We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“L'Azure, worth travelling for.”
Review of L'Azure Restaurant

L'Azure Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“L'Azure, worth travelling for.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have visited L'Azure for a dozen years. Spectacular situation and view plus tropical breezes to die for. The food in the past was good but not always exceptional. We have visited twice in the last two weeks and were amazed at the standard of cuisine and service. Last week we had an old favourite Catch of the day, Mahi mahi, one of the best fishes in the world, but can be routine in Barbados. This time the presentation was artistic, the fish very fresh and moist, and yet perfectly grilled. This week my wife had rack of New Zealand lamb and I had the Bouillabaisse , both washed down by a crisp Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc. My sister lives in Auckland so we could appreciate the wine and my wife her lamb. We have spent about a third of the year in France for many years, but it would be difficult to find such a Bouillabaisse even in the best restaurants in Marseilles. Congratulations to Paul the new chef and the restaurant staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmysboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    87
    48
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape may
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service at the L Azure restaurent in the Crane Resort”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had lunch at LAzure restaurant in the Crane Resort in Barbados on Wed. Jan.2nd.2013. Each year the service gets worse. We were seated at twelve noon and given menus at 12:35 the waiter came by and said that he thought that we had placed an order.Our drink order arrived at about 12:50pm. Our food order well after 1;00 pm. This definitely is not the kind of service you should receive for the prices that the Crane Resort charges.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Visited L'Azure on our last night in Barbados, oh how we wished we had been sooner as we would have returned.
The restaurant is lovely, "dressed" mainly in white and overlooking beautiful Crane beach.
The food was superb, quite possibly the best steak we have ever eaten. Thankyou for a lovely evening

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gedhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited this Restaurant for lunch have been given excellat recommendations.It was very disappointing. We had booked it from the UK.

When we arrived although virtually empty we had to wait for a table. Unfotunately we had to listen to a long list of complaints from anothe diner. Service was slow and the Wine List had to be asked for. At least two of the wines we asked for were not available.

The food was, to say the least, mediocre depite the menu descriptions. The service was haphazard and the felling was that the restaurant was badly managed.

After eating we asked to bemoved to the terrace which was previously full. A much better place to eat because of the view but very windy.

The up side is that the location and view is fantastic.

Sorry over priced and needs a makeover.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raffles1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Don't go breakfast”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Azure restaurant for New Year's breakfast. The service did not exist. The buffet was sad. The line for omlettes was 30 minutes. We had to get our own salt and sugar from other tables in the restaurant. We waited to get coffee and tea for 40 minutes. We never got any napkins. Most of the times no servers were present. Avoid going there! Seems they are all hung over from the night before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moreyoucando1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Azure Restaurant also viewed

Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to L'Azure Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing