We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like others tale of two halfs - Improved Restaurant & Function Room and the rooms above the Pub.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Elephant & Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newtown
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Clen room, booked a single given what look like a bunkbed cut in two,luckly never made a second row,so big enough for me but thos above 5.6 would find them cramped.

Room basic but clean , recently refreshed bathroom with new carpets.

Breakfast in the Restaurant above the Function Room ,very good & one can see the standard that ultimately they are aiming at here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlynnWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for The Elephant & Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 170 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for the first time in years, on a Friday night. The refurbished rooms in the old original building are quite well done - much better than the old dark brown wood - but being above the pub bar, it was very noisy right through from 11pm to sometime past 4am. Local revellers heading home from other night spots wander past to go home over the bridge, and with the current heat wave we had to have the window open. Then from 5am the seagulls started squawking ! So sleep was limited. None of this is the fault of the hotel, but at the weekend everyone should ask for a room away from the main street. Breakfast was good, though.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the main street at the weekend.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here this week for a night with work, at first glance it looked great clean and modern , a great location standing on top of the river bank. we booked in and all was great. we were told we were in the Bothy rooms out the back across the car park. This was an old tudor ? Timber building and was in need of some serious refurb , as builders we joked about the stained carpet due to water coming in from someplace above, the room was very small but had a tv kettle and the normal things. The bathroom was very dated and mildew stained but plenty of hot water, more about that later. We ate in the pub and the meal was good pub food although waited an hour for it to come. That night we realised the walls were paper thin as you could hear the other rooms tv,s as if in your room so no chance of an early night. The beds were clean and new and linen new and clean also. The bed however was sloping as the floor sagged so much so you could feel you were rolling out of bed. We were woke at 6.15 by an alarm from the room above and this is were it got bizarre , we heard the shower go on above and the felt some of that hot water on us, it was running down the wall and splashing off a picture on to the beds, so unreal you had to laugh, it must happen all the time as the roof was patched with wall paper and the picture stained . We had breakfast in the main hotel and had a very nice full welsh , we saw that this building was of a very good standard and well fitted with function rooms, garden and I would guess great bedrooms to match, all I can say is not a bad place, but avoid the bothy rooms !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japtat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have had a very pleasant weekend at this hotel.There were eight of us (plus baby}We stayed there as we were attending our grandson's wedding at Abermiwl.The reviews prior to the present owner buying the hotel left much to be desired !!! In just four years he has performed miracles.He has nearly completed the refurbishment.The restaurant overlooks the river-what a view ! The welsh breakfast is something to die for-well cooked and presented.We stayed in The Bothy rooms-comfy beds,all the facilities we required.Loved our stay.Marina and Les Everton Sutton Coldfield.Marina9@btinternet.com

Room Tip: Bothy are quieter
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marina9_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the bothy, our room was fine on the ground floor, shower room a little small but servicable, shower power excellent, we stayed there with family and friends for a wedding and occupied 5 rooms. One was disappointing as no wardrobe. The others though dated we're clean and though I hate the word.... Characterful..! One room shower didn't work but was soon put right when reported. Staff very friendly, especially the chef who stayed overnight in the bothy due to a late night function, well cooked breakfast. I will advise that bothy is quieter than main hotel. Stay here if visiting mid Wales as plenty do do on evenings and nice location to explore

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A two night stay with family and friends for a wedding nearby. Great location to explore the lovely little town which has everything you would need for a short break. Stayed in the Bothy rooms across the car park from the main hotel which were not refurbished. Quaint and adequate. Well furnished. Bathrooms were dated but it was nice to have a bath. Hot water very plentiful. Giant towels which would have wrapped around me twice. Not over generous with complimentary soap etc and not enough sugar with the coffee and tea. The hotel offers a very relaxed, informal atmosphere with a very pleasant garden area down the steps from the main dining room. Not really good for anyone with mobility issues but the main hotel has a lift. Views from the dining room overlooking the Severn - stunning. A nice hotel to relax in and around - river walk right at the side, quaint church next door with gardens and benches. Adequate parking facilities. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in The Bothy for anyone with mobility issues. The stairs are steep.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxisales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were visiting Newtown and required a one nights stay. This hotels location was ideal for us and I viewed the previous comments posted and had mixed feelings about the hotel. Booked it and arrived to a friendly greeting... given directions to our room which overlooked the car park. The room was compact and comfy with nice decor. The bathroom was on the small side but no real probs...needed towel hooks and somewhere to put your showering gels when in the shower.The breakfast was 'top notch' freshly cooked and promptly served in a really nice room overlooking the river. The staff were excellent. Would stay again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: For a quiet nights sleep at the weekend I would opt for a room not overlooking the main street.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul7628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown
4.2 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
346 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
283 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Gregynog Hall
Gregynog Hall
#3 of 4 in Newtown
91 reviews
16.4 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
209 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant & Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant & Castle Hotel

Address: Broad Street, Newtown SY16 2BQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newtown
Price Range: $114 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant & Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Elephant & Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant And Castle
The Elephant & Castle Hotel Newtown, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing