We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding reception in function room.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elephant & Castle Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Elephant & Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newtown
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding reception in function room.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The staff bent over backward to help us. The food was loved by all guests. The venue was beautiful and the gardens made an excellent back drop for the wedding photos. The upstairs chapel room was great. The staff even sliced up the wedding cake for us. We would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    42
    32
    19
    13
See reviews for
32
33
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Providence Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Lovely hotel, right on the river in the down town area of New Town. Our parents had a huge room overlooking the river and bridge which was very spacious and nicely decorated. Unfortunately our twin room was small and pokey but otherwise comfortable. The staff were all friendly and accommodating, breakfast each morning was plentiful and enjoyable. The only negative about this hotel would be the parking. Its a very busy hotel as its also attached to the local pub so parking can be quite troublesome in the rear of the building. We decided to just leave the car parked and walked as much as we could so we would not lose our parking space. We would definitely stay at this hotel again or use it as a base to tour other places in this area. Its in a beautiful part of Wales.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sissa1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights - a double was £60 for one person and then went up to £90 for 2 people sharing the room, I thought this was a bit steep considering we were sharing the space but wouldn't have minded if it had proved a special treat for us both.

The double bed itself was 2 singles pushed together with a large sheet over it - no nighttime cuddles in the middle of the bed with your other half - you'll fall down the sinkhole in the middle ! The shower was a limp and tepid, no bath, the heating didn't work, the wifi only worked when standing right by the door, there were only 4 channels on the TV and the Welsh speakers in our group were upset there was no S4C. The wine in the bar was awful and we were thrown out on no uncertain terms at 11.30 on the dot and there was no night porter or room service or minibar (at one point ran out of loo roll and had to steal some from the loo in reception !) The breakfast was fine but took a long time.

We found the gentleman who works behind reception and in the bar to be slightly unfriendly towards us, although other members of staff were great. All in all there are definitely some basic things that need tweaking with this hotel if it wants to justify the price they are asking. We have some friends who stayed in the much cheaper Bed and Breakfast up the road called "Yesterday's" and had a wonderful time (with a minibar!) for half the price. All things considered I wish we had stayed there !!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MissE89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newtown hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We decided to upgrade to a riverside room and we were so glad we did.We had the Laura Ashley room. The views were superb. The room was decorated in the Laura Ashley style,not the flowery stuff of the 80's but the modern large dark colours.The room was spacious and well fitted.The bed was large and very comfy.The lights were unusual,with little teardrops hanging down.There was a good teatray with biscuits and complimentary water. the bathroom was actually a wet room with lovely large soft towels and good toiletries.Just a couple of niggles,there wasn't a plug for the basin or a hairdryer,when mentioned both were resolved. apparently the mirror in the room had cracked and had been removed,but there was no replacement and you couldn't see the bathroom mirror to dry your hair. Breakfast the next morning was lovely . Well cooked and served and when some more was asked for,it was no problem. I do not want to put anyone off from staying here with a couple of negative comments.We loved our stay and hope to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Booked for 11 for mothers day this year. Big choice for all courses, inventive and creative, beautifully presented. The lamb, beef and pork were all succulent and the array of vegetables were a nice change to the traditional cauliflower and broccoli. The setting is superb, lovely view and nicely decorated. There is a safe courtyard that children can have a run around in and you can watch them. Have not thought about Sunday lunch in the Elephant before but would definitely recommend it and would go here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Powys
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I went with a group of Ladies to the Elephant and Castle for our Christmas meal. We had a drink in the cocktail bar before hand, which has a modern decor and over looks the River Severn. The meal was superb, I had eggs Benedict and bacon as a starter and land as my main course - both were cooked to perfection. I would have preferred a cheese option instead of a pudding because I don't really have a sweet tooth but that is my only gripe.
The waitresses and bar staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: I didn't stay the night but I understand from others that some of the rooms in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed in a refurbished room over looking the river. Very nice, good size room. Huge bathroom we which was a wet room. A huge space with little in it. Housekeeping had forgotten to replenish shower gel etc. Had two showers using midget piece of soap, the only cosmetic stuff in the room. I could have asked but wasn't sure whether I was entitled or whether they were being skimpy. No complaints re staff. All friendly and very helpful. Good position for restaurants. Nice enough hotel but 100 pounds is rather steep for this sort of premises and location. Frankly 75 would be more suitable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seedoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown
4.2 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gregynog Hall
Gregynog Hall
#3 of 4 in Newtown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
9.3 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
17.4 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant & Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant & Castle Hotel

Property: The Elephant & Castle Hotel
Address: Broad Street, Newtown SY16 2BQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newtown
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant & Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
The Elephant & Castle Hotel Newtown, Wales
The Elephant And Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing