We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could have spent my vacation just looking at the view .”
Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I could have spent my vacation just looking at the view .”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at this resort for 7 glorious days of magnificent ocean and mountain views, I stay in the Penthouse which offered over 2700 square feet of living space with a plug pool, the balcony spanned the length of the rooms.
The rooms where decorated with all cherry wood furniture which seems to be the island way , but it was simply gorgeous to say the least, the living was large and was full of white furniture that was both exceptionally clean and well kept .
Although I had no intentions or notions on cooking while a way ,the room had a fully stocked kitchen with a washer and dryer , it also had a roof top deck that came with a barbeque grill , tables and chairs a hot tub and a even better view than the first level if you can believe that .
The resort staff was friendly and very helpful with all the details of my stay.
Each restaurant offered a great view of the sea, which was an added plus,.

Room Tip: Penthouse which offered over 2700 square feet of living space with a plug pool, the balcony spanned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Gwen B,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful and detailed review. You have not left much for me to add! No detail was spared in the design of our suites. From timber tray ceilings and granite countertops to marble bathrooms and majestic four poster king-sized beds, our suites are every bit as breathtaking as our surroundings.

Don’t become strangers! It was a pleasure to welcome your family to The Crane and we hope to do so again.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,455
    594
    187
    114
    112
See reviews for
595
1,209
71
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We loved this resort. Hit and miss on friendliness but that may be cultural. Rooms are fabulous, beach is breathtaking. Hired taxi at 30/hour toured the country and visited the caves. Shopped at Emerald City cooked in our room. Ate at the Zen it was nice. Food here is expensive! Cutters has great macaroni pie. Great trip. Packed too many dress clothes. Got sunburned. Red flag out on East coast husband broke his arm. The crane helped us to get medical care at FMH that worked out great! The Crane is nice!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasHaglers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear TexasHaglers,

We do hope your husband has a speedy recovery. It was absolutely no trouble at all to organise emergency medical attention for him. When the red flag is out, it is extremely important to exercise care in the ocean. Despite his unfortunate visit to the emergency room, it sounds as though you enjoyed an overall fantastic stay with us. From the breathtaking Crane Beach to Zagat rated Zen Restaurant, you definitely experienced many of the alluring features of The Crane.

You’ll find that food prices in Barbados – where the majority of food is imported – will be higher than what you are accustomed to in North America.

Nevertheless, we do hope to welcome you again soon – for an incident free stay!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just returned from the Crane in building 5 in a one bedroom ocean view suite. The view was incredible. We enjoyed sleeping to the sound of the ocean and windows open every night. There is no need to have the air conditioning on because of the constant breeze. Our room was very nice. The staff at the Crane is awesome! The Carraige House was our favorite restaurant. We also ate at all the other on-site restaurants and as others have written they are just OK. We went off site to the Gap area and enjoyed dinner there. Management needs to work on the restaurants on-site. They were always out of everything and the wine list was needs some work for sure. If they get that straightened out people will stay on the resort and it will bring people in.
The beach was incredible. A little rough but the water is clear and the sand is soft and clean. The beach is not for small children but the pool area is great for kids. We toured the island and the Cranes beach is by far the best. All in all we would go back again. We enjoyed the location even though it is away from everything. The staff made our vacation and we are looking forward to seeing them all again someday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaBosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear AngelaBosco,

We couldn’t agree with you more – our employees are indeed awesome! It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be no surprise to you to learn that Crane Beach was once rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world.

We also appreciate your constructive feedback about your restaurant experiences. You’ll be pleased to learn that we have engaged the services of a Restaurant Consultant who is making his way through our restaurants to make improvements in both food & service. We have also just upgraded our wine list and expect to launch it next month.

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy more of beautiful Crane Beach.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife united kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

What can I say about paradise and tranquility. This is it guys. Service from everyone is number one. Staff are so kind and friendly. Island is great for touring with a mini moke, or hop on the local buses. Only 2 barbados dollars where ever you go . Resort has everything you need, however a must is Oistins Fish Fry on a Friday. Great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Jackie E,

Thank you for taking the time to post this short but sweet review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we are thrilled you enjoyed a great experience with us.

Don’t become strangers! We hope to see you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a week in a two bedroom unit in Building Two, and the view was gorgeous. The staff was very attentive, and having shops on site was quite handy. All in all, would absolutely stay again. Can't speak to price due to this being part of a time-share.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear John F,

Thank you for taking the time to post this brief but fantastic review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite with Plunge Pool – ideal for friends and families with two spacious bedrooms and two and a half bathrooms.

It was a pleasure to welcome you on this trip and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently visited The Crane resort back in July and had a wonderful time. Overall, the services at The Crane was very good. The only reason I did not give an excellent rating was because the food at the resort was just okay - nothing that blows your mind!

The rooms were superb - very nice and spacious!! Although we experienced several issues with our whirlpool tub, The Crane staff were very diligent in resolving the problem. I'm talking about we had to call them back like 3-4 times b/c it kept breaking down, but they came each time with no problem! Finally, the manager of facility called and apologized for the incident, and made sure there were no more break-downs!

One tip to remember when staying on the resort is to make sure you eat EARLY! The restaurants close early, so any late night cravings can go out the door! But there is a lounge on the resort that stays open til 11 or 12, and they play great music and the bartenders are on point! Great way to relax after a full day of touring the island!

I would return to The Crane, but my preference would be to stay closer in the city! The Crane is located about 25min outside the city limits. If you're not one that likes to venture off the resort, then this would not be a nuisance to you!

I would highly recommend the Cool Runnings Catamaran Cruise! The boat staff are LIVELY and they feed you really well! They are also patient and great teachers while snorkeling!!!

Room Tip: The ocean view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelly-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Chelly-P,

We are delighted you and your boyfriend enjoyed a wonderful time overall with us at The Crane. We do apologise for the initial inconvenience with your Jacuzzi, however I am pleased that my team was able to rectify the matter for you.

You’ll be pleased to learn that since your stay we’ve engaged the services of a Restaurant Consultant who has been making his way through each of our restaurants. We have already begun to see rave reviews from our patrons in D’Onofrio’s and L’Azure about the new menus.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We do hope the next time you are looking to enjoy a truly relaxing vacation, you will choose to visit us again!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Building 2 in a 2 bedroom unit. The view was great and the plunge pool was used everyday! Went in a slow time so restaurants were not always open when needed but the service was great. The rsort grounds and beach are beautiful. Walk down the beach to the hidden cave and find the remote beach to have true privacy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLFriedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear DLFriedel,

Thank you for this brief but fantastic review! It certainly sounds as though you enjoyed everything about your stay – especially Crane Beach!

Crane Beach is actually the safest swimming venue on this side of the island with an encircling coral reef which breaks the waves. An interesting historical fact is that the private beach and caves were used by ladies in the 18th century, when it was considered improper to be seen bathing in public.

We look forward to welcoming you back – next time, in our busy winter season so you can truly enjoy all that The Crane as to offer.

Warm regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,012 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,563 reviews
13.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
8.2 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,954 reviews
8.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Property: The Crane Resort
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing