We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here with my husband on a Newmarket coach trip touring North Wales. (3 nights)
We were all made welcome on arrival. Room 70 ,that we occupied was on the top floor which overlooked the back, the room was very clean and tidy with a good bed, bathrooom was also quite big & also clean ,tv etc all worked .
The dining room was bright and airy as was the lounge and the staff very friendly, certain reception staff could have smiled more. All the meals in the dining room were good & the girls that served us were brilliant, very quick service & friendly.
Be aware that the lift to the first 3 floors only carries 2 people, 4 at a squash, (no lift to the 4th floor, just a small flight of stairs though) Night entertainment of Saturday & Sunday was brill.
The hotel is situated right on the front opposite the promenade which is very clean.
Overall a very pleasant stay at this hotel . Well done Newmarket Coach Holidays :-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 601 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

we have just returned from a 1 night stay and we booked 1 double room and 1 family room for 2 adults 2 kids, both rooms were clean and had everything needed, the double room was a smoking room as requested but my wife smokes and yes it did smell a little bit of fags but not a problem. the reception area and staff were clean and helpful and we checked in no problems, we were fortunate to drive into car park and find a space straight away but spaces did come available through out the day as people checked out. we had a drink in the bar at night as the weather was to bad to venture out the lager was a little dear at £3.50 a pint but it was a good pint of carlsburg and i paid £3.30 in a local for a bad pint during the day. cant coment on food as we ate out. we would return again no problem. the only thing i did not like was the weather. dave.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffordshireStokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

the overall stay me and my partner had was fine,the room was clean and tidy and smelled nice,clean towels,bedlinen.car parking was very small so ended up leaving car down a different road but was fine,staff were friendly no problems.we didnt eat there so couldnt comment on the food.could do with a paint on the outside of the hotel as it would make it more attractive on arrival if this was to be done,but overall fine,we are thinking of coming back to rhyl again soon and would stop back at the westminster hotel.rhyl its self was clean,and alot was new so the effort has been made to make it more appealing for a seaside resort,we didnt see any trouble,hardley any noise so all good.not to bad for a short break.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baggiejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

had booked late for one night, on arrival thought I had definatey parked in the wrong car park, had to pay up front as arrived late, whilst climbing the stairs to the room, feeling nauseous from the damp stale and rotten food smells I just knew it wasn't going to be any better once the door was opened. I said to my daughter just go straight back to the car as this may be embarrassing. I went straight back to reception and said i can't stay here it smell so bad< she said what do you mean? I repeated, It smells and its filthy! there was no argument and my card was refunded. I guess they are quite used to this.
Dont even think about staying at this hotel, It needs closing down before it falls down!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank ginahk0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I hate complaining BUT feel I must warn other potential guest about this hovel of a hotel. If you have seen the film The amityville horror and the scene where the flys are all over the window then you get the picture. Room had half a mars bar on the floor and the carpet was sticky so I just kept my shoes on at all times. To be fair ensuite was actually very nice great shower. Breakfast I tried once and as I don't like my food luke warm and swimming in grease I breakfasted elsewhere after day one. Alllthough I didn't have much contact with the staff I did hear some guy have a go at a guest for closing the front door, I heard the said member of staff say bloody coach holidayers I am sorry but its the coach holidayers that keep you in business. I highly recommend Rhyl its a lovley holiday town but for your own sakes DON'T pick the Westminster Hotel for your choice of accomodation

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lovelancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife & I stayed here as part of a Newmarket holiday trip to Portmerion & I can only say that Newmarket holidays really need to inspect this hotel & consider f it is in fact giving them a bad name. We had to use a block of wood provided to "chock" up the only sash window in room 20 in order to have some ventilation. The "En Suite" was a joke as you could not stand at the sink & shut the door at the same time, also when you had used the toilet it was so narrow that you had to leave the "cupbaord" to clean yourself afterwards.I can only say that this hotel is horrendous do yourself a favour & avoid like the plague.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank r1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night on the 9th July. Myself ,my husband and 9yr old son arrived and we .given room 9 which is on the first floor,the room was extremely clean and spacious,the view was beautiful over looking the sea.The usual tea/coffee making facilities,plenty of space in the room and a recently decorated ensuite bathroom.We didnt eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food.The staff were so friendly and made you feel very welcome.As for Rhyl itself,dont expect anything great,a lot of it is very run down,but they are trying to tidy the place up.The front has under gone a makeover and really is very nice.Great for a day or two if the weather is nice,but wouldnt really recommend if you want a week or more,there isnt an awful lot to do.The hotel itself has a few parking spaces but they fill quickly,no other free parking is near, surrounding streets are permit holders only,so you may end up paying quite a bit for the multi storey car park.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cupidsbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
380 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
641 reviews
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 2 in Colwyn Bay
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
628 reviews
4.5 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
371 reviews
13.5 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Address: 11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Price Range: $70 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westminster Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing