We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 1/2 day trip well worth a visit”

Sunbury Plantation House
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Barbados Scenic Tour Including Bathsheba Sunbury Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The only 17th-century plantation house in Barbados entirely open to the public.
NOTTIGHAM
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good 1/2 day trip well worth a visit”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Glad we took a taxi and not gone on an organised trip. We got the house to ourselves and got back to the hotel for lunch and an afternoon by the pool.

The tour guide was very informative and friendly. The house is quite small but there is plenty of nick nacks inside to see. I especcially like the plethera of vintage textiles.

I would advise that they get rid of there maniquins they are scary, tired and awful. A dress makers maniquin would be much better to allow the vintage pieces to speak for them selves.

Through away the po poure and artificial flowers they are not needed at all. Fresh flowers would be much better.

It would have been nice if we could have seen a mock up of what the slaves might have stayed in as a comparison.

I think the presentation of the optical and photographic equipment would be better off in another building so that the artifacts in the house could be spread out a bit more.

Over All glad we went and I enjoyed it but presentation need working on.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AL150N_MCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    112
    65
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Informative and enjoyable”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Interesting History and a great Buffet lunch!A guide takes you on a tour around the house and gives you all the history of the place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank caiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
828 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,128 helpful votes
“amazing what a privileged life early settlers lived”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

we went on 10 august. Quiet day. Only visitors when we got there. Local bus only hourly to and from Oistins. Entrance fee very reasonable BDS 20. Patricia gave short very instructive tour. I was struck as much by the the restoration after the fire in 1995. Incredible collection of exhibits reassembled. life for wives of owners must have been very dull. little mention of the 220 slaves which created the wealth

Helpful?
1 Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One more thing to do in Barbados.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The house is in need of greater care and better management. The collections are varied and could serve as great period pieces if preserved well. The staff was a bit sleepy at first but eventually the female guide turned out to be well informed and jocose. She had many hilarious historical anecdotes to relate and made the visit much more interesting. The collection is unique but appears neglected.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElenaSanches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.George, Barbados
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old house, old objects”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Sunbury Plantation House is a must-see in the island. My visit was nice and it did not take more than 2 hours. It is possible to see objects belonging to different historic periods. There is also an interesting camera collection, which I enjoyed the most. In regards to the facilities, there is a beautiful garden where people get married. Food... I did not dare to buy anything there because prices were just to high. A fruitpunch was $4US and was not different from a cool-aid. I have had better fruitpunch around the island. In general, I would recommend this place if you like to see old objects. Ask for a guide to tell you the history behind each object.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luz Astrid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunbury Plantation House also viewed

Saint Peter Parish, Barbados
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Sunbury Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing