We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We booked 3 nights with a KGB voucher and having read the reviews were not sure what to expect. Glad we ignored them the hotel was excellent. Rooms large and very clean ( we upgraded to a sea view and well worth it). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good. We will certainly stay again.
LB Leeds

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    176
    124
    57
    79
See reviews for
91
191
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The room was clean and warm, and the staff pleasant and helpful. The general state of the building is poor. The food left a lot to be desired. The location is pleasant, facing sea front, and close to local shopping centre. We booked with a coach trip so had no choice of hotel. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Bought a KGB voucher for a 3 night stay incl. breakfast, didn`t know what to expect, hotel quite dated but clean, lovely sized room and paid extra £30 for sea view and it was worth it. Great staff, lovely warm welcome from the receptionist on arrival (sorry we didn`t get your name) and the waiting staff were just as lovely, breakfast was speedy and delish. Many thanks The Duckworth family (Daughter had the pink hair)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foamysun69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Let's start with the positives although there aren't many. The staff really save this hotel from being lower in the ratings. The receptionists, the bar staff and the waitresses are warm, friendly and cannot do enough for you. The other positive is it's location, right on the sea front. Mind you, Rhyl is not the nicest seaside town I've ever seen and leaves a whole lot to be desired but if you want to stay there and want a sea front hotel that is what you have.
The downsides though are numerous. Do not accept a room on the fourth floor. They take you in by telling you it has a beautiful sea view. well maybe if you sthe and on the ledge and remove the lace curtains you can see the sea about a mile in the distance and the mudflats in the foreground. The worst thing about these attic rooms are the en-suite bathrooms. They are no bigger than a cupboard. You have to squeeze past the handbasin, do a swivel before you can use the toilet. You cannot bend in the shower unit to wash your feet and bang your head on the hand rail as you straighten up. My husband and I are not big people. Only 154 centimetres and less than 10 stones in weight. If you are bigger than this you stan badd no chance at all. The most annoying thing is that we paid exactly the same price as my sister who had a room on the first floor with a proper bathroom.
The pillows are a joke. They are around 1 inch thick, just like pancakes and 3 of them amounts to less than one normal pillow. The mattress had a very hard lump in the middle which felt like the springs coming through.
Breakfast isn't bad. There is a choice of cereal, porridge or yoghurt followed by an English fry up and lots of toast. Dinner is only ok. The choice is very limited and the portion sizes quite small.
The walls are very thin and we could hear our neighbours talking all the time. When the tv is on in the ssroom next door it is very intrusive.
The attic rooms have sloping ceilings that are low and my husband, who is short, kept banging his head. If you are tall avoid these rooms at all costs.
The curtains are very thin with no linings so I was glad that I had taken a mask with me. However on the second morning I forgot to put it away in the drawer and left it on the bedside table. that night when we returned to the room it had gone. I can only assume the cleaners threw it away although it was a nice fabric one and does not look disposable.
The entertainment is not up to much and there is very little in the town to do in the evenings.
If you have to be in Rhyl I would advise you to find a better hotel.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rhyl hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

They say never judge a book by its cover. Well believe me you are entitled to with this one. it looks a dump from the outside and it continues inside. They say first impressions count well the door handle doesnt work properly on the outside door. The reception is a bar an is utter chaos. The lift, yes just the one is no bigger than a postage stamp and can only fit 2 people or 1 person and a case. It also only goes to the 3rd floor. So tough look if your on the 4th floor you then have to carry your case up 14 stairs. The floor us uneven so if you have difficulty walking the hard lines. the room we were in well fair do's was clean but the bedding was ripped, the curtains didnt fit properly and wasnt attatched at the end. The windows were mouldy and filthy and one decent push they would have gone. Sea view yeah if the windows were clean but they haven't seen windowlene in years. The shower well what a farse you have to run the hot water tap in the sink first to get hot open the shower then turn the tap off an then its only luke warm. So forget about a hot shower. The towels smell horrible hence i went out and bought my own. The food well is average, edable but for £250 for 5 days is unacceptable. Tinned veg is a favourite of theres. Dont get me wrong the staff are lovely. The hotel is run down, shabby and my only advice to the owner is shut it down and completely gut the place and bring it ip to 2012 modern standards get out of the 70's that its stuck in. My advice to people stay away.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pazza78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We (3pers) stayed at the end of Aug 2012 for 3 nights bbem
The rooms , as is the hotel , incredibly "dated" , the staff being very friendly.
Food quality and quantity was very poor , even though we were staying on a package which included return travel and excursions so you might guess everything was done to a price.
I can appreciate the complexities of catering for fifty to a hundred people but the occasional fresh vegetable would not have gone unappreciated and something that was not processed or frozen and not purchased from the local corner shop would also have been appreciated.
Breakfast was just adequate , with porridge being the one redeeming feature.
Rhyl appeared to be closed after 6pm for the duration of our stay (31.08.12-03.0912

Room Tip: ask for one that has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEE029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

After spending a week at the westminster i thought the hotel was brilliant the staff were fantastic very friendly and always smiling i had a lovely room very clean also the food there lovely and there was plenty of it to and plenty of choice to i would stay here again anytime

Room Tip: i would ask for a room at the front of the hotel so that you get a great view of rhyl
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hafod Elwy Hall
Hafod Elwy Hall
#1 of 1 in Denbigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
19.1 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Westminster Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing