We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stop on an island tour from cruise ship .”

Sunbury Plantation House
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Barbados Scenic Tour Including Bathsheba Sunbury Plantation
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The only 17th-century plantation house in Barbados entirely open to the public.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A nice stop on an island tour from cruise ship .”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

For those that wish to see what it was like as a sugar plantation owner/family it is very interesting.
The entire home is a museum of Barbados's past . Looks like they host many dinner events on site .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cruisesinc92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    112
    67
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nicely Preserved House”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A visit to a plantation house seemed like a "must do" in Barbados. Sunbury is a good example.
The tour guide was quite knowledgeable and the house is very well kept.
Entrance fee is reasonable.
I have to say - it is a little dull & doesn't take long (sorry) - but seems like one you should tick off when you are on the Island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SomersetSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“18th Century Life as a Plantation Owner”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This house has been restored to its original state, showing how the Plantation owner & family lived in past years. Life must have been very luxurious compared to that of the workers who at one time numbered over 200. As part of an island tour lunch was included, which was an excellent Caribbean Buffet in a seating area overlooking the back gardens.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CGT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bah humbug to nay sayers”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had a very nice time looking aound Sunbury. It was pouring that day and a good place to get out of the rain. Didn't see the garens but was told I could come back when it wasn't so inclement! Great! The buffet looked great and if I hadn't gone to the Atlantis I believe I would have been happy eating there. For 10$ usd I felt the money well-spent. I learned something and enjoyed the camera and optician room. I will return to see the garden!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank homeec57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“History and a nice lunch”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited here and had a lovely time. The house is quite eerie as so well preserved. We also had a lovely carribean lunch afterwards.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SXR101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunbury Plantation House also viewed

Saint Peter Parish, Barbados
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Sunbury Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing