We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Christmas meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Elephant & Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newtown
Newtown, Powys
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas meal”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I went with a group of Ladies to the Elephant and Castle for our Christmas meal. We had a drink in the cocktail bar before hand, which has a modern decor and over looks the River Severn. The meal was superb, I had eggs Benedict and bacon as a starter and land as my main course - both were cooked to perfection. I would have preferred a cheese option instead of a pudding because I don't really have a sweet tooth but that is my only gripe.
The waitresses and bar staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: I didn't stay the night but I understand from others that some of the rooms in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    45
    33
    19
    13
See reviews for
32
34
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed in a refurbished room over looking the river. Very nice, good size room. Huge bathroom we which was a wet room. A huge space with little in it. Housekeeping had forgotten to replenish shower gel etc. Had two showers using midget piece of soap, the only cosmetic stuff in the room. I could have asked but wasn't sure whether I was entitled or whether they were being skimpy. No complaints re staff. All friendly and very helpful. Good position for restaurants. Nice enough hotel but 100 pounds is rather steep for this sort of premises and location. Frankly 75 would be more suitable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seedoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed and the hotel for two nights for work. There has been list of work completed and the overall impression is a positive one. One downside for me was the location of the room I was in. The windows opened directly onto the fire escape meaning I was unable to leave windows open as I didn't feel too secure and the room was warm with no air conditioning or fan. Added to this was the fact that the room was directly above the coolers for the bar and the noise from them was deafening with the windows open. Once I managed to fall asleep (with the noise from the coolers) I had an excellent nights sleep. Bed was very comfy. Was a little worried about breakfast as I'd seen the hygiene rating was only 1 but breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly and approachable. Will definitely stay again but request a different room.

Room Tip: Ask for a different room if given Room 108!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhian71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A nice but basic hotel Eight of us plus baby had two nights in July for sons wedding Good Breakfast nice location. A bit dated we were in the Bothy rooms would stay again. Lovely view of the river from a modern dinning room. Hotel were very good about a number of changes to the rooms we booked,

Room Tip: The bothy rooms are set away from main hotel so are nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peatbogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Good food, breakfast good wholesome and a nice choice. Twin room was modern, clean, comfortable and spacious. The 'suites' were very big modern and clean. Nothing was too much trouble. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightonbus25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Clen room, booked a single given what look like a bunkbed cut in two,luckly never made a second row,so big enough for me but thos above 5.6 would find them cramped.

Room basic but clean , recently refreshed bathroom with new carpets.

Breakfast in the Restaurant above the Function Room ,very good & one can see the standard that ultimately they are aiming at here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlynnWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for the first time in years, on a Friday night. The refurbished rooms in the old original building are quite well done - much better than the old dark brown wood - but being above the pub bar, it was very noisy right through from 11pm to sometime past 4am. Local revellers heading home from other night spots wander past to go home over the bridge, and with the current heat wave we had to have the window open. Then from 5am the seagulls started squawking ! So sleep was limited. None of this is the fault of the hotel, but at the weekend everyone should ask for a room away from the main street. Breakfast was good, though.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the main street at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown
4.2 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gregynog Hall
Gregynog Hall
#3 of 4 in Newtown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant & Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant & Castle Hotel

Property: The Elephant & Castle Hotel
Address: Broad Street, Newtown SY16 2BQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant & Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Elephant & Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant & Castle Hotel Newtown, Wales
The Elephant And Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing