We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great experience!”
Review of Zen Restaurant

Zen Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Zen Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just a great experience!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Every year when we go to Barbados (we stay at The Crane) this is the one restaurant we go to at least 3 times in 2 weeks! It's that good! The food is the best I think I've ever had. We always try something different each time we go and are never disappointed. The servers are very helpful in assisting you with what to order... we usually ask their advice. We usually try to ask for the little rooms for privacy when we make a reservation.

When we stay at The Crane we will go online before we leave home and book through their website as this restaurant is hard to get reservations if you don't do this or at least book it when you first arrive. Yes, it's that busy!! And worth it!!

Enjoy!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    67
    29
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food was good on most part”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Being vegan can be a challenge, but not in Barbados. This restaurant has a good selection of vegan options. My meal was quite delicious. The seafood and sushi was good, according to friends. The steamed fish was the only disappointment. My friend returned it, it was like shoe leather. Service, was ok, not great. Bring a cover up the AC is insanely cold in there!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marieclaude f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Average atmosphere and food”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were recommended Zen by a friend who frequents the island. We had a window seat looking over Crane beach but the window looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a long time so we weren't really able to see the view. The restaurant was also a little shabby compared to how it advertises itself and absolutely freezing. The food was ok, nothing particularly special, they brought us the wrong sushi and then didn't have the desserts we ordered. Service was good but everything felt a little rushed, we were served three courses in an hour. Maybe because we weren't actually staying at The Crane.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Thai, Good Sushi”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We ate at this restaurant twice during our recent trip to The Crane Resort. The Thai food was fantastic, particularly the curry dishes and seafood dishes. The sushi was ok - the sashimi and nigiri were both very fresh, but the maki was rather pedestrian. The service the first visit was mediocre - our server disappeared after we completed our meal and we had to wait roughly 15 minutes to get the check. The second time the service was much better.

When you're staying at The Crane, there aren't many dining choices and those off property are a lengthy and pricy cab ride, so this is the best option available if this is the type of good that you enjoy. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EAS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Another fabulous meal and birthday dinner”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I hope I'm allowed to write another review of Zen. Our last meal there was in March for my son's 10th Birthday.. this time was for one of my daughters 15th Birthday.

Zen has, over the years, been on a roller coaster ride of good to not so good food..Sushi has become a staple in many restaurants in Barbados in the last few years.. but.. the Sushi we had a Zen was well worth it.. Value and taste.. spectacular.. 3 of us shared about 7 sushi plates and my 2 others had Bento boxes with their favourite Teriyaki chicken or beef, tempura shrimp and salad.. yummy.. So I would say.. they are back on a high again.. well done Zen...

and the service was very good..as usually..

I highly recommend it

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunniebgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Restaurant also viewed

Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Zen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing