We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great staff”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the hotel with friends and family. The hotel is in great location and can walk to the beach within 2 mins. Town centre is same distance with good shops and food. Breakfast at hotel was great with a lot to offer. Rooms are simple and clean with great views of the sea.

Room Tip: Great for family's and kids
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarkyukfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
There are newer reviews for Westminster Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 589 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Westminster during a coach tour to the area and had been told of mixed reviews but we certainly thought that if there were issues then things are certainly on the way up. For us the room (31) was clean, plenty of supplies for hot drinks, that were renewed every day, the bathroom was big enough and the shower hot. In time yes the windows could do with double glazing and the frames were a bit drafty but the heating was efficient. As we were on the front we had an excellent view. But overall the best thing was the customer service, very friendly owners and staff, especially in the restaurant, nothing was too much trouble. The young lady that served us most days for breakfast and dinner really was excellent, interacting, very pleasant and humorous and a good memory and service. The choices were also very good and the food freshly cooked. We would certainly recommend this hotel to others

Room Tip: Sea-view ones are great
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 14SteveW04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The room was very nice, but the toilet would not flush properly, I awoke in the middle of the night and it was freezing cold as there was no heating on. It took a long time for the hot water to become hot despite the sign warning of very hot water!!
Overall the hotel seemed really nice, can't comment on staff as I didn't see anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Just returning from a coach holiday where we stayed 4 days at the Westminster.
I will keep it brief-
The rooms seem to be varied in quality, some good, some not so.
The top floor needs a refurb- the bathroom is a shower in a cupboard which produced no hot water ( so four days with no hair wash :( )
The rooms on 4 th floor must be smoking as they smelt of ashtray.
Apart from this the food was perfectly nice and so were the staff.
Like I said you get what you pay for

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank little-kimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Old hotel refitted with most everything you need. Good en suite, multi channel TV, and drink making facility.
We had breakfast and evening meal deal which was good together with good service from friendly staff.
There was scaffolding at the back whilst we were there, but how else are they supposed to carry out repairs etc. and in any event it didn't inconvenience us.
Given that much of Rhyll is run down this place is a breath of fresh air.
RECOMMENDED!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel on a recent coach holiday. Our stay was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and really helpful nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was really good with 3 choices on each course. Rooms were clean and comfortable and en suite facilities adequate. Entertainment was provided for 2 of our 3 night stay which added to the overall good impression of the hotel. We would choose the Westminster again if we return to Rhyl for another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Visited the Hotel on a coach holiday,with about sixty other people.Found the welcome friendly and well organised.The room had a sea view and was clean and tidy.The meals were excellent,as were all the staff.One slight drawback was that the TVs in the rooms could not receive BBC channels(a common problem in the area).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edward p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
375 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
634 reviews
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
614 reviews
4.5 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
363 reviews
13.5 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Address: 11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Price Range: $92 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westminster Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing