We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only service with a smile you will have a great big belly laugh.”
Review of Pier Hotel Rhyl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not only service with a smile you will have a great big belly laugh.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Budget only in cost only as the service is priceless We recently stayed at this adult only hotel for 4 nights and have never stayed anywhere better. The service is second to none and the owners will have you smiling though out your whole stay. Breakfast is superb and the rooms are clean and well decorated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curry_Muncher_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    40
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
151
34
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Pier Hotel. We arrived quite late at night and were slightly concerned when we walked into the lobby to find three empty beer barrels, obviously awaiting collection. The wall of the lobby was covered with pictures of soap/panto stars that had stayed there and had obviously enjoyed their visits. Our bedroom was no.9 and was on the third floor, towards the rear of the hotel, overlooking the back yard where four German shepherd dogs were enclosed. The view, or lack of a view didn’t concern us however, as we don’t tend to sit in our hotel room gazing out! The room had a double and a single bed which meant that space was at a premium. The shower/toilet room was quite tiny and the sink was in the bedroom itself. However, it was quite adequate and the shower itself was excellent in terms of cleanliness, water flow and controls. The furniture and décor were pleasing, the furniture was light-oak effect and in good condition and a good attempt had been made to colour coordinate the duvet covers, curtains, paint etc. The bedroom and toilet were immaculately clean – very important. The room was well equipped in terms of tea-making facilities, hair dryer, iron and board, mini toiletries etc. The towels were nicely laid out. We’ve stayed at many hotels throughout Europe and North and South America and can hardly recall having a better breakfast. There was an excellent choice of cereals and the mixed fresh fruit was first-class, a lovely mixture of apples, strawberries, melon, blueberries etc. We could see that the orange juice and the yoghurts were not cheap varieties as the labels were visible. Danish Pastries and croissants were also available. The cooked option was top class, cooked to order and piping hot. The quality of the ingredients was also first class, cooked and presented with care – the bacon was excellent, as were the other ingredients. The toast, white or brown, was lovely and thick and it was pleasing that the conserves were made in Wales and of excellent quality. The breakfast room itself was nicely decorated. Wayne and Will were excellent hosts, very friendly and helpful. Don’t be put off by the external façade which doesn’t stand out in any way – the three things which are most important to us are cleanliness, service and food and this hotel scores very highly on all three aspects. Another bonus for Welsh-speakers is that S4C (Welsh TV channel) is available, which can’t be said about many hotels on the North Wales coast. If you’re looking for a budget hotel which provides excellent value for money, my wife and I would certainly recommend the Pier Hotel.

Room Tip: If offered a choice, request one at front of hotel - view in rear bedrooms pretty poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymrobach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for a saturday night to attend a family party.Warm welcome from hosts Will and Wayne.Nothing was too much trouble.We had a room at the back which was very clean and comfy.We missed breakfast(late night before) and were not charged for our drinks in our room which was a very thoughtful touch.Nice to know there is somewhere where we can return to.

Room Tip: Our room was fine at the back if you dont want a view.Dont choose the back if dog barking will upset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Pier Hotel last Friday and Saturday to celebrate our 128th wedding anniversary and what a lovely friendly place.
A warm welcome greeted us, the lads are truly great hosts and always ready for a laugh.
Our room had a sea view, was immaculately clean and well equipped with whatever you may need? Tea, Coffee or the mini-bar.
The hotel bar is a warm and friendly place where you can easily slip into light hearted conversation with the locals and enjoy 'blowing the froth off a cold one' as our colonial friends say!
When it comes to breakfast! superb is all I can say, something for everyone the full English will certainly keep you going until lunchtime.
Wayne and Will fantastic hosts who really know how to look after their guests, in fact as they say 'Arrive as guests, leave as friends' so true.
Oh and to a previous post 'the seagull's were too noisy' it's the sea side it's where they live!
Conwy down the coast is well worth a visit too.
So in closing just a big thank you to Wayne and Will we will return at some point.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for 2 nights.We had been in the snowdonia national park at Betwsy coed for a few nights and was looking for somewhere else to stay for a extra couple of nights. This hotel was very clean and the room was comfortable,the 2 guys who ran the place were very friendly and made us feel welcome.We had an excellent breakfast each morning and the guys were on hand with advice of places to go.Our room had a mini bar as the main bar was closed on Sunday and monday each week,The 2 days we chose to stay! Would have loved to have had an evening in the bar as the local night life is very limited.If you chose to stay here you wont go far wrong .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The room was lovely and we had everything we needed in it. It was clean throughout the hotel. The breakfast.......You have a good choice of cereals to choose from and you can have a full english breakfast as well... plus toast. We did not need to eat till later on in the evening. Wayne and Will are great hosts and after your stay it feels like you have known them for years.

Room Tip: Sea view bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for 1 night while working in the area. The room was a budget room and a good price at £40.
The room was nice it was very hot when i stayed but opened the window and it never felt to stuffy. Had everything you needed in the room even a mini bar if you wanted to use it, the bathroom was massive. The only reason i could not give a 5 was the walls seemed to be really thin as i could hear everything going on next door. I think there was a public toilet on the same floor as there were lots of load door bangs but all went quiet about 22.30 so it was not an issue.
Breakfast was so nice with plenty of choice and the owners were really friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mich31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.1 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
551 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
608 reviews
13.5 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
569 reviews
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
488 reviews
3.8 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Hotel Rhyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Hotel Rhyl

Property: Pier Hotel Rhyl
Address: 23 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier Hotel Rhyl 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adult Only Accommodation, Please note we are an ADULTS-ONLY hotel and can not accommodate people under 18 years of age. Ideal for business traveller in the week, peace and quiet child free zone,with a friendly mixed open bar.Pier Hotel Rhyl is a Private Independent 10 bedroom bargain/budget town house hotel. We provide Bed and Breakfast and accommodation is for Adults only. We offer free WiFi connection, modern lounge Bar and Breakfast Room, all rooms are en-suite with shower or bath tub and have mini bars, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and free view t.v. please note room 12 our low Budget room only rate does not include breakfast in the low rate displayed, all other standard and premium rooms include breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Pier Hotel Rhyl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Rhyl North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing