We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barratts of Tyn Rhyl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barratts of Tyn Rhyl
Ranked #2 of 27 Rhyl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Memorable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Elvira & David are the perfect hosts. Made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived & made to feel special throughout our stay. Everything about the hotel is of the highest standard - comfort, cleanliness, food presentation & service. The breakfasts were amazing. Will certainly recommend to others and return ourselves.

Room Tip: All rooms are of the highest standard - not one better than the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyPem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
73
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Made to feel at home the minute, I walked through the door. The breakfasts were absolutely the best ever. Alvera and David were friendly and welcoming. Beautiful building steeped in history. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone and would definitely stay there again if I was back in Rhyl.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Barratts in July 13 and had a lovely time, the place is full of history and the rooms are lovely and traditional but the food is the star of the show. Breakfast is amazing and the evening meals are first class, food is locally sourced or grown on site and nothing is too much trouble for Alvira and David the couple in charge.

Would highly recommend as we don't think anything else locally comes close in terms of quality and service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzyw2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

How delighted we were to have found this hidden historical gem.
Such comfort , style and luxury.
Worth coming to Rhyl if only for this! Wish we could have stayed longer.
Unable to sample evening meal but breakfasts consist of individual stylishly presented fresh fruit, smoothies and honeyed yogurt. Have never seen or tasted such luscious blackberries!
On arrival a welcome pot of tea and light refreshment served in the cosy and cool panelled period room.
An absolute must if considering staying or stopping off in North Wales.

Room Tip: The double room we had had only a bath. No shower or attachment. No problem for us for only one nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonny604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my husband who travels for a living. We have stayed in some amazing hotels worldwide but none that make you feel like you've just stayed at a friends' house. A cup of tea and cake in the parlour on arrival courtesy of owner Alvira, toiletries in the bathroom for a long soak in the enormous roll top bath, sherry on the 'welcome tray' to indulge in before dinner, an evening meal of amazing food including a rhubarb tart beyond compare, freshly picked from the garden. To lull you to sleep there is an eclectic DVD collection to view in your room whilst drifting off to sleep dreaming about the promise of an amazing breakfast by chef and owner David which didn't disappoint. If you already have somewhere to stay on your visit to Rhyl at the very least come here for an evening meal, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyFromWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Barratts of Tyn Rhyl is a lovely old house with large traditional bedrooms with en suite facilities. We were in the area, visiting relatives, and I was accompanied by my mother. As they do not do twin rooms Elvira put us in the bedroom with a larger bed and it was extremely comfortable. The bathroom contained all the niceties required and there are tea and coffee facilities with chocolate biscuits and sherry! A lovely touch.

Nothing was too much trouble and both David and Elvira made us extremely welcome. The breakfast was excellent and we will definitely stay there again when we are next down in the area

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Barretts of Tyn Rhyl is a real oasis of comfort and cuisine.Sitting in the Oak panelled Library ,reading the hand written menus was like being transported back to a Jane Austin novel.
The Mr Darcy in question is the brilliant chef David Barrett who trained under Pierre Koffman [and it shows].The hardest thing about dining here is making a choice.If you are lucky enough to have booked one of the three lovely bedrooms for the night,the breakfast that awaits is exceptional. David and his lovely Wife and daughters deserve all the accolades which they receive ,and my only worry is that it will be fully booked next time my wife and I want to stay there.

Room Tip: It depends on whether you prefer a bath or shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.7 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
0.7 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
3.4 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barratts of Tyn Rhyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barratts of Tyn Rhyl

Property: Barratts of Tyn Rhyl
Address: 167 Vale Road, Rhyl LL18 2PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a peaceful acre of private grounds Tyn Rhyl is run by award winner Chef /owner David Barratt & his wife Elvira. David's cooking is imaginative generous & beautifully presented. His menu is adaptable & can be changed to suit personal /dietary requirements. The oldest house in Rhyl has paneled hall & snug, conservatory, restaurant & comfortable double ensuite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Barratts of Tyn Rhyl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barratts Of Tyn Rhyl Hotel Rhyl
Barratts Of Tyn Hotel Rhyl
Barratts Of Tyn Rhyl North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing