our experience was outstanding....thanks to all the Crane staff for making our weekend memorable.

Whitney & Rob

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Bryg,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review. We are delighted that you and your husband had such a fantastic weekend stay with us!

I am always happy to hear that guests have made full use of their in-room amenities such as the private pools, jacuzzi tubs and fridges (to store their ice cold beer).

We certainly look forward to welcoming you both back on your next trip to Barbados.

Warm regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We are long-time visitors to Barbados and The Crane and have really enjoyed the island and the resort each time.
Our room (ocean view with a plunge pool) was heavenly as always and I must mention the absolute terrific service that Diana, our chambermaid, carried out each day. She is an absolute star!
The other positives were the Beach (simply incredible), the Carriage House (great food), 1887 bar (friendly service) and D'Onofrio's (so good we went twice). The gospel breakfast buffet is a must on Sunday mornings as well.
The main negative though was our experience at L'Azure which was nothing short of disgraceful. The food is brilliant but unfortunately the kitchen is let-down by the service staff who were at times dis-interested, dis-honest, rude and not a reflection of the service elsewhere in Barbados or even at the Crane. The service became so bad it was bordering on hilarity at times. The place descended into chaos as other tables left as they had not received any food.
Checking out was slightly onerous as well but that is a minor complaint.
The resort is beautiful and hugely relaxing. If they fix the issues at L'Azure, then I'd recommend the Crane to all and sundry!

Room Tip: Stock up your room at Emerald City which is a local supermarket and far cheaper than the general sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Random_TouristNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Random_TouristNyc,

Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed review. It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us.

As other reviewers have noted, Diana is a true Crane diamond, and we have passed on your lovely comments to her, as well as to the restaurant and bar teams at The Carriage House, Bar 1887 and D'Onofrio's.

I must apologise for the poor service you experienced on one of the occasions that you went to L'Azure. What you have described is certainly an exception from the high standard we expect in that restaurant and I can assure you that we have dealt with the matter appropriately. Our Restaurant Consultant is back on property this week to assist us with the final tweaks to the new L'Azure.

This service issue aside, I am happy that you had an overall relaxing time, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

The good - nice beach, nice pools, average fitness center. The units are large, nice spAcious bathrooms. The kitchens are ok, missing many items like knifes, cutting boards and the dishwasher doesn't work very well. Balconies very large. The bad the air conditioning does not work at all. I've complained twice and nothing happens. Really in a resort with four diamond rating? I'm writing this review from my unit in building 5 at 4 am because its 83 degrees and I cannot sleep. The air conditiong is set on the lowest setting and I've kept the shutters shut during the day to keep the sunlight out which is sad since there is a great view. The restaurants are good but I will never come here again because of the air conditioning and lack of a response to fix it. 83 degrees is ridiculous. It's a shame because everything else is good.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear camskate,
We are happy that during your stay you had an opportunity to experience Crane Beach as well as the pools across the resort.

Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding the inconsistencies you would experienced with the air conditioning. We are continuously working on our chillers to ensure that guest rooms are adequately cooled.

I wish to assure you that the lack of cooking utensils in your suite was a major oversight by our housekeeping department and I have spoken to the team to ensure that this will not occur again.

At The Crane, we aim to provide guest experiences that can be truly treasured and we will continue to make the necessary improvements to warrant such accolades from our guests.

We do regret that your stay did not meet your expectations and we do hope that you allow us another opportunity to create the true Crane Experience for you.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
13.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
8.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
8.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Property: The Crane Resort
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing