We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here a month ago for 12 days while we got married and honeymooned. Can not say enough about the process of getting married there in regards to the easy of planing not to mention how amazing the event was for us and our friends. The beach wedding was beautiful and could not have been done better. Everything we asked for was done and then some... we could not be more thankful to the staff who made the event so special. We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Robert P,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! It was our Wedding Coordinator’s pleasure to ensure everything was fantastic for your wedding on Crane Beach. Each year, many couples choose The Crane for their destination weddings due to our famed naturally beautiful surroundings and the extreme friendliness of our employees.

Thank you for choosing The Crane. We look forward to welcoming you back – perhaps for your 1st anniversary celebration!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,475 - 1,481 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent a week at The Crane and stayed in a ground floor unit with it's own magical garden, jacuzzi, pool and gazebo. Great service all round. A variety of restaurants to chose from. A little home away from home. Can't wait to return!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Camille H,

Thank you for this brief but fantastic review. It is always our pleasure to welcome Barbadians to The Crane. We have definitely created a “home away with home” here on the island’s beautiful South East coast.

We look forward to your return!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during the off-season. It was pretty quiet during my stay, but the staff was very nice and attentive, the room was incredibly well-maintained, the pools were great, the many restaurants are quite good, and the beach was also very pleasant (but rather wavey). The only bad thing is that they are currently completing some construction on the property, which sometimes gets in the way of things (but is not loud - just sometimes certain paths may be closed). The property is also very large - it can be easy to get a little lost at first. There is no shopping/etc. within walking distance of the hotel, so if you stay here you will need to stay on property unless you take a taxi. Do not expect anything to be cheap in Barbados! Food, hotels (even "economy" hotels), taxis, shopping, etc. are all very expensive! With that in mind, The Crane is a lovely resort and I recommend it if you enjoy a "luxury, secluded experience."

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are much nicer, otherwise all you really see are the other buildings on the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Marja S,

We couldn’t agree with you more – The Crane is indeed perfect for travellers seeking a luxurious and secluded experience. Spread over 40 acres, exploration of the property is perhaps our most popular pastime and our employees are always happy to escort guests to their final destinations.

Each year, we complete scheduled maintenance and upgrades to our facilities during the summer period. However, we do make every attempt to ensure that any inconvenience caused by these works is limited.

In addition, The Village on property offers Duty Free Shopping in Cave Shepherd and Colombian Emeralds. Larger branches of these stores can be found in our shopping capital – Bridgetown – only 45 minutes away from The Crane.

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Purchased a living social voucher for a 4 night stay at the Crane. The hotel is beautiful, excellent views of the beautiful, but very rough ocean. If the water is a deal breaker for you, then this is not the place for you.
Very quite hotel, lots of couples and families. No action at nights.
The food was great at all of the hotels, except the L'azure. Didn't like the food there at all.
Service is very slow all over the hotel, but this is very typical of the Caribbean.
Would not go back to this resort, since we love to swim in the beautiful water, not just stare at it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OLGA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear OLGA R,

We are pleased you took advantage of the Living Social offer and it sounds as though you had an enjoyable time with us overall. Our positioning is that of tranquil luxury and as such our guests can be assured of a quiet, relaxing tropical vacation. However, during our typically busy winter months we always introduce some entertainment with nightly performances in Bar 1887.

We are continuing to address our Food & Beverage concerns. L’Azure is presently the focus of our Restaurant Consultant, who is continuing to effect positive changes.

It is definitely not the Caribbean Sea with gentle waves, but Crane Beach is actually the safest swimming venue on the Atlantic side of the island with an encircling coral reef which breaks the waves as well as a daily lifeguard presence.

Although The Crane was not what you expected, we do hope you will return to our beautiful island to experience all that it has to offer.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at this resort for 7 glorious days of magnificent ocean and mountain views, I stay in the Penthouse which offered over 2700 square feet of living space with a plug pool, the balcony spanned the length of the rooms.
The rooms where decorated with all cherry wood furniture which seems to be the island way , but it was simply gorgeous to say the least, the living was large and was full of white furniture that was both exceptionally clean and well kept .
Although I had no intentions or notions on cooking while a way ,the room had a fully stocked kitchen with a washer and dryer , it also had a roof top deck that came with a barbeque grill , tables and chairs a hot tub and a even better view than the first level if you can believe that .
The resort staff was friendly and very helpful with all the details of my stay.
Each restaurant offered a great view of the sea, which was an added plus,.

Room Tip: Penthouse which offered over 2700 square feet of living space with a plug pool, the balcony spanned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Gwen B,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful and detailed review. You have not left much for me to add! No detail was spared in the design of our suites. From timber tray ceilings and granite countertops to marble bathrooms and majestic four poster king-sized beds, our suites are every bit as breathtaking as our surroundings.

Don’t become strangers! It was a pleasure to welcome your family to The Crane and we hope to do so again.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We loved this resort. Hit and miss on friendliness but that may be cultural. Rooms are fabulous, beach is breathtaking. Hired taxi at 30/hour toured the country and visited the caves. Shopped at Emerald City cooked in our room. Ate at the Zen it was nice. Food here is expensive! Cutters has great macaroni pie. Great trip. Packed too many dress clothes. Got sunburned. Red flag out on East coast husband broke his arm. The crane helped us to get medical care at FMH that worked out great! The Crane is nice!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasHaglers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear TexasHaglers,

We do hope your husband has a speedy recovery. It was absolutely no trouble at all to organise emergency medical attention for him. When the red flag is out, it is extremely important to exercise care in the ocean. Despite his unfortunate visit to the emergency room, it sounds as though you enjoyed an overall fantastic stay with us. From the breathtaking Crane Beach to Zagat rated Zen Restaurant, you definitely experienced many of the alluring features of The Crane.

You’ll find that food prices in Barbados – where the majority of food is imported – will be higher than what you are accustomed to in North America.

Nevertheless, we do hope to welcome you again soon – for an incident free stay!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just returned from the Crane in building 5 in a one bedroom ocean view suite. The view was incredible. We enjoyed sleeping to the sound of the ocean and windows open every night. There is no need to have the air conditioning on because of the constant breeze. Our room was very nice. The staff at the Crane is awesome! The Carraige House was our favorite restaurant. We also ate at all the other on-site restaurants and as others have written they are just OK. We went off site to the Gap area and enjoyed dinner there. Management needs to work on the restaurants on-site. They were always out of everything and the wine list was needs some work for sure. If they get that straightened out people will stay on the resort and it will bring people in.
The beach was incredible. A little rough but the water is clear and the sand is soft and clean. The beach is not for small children but the pool area is great for kids. We toured the island and the Cranes beach is by far the best. All in all we would go back again. We enjoyed the location even though it is away from everything. The staff made our vacation and we are looking forward to seeing them all again someday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaBosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear AngelaBosco,

We couldn’t agree with you more – our employees are indeed awesome! It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be no surprise to you to learn that Crane Beach was once rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world.

We also appreciate your constructive feedback about your restaurant experiences. You’ll be pleased to learn that we have engaged the services of a Restaurant Consultant who is making his way through our restaurants to make improvements in both food & service. We have also just upgraded our wine list and expect to launch it next month.

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy more of beautiful Crane Beach.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,784 reviews
9.2 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
354 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,097 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,803 reviews
10.0 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#23 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range: $205 - $874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing