We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,887)
Filter reviews
2,887 results
Traveler rating
1,708
682
226
143
128
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,708
682
226
143
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general store plunge pool carriage house gospel breakfast pink sand washer dryer the air conditioning stayed in building the cliff emerald city ocean breeze rum punch time share zen restaurant full kitchen garden view grocery store
Filter
Updating list...
1,722 - 1,727 of 2,887 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from the magnificent Crane Resort. Only bad thing is having to come home. I really do not know what anybody could find to complain about. After 2-3 days of being there you can actually feel all the stresses of "normal" life just blowing away in the wind. To me The Crane is not just a place but a way of life. Ever time we go I feel like I am going home. There have been a few negative comments on Tripadvisor recently, however you really should try for yourself. We have been going there for 12 years and the amount of people that we meet that are there for the umpteenth time speaks volumes. Do not miss out by considering the negative points, instead treat yourself to a vacation at this unbelievable resort I guarantee you will not be sorry!

Room tip: The higher up the building the better the breeze. You do not need the A/C
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Helene W,

Thank you for your encouraging words to prospective guests! The Crane experience certainly is one not be missed. From lounging by our multiple pools to dining in our world class restaurants, The Crane has something for everyone to enjoy.

We appreciate you taking the time to post this fantastic review and look forward to welcoming you back home.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I recently traveled to The Crane for our honeymoon! We had a 7 night stay at the resort and absolutely loved every minute of it! From our arrival for check-in to check-out, the staff were very friendly and helpful in all aspects of our stay. Check-in went very smoothly and it was as if they were expecting us and called us by name. The concierge offered us their signature Rum Punch while we were checking in and the drinks were ready for us the second we were done getting our room keys. The concierge helped us with our baggage and brought everything to the room for us while giving us a brief history of the resort during our short walk to our building. Once inside the room, everything was spotlessly clean, but the A/C was off so it was a little warm until we figured out how to turn the A/C on. The A/C is not very strong anyway but it cooled off the rooms enough along with the ceiling fans. My wife kept saying it was still a little too warm for her but I was pretty comfortable most of the time. The Caribbean style windows and doors opened up for a nice steady breeze but there are no screens or anything on them so mosquitos did get into our room. We did not keep any of the doors or windows open during our stay after that. We had a one bedroom suite with a kitchen and a rooftop deck with a swimming pool. The swimming pool and deck upstairs were the highlight of our accomodations. A romantic place to be for breakfast, lunch, dinner or champagne and star gazing were all enjoyed on the rooftop deck.
The grounds of the resort are in very great shape and beautiful. You can definitely tell landscapers work very hard and take pride in their work. The Crane Village has everything you would need so it is not necessary to leave the resort unless you want to go on island tours/adventures. There is a small grocery store with plenty of snacks, drinks and other food items that you would need for a vacation stay. There are four restaurants and one bar in the Village. There is Italian, American, Caribbean, and Japanese/Thai restaurants. Most are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner but The Carriage House was only open for lunch I believe. Each restaurant had something on the menu for all people. My wife is a picky eater and she was able to find things on the menu that she would eat and she really enjoyed the food. i enjoyed the food as well and our favorite restaurant was the Italian place. We ate dinner there at least 3 times and loved it each time. The service is also great at the restaurants. There was also a pastry/ice cream shop as well. The cakes and ice cream were delicious and the pastries looked great as well. Need souvenirs to take home? They have a souvenir shop as well!
The views from some of the restaurants and the grounds themselves were very beautiful. The pools were surrounded by tropical vegetation including numerous palm trees and the poolside furniture and loungers looked very comfortable. My wife and I used our private rooftop pool so we did not swim in any of the public pools. All in all, it was a very great trip at a fantastic resort and we will definitely be vacationing there again!

Room tip: It is worth it to spend a little more and get a room with a private pool! So relaxing!
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Jeff M,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! You haven’t left much for me to add. It definitely sounds as though you enjoyed an absolutely fantastic honeymoon with us here at The Crane.

We were disappointed to hear that your enjoyment of the cooling Trade winds which circulate our residences was cut short by mosquitoes. We do wish you had brought this to our attention as the Housekeeping department would have been delighted to spray your room as well as provide you with mosquito nets.

However, despite this minor inconvenience, we are thrilled you enjoyed all that The Crane has to offer. From the sweet treats offered in The Village Café to the cool dips in your private rooftop pool, The Crane has something for everyone to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many more vacations to come!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Romantic, quiet and just absolutely stunning! The resort was perfect for our honeymoon and I can not say one negative thing about our experience. I loved the Thai / Sushi restaurant and it was perfect for me and my husband because he would be eating sushi while I ate Thai. Only words of caution: beware of the rum punch served on the beach.... They are strong!!!!!

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlb356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear MIb356,

Thank you for taking the time to post this brief but fantastic review! We were delighted to learn that The Crane proved to be the perfect spot for your honeymoon. Zen Restaurant is Zagat rated “Barbados No. 1 for Food” and rightly so! Our team, led by Chef Thai Van Ly, creates exotic dishes nightly to the delight of our guests.

We do hope to welcome you again soon – perhaps to celebrate your 1st anniversary!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Crane Residential Resort is on the east coast of Barbados, but it is totally worth the journey. We went there for lunch and the food, service and setting were excellent. The beach is wonderful and can be reached by steps or lift. But the Crane is much more than this. It has bars, shops and, of course, accommodation either at the hotel or time-share apartments that surround the beautiful gardens. It had a feel of a posh Disneyland without the rides (or the kids), just lovely buildings, winding paths, swimming pools and so much more. A great experience.

Room tip: Some rooms have an infinity pool on their balcony!
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlivellaDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear OlivellaDB,

We are thrilled you had “a great experience” with us at The Crane. We regularly welcome guests from other hotels around the island to enjoy our restaurants and they are consistently wowed by the breathtakingly beautiful surroundings and friendly service.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We hope to welcome you again – next time, as a resident guest!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel! The rooms here truly are stunning. Amazing location on Crane beach. This is the perfect spot if you are looking to just lounge at a pool or beach for the entire vacation. It is very secluded not much around there so if your looking for more of a party vibe I would recommend a hotel in Bridgetown instead. I would steer clear of bldg 3 garden view rooms however since the mosquitos are brutal there! Spend a little extra get the ocean view and the higher up means less mosquitos. Be prepared the waiters here totally move at Island speed. You will get your beer 30 minutes after you order it but it vacation so you have to be patient :) The only thing I wish they had would be a swim up bar or even waitress service coming for drink orders around the pool but I didn't see any of that. They have a great general store with everything you need like bread, soy milk, etc. We loved the ice cream shop. It was so delicious and open at 7:30 am every day so very convenient. They also sold pastries, coffee, etc. the gift shop was great also with tons of cute stuff. Out of the property to the right a short walk is Cutters where you can get breakfast or lunch and they do deliver to the Crane. Also outside the property short walk to the left is the Crane Palms for lunch and dinner. All in all the Crane has beautiful architecture on the cliffs in Barbados. From the koi ponds to bird baths to the lovely grounds it really does transport you to a state of lovely serenity.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megatwins100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Megatwins100,

Thank you taking the time to post this fantastic review! We couldn’t agree with you more – The Crane is the perfect spot if you are looking just to lounge at a pool or beach for the entire vacation. The beautiful surroundings really do transport our guests to a state of lovely serenity.

We do apologise for the inconsistencies you experienced in restaurant and pool service. I assure you that I have communicated your observations to the Food & Beverage team for immediate improvement.

It would have been our pleasure to spray your suite and provide you with mosquito nets to prevent any discomfort from insects.

The Village Café is one of our newer additions to The Village and it has fast become a favourite spot for both the young and the young-at-heart. We hope to welcome you back soon – many more sweet treats await!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews