We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular visitor”
Review of La Terrazza

La Terrazza
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Regular visitor”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have often eaten at this Restaurant and have never been unhappy with the service or the food. The menu is always good and the specials are always good. This is not an expensive place to eat good food and enjoy a relaxing lunch or dinner. Staff always give a good warm welcome and will do as much as they can to make sure you have an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WaleshappyShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    38
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We hadn't booked a table, but when we arrived on a Saturday evening staff made an effort to ensure we didn't feel forgotten and brought us drinks while we waited for a table to become available.
The general appearance of the place inside is run down and the staff could make more of an effort to smarten up too. We were seated at a table which had a dirty/stained table cloth and broken glass on the floor underneath.
We were prepared to forgive this if the food made up for it, but sadly it was not to be.
This has to be the only Italian restaurant I've ever been to that didn't have a single pizza on the menu! My husband ordered a sirloin steak only to be told that they had just run out, so he had a rump steak instead which wasn't the best quality and came with just a small side plate of vegetables.
My lasagna was very bland and the side salad was a poorly presented selection of roughly cut unimaginative plain salad ingredients (predominantly lettuce and tomato) no dressing.
We didn't stay for dessert...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A little taste of italy”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

atmosphere, welcome from Gino, menu, service, the friendly staff, helpful chef for my mum who is on gluten free diet,after dinner shots, EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS PLACE

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank swinbrookhuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I would highly recommend this restaurant. I have been eating here pretty much since it first opened & I have always had an amazing meal with amazing service. The staff are always happy to help and nothing is to much trouble, especially the owner Gino. If you want something that isn't on the menu or want a meal adapted for your taste just ask and it is no problem. Meals are always tastely and to a high standard. What more can I say, any excuse I have to go out for a meal and I want to go to la Terrazza.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlottedavies198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“tiny portions :(”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Went here as was reccommended by a few people for a christmas party meal with friends. Ok yes we were met by friendly staff & the menu sounded nice but not one of us was happy with what we actually got! For example the chicken dish arrived with 3 very thinly sliced pieces of chicken breast, pork was 2 thin slices & so on, all with a bit of sauce. Then had to wait for vegetables & pasta - which turned out to be 1 very small plate of 'long' spaghetti between 2 to 3 of us - hardly enough for a spoonful each, 1 small plate of vegetables too. Nothing in the meal made you think you were in an italian restaurant - no variety of pasta or any specialist - could have cooked it all at home to be honest! We all left very hungry & disappointed :(

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parsons97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrazza also viewed

 
Newtown, Powys
 

Been to La Terrazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing