We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful and beautiful”
Review of Highgate Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highgate Cottages
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Highgate Bed & Breakfast very much. The rooms were clean and we had a great view of the surrounding countryside. Because it was out on a farm, it was also very peaceful. The hosts were very helpful for any of our needs. The breakfast was delicious. We would not even think twice to stay with them again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belfastlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Cottages, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Always a very warm welcome here for returning guests - look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
31
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night, thanks to our daughter. It is a lovely house and really beautiful both inside and out. We were given a very warm welcome by the son, and he told us everything we needed to know. The room was clean, traditional and felt homely; the view from the window was stunning. The bed was comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. We ate a full 'Welsh' breakfast, but there were also cereals and fruit, and toast. Sarah was a great host, and made us feel very welcome. It was a shame we had to leave, but will definately visit again. Next time we may try the holiday lets. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scanner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Cottages, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Very welcome here at Highgate, even though it ws only one night, the village pub does as you say serve excellent food, and just under the mile from us up the very quet country lane, well worth the walk. Thank you for coming. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAERPHILLY WALES
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We received a very warm welcome from the owner who showed us around the room.
The room itself was very traditional with lots of beams ,roomy, clean with a tea/ coffee tray.
Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Outdoor converted holiday lets looked beautiful too. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NINJA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Cottages, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Our self catering cottages are all barn conversions, once the original farmyard to Highgate, they nestle in a cluster around the old farmhouse and are spacious, pretty and well equipped. They can be booked for short break, week-end break or a week which ever suits you best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2012

my partner and i stayed here for 1 night and soon wished we had booked for longer. Excellent accomodation, friendly and inviting. Will definately return and have recommended to friends and family. The house has beautiful views from every angle and surrounded by amazing countryside and a short drive from local pubs which are also worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Very nice place. Loved it as soon as I saw it.

Was a very nice room with twin beds for myself and daughter and a comfy cot for the baby.

Immaculate.

Lovely wet room.

Daughter needed to go outside for a smoke. The gentleman who owned the house lent her a coat. How nice. The owners were also very helpful with letting us use their kitchen to sort baby things out.

Stunning location.

Will definetely return.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms there could have different features so best to ask. I have ticked the 5 star f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaMLobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Highgate Cottages, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, we were deluighted to have you here and so very pleased that you found our accommodation to your liking, we do have a wide range of accommodation, serviced Bed & Breakfast, self catering barn conversion Cottages and a large house for group accommodation, all graded 5 star by Visit Wales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2012

my girlfriend and i stayed at highgate b and b for one night in may 2012. couldnt fault it. lovely location, welcoming owners, beatiful accomodation. fantastic getaway from city life

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night B & B break in Highgate House nr Newtown. Stayed in a lovely room with superb views of the surrounding hills. The house itself is set in lovely grounds and is ideally situated for visiting Newtown, Welshpool, Montgomery etc. Had two fine evening meals at The Bull and Heifer one mile away in Bettws Cedewain and The Lion Hotel in Berriew about 5 miles away. Great breakfast choices and like others enjoyed a natter with other guests at the breakfast table each morning. Also took advantage of the fine weather on the Monday to do a 6 mile walk from Welshpool including a visit to Powis Castle (spotted a Red Kite). All in all a very enjoyable break in a beautiful and tranquil setting. Mick and Sue (mature couple) Stoke-on-Trent

Room Tip: Room we had overlooking front garden and distant hills was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Cottages, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your generous comments, and sharing your pictures, we were delighted to have you here and so pleased that you enjoyed your evening meals in two of our village restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newtown hotels
4.1 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 16 in Newtown
105 reviews
1.7 mi away
Penygelli Apartments
Penygelli Apartments
#1 of 5 in Newtown
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Forest Country House B&B and Cottages
0.0 mi away
Gregynog Hall
Gregynog Hall
#3 of 4 in Newtown
88 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ty Coch Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate Cottages

Property: Highgate Cottages
Address: Highgate Bettws Cedewain, Newtown SY16 3LF, Wales (Formerly Highgate Holiday Cottages)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Newtown
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the extensive grounds of Highgate House, our cottages can offer you the peace and tranquility of the stunning mid Wales countryside, as well as a gateway to explore nearby Powis Castle, Lake Vrynwy, the Welsh coast, Snowdonia National Park and beyond. Our 3 & 4 bedroom cottages benefit from a private balcony terrace overlooking a tranquil mill pool and a stunning rotunda and patio seating area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Highgate Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highgate Cottages Newtown, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing