We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous chalette G1”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhyl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lyons Robin Hood Holiday Park
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Rhyl
Reviewed October 8, 2013

we arrived yesterday and was greeted presently however that as nice as it got accommodation is terrible I wouldn't leave my dog in it 6 of us thinking of leaving today no bowls plates Manny stench is worst I've smelt sofa full of rips sofa bed not big enough for an eight year old let alone a adult couple safety plugs not been checked since 2012 we all are extremely dissatisfied with this camp and don't recommend it to ANYONE

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loftyviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 454 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

I read all the other reviews before coming and to be honest I was dreading it.
We arrived the staff were lovely.
There was lots to do day and night for all ages.
The chalets were fine they are budget accommodation so you get what you pay for but there not as bad as the other reviews.
Me my partner and 2 children had a great time and have booked our next holiday.
It's a great place to go and have a family budget holiday.
The shop, chip shop, pub and laundrett are all excellent priced!!!
Had a amazing time x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monique p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

on arriving we checked in with realy friendly staff was given map of where chalet was when we pulled up out side there was a bag of dirty sheets out side on opening the door was shocked at the smell of urine and the bin full of rubbish , tea staind cups , dirtie cutlery well the bed was two double materies on top of each , heaters broken , poo marks over bathroom wall plus sofa was stinking and lumpie and tv was 7ft up on wall , coudnt report it as recepytion closedstayed 1 night but didnt sleep i was so upset by all this as it was my birthday so we packed up loaded car and drove around and reported it but got no joy . i will be ring hoseasons as its in the book and its no place for humans to stay ... dirty smelly disgusting place :( i left there in tears on my birthday :( thanx robbing hood for nothing but upset :(

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Went for a weekend break. Out of season. Had young children. Therefore confined to one clubhouse adjoining an arcade. Got busy and not enough seats. Get there before the bingo otherwise standing room only. Bingo about 8 ish. Bingo good fun. Decent money prizes. Nearon £200 for a full house. Friday night singer after bingo was great quality. Got the place moving and shaking. Arcade safe enough to let kids wander. Great fish & chip shop. Open till about half eleven. Reasonable prices. We had two silver caravans for our group. One was as plush as. Central heating, luxurious decor. The other a bit tired and worn out. But clean enough, microwave, television, oven and hob. Does the job for a short break. Two decent swimming pools. Not much in way of slides or kiddie attractions. Basic but clean and pleasant. The site was clean and tidy. Great base for rhyl. A bit like the day of the triffids visiting rhyl town centre however. Poor place. The sat night entertainment was bingo again. The football was also on and channels changed if you asked. Another singer. Okay. Clientele as expected. Chavtastic. But friendly folk out for a relaxing time. Not overrun with kids. Beer about £3.50 or so. Food available in club house till about 6. Reasonable price. Overall ok for a weekend. Staff friendly. Not sure what some people expect from a caravan park.........you get what you see. A static caravan, cheesy entertainment, people having a drink, and kids playing. Some people want champagne holidays for lemonade money. Would not hesitate to go back. It,s fine for a short break. Everything's there that you need. Golf course across the road and a nice sizzler pub up the road too. ..............

Room Tip: Ask for the updated caravans. Much more luxurious. Near the entertainment to avoid long walks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fair2middling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Well I had read all the bad reviews on here and was dreading this holiday, expecting to arrive amidst a scene from Harry Brown or My Big Fat Gypsy wedding, although at 38 quid it was cheaper than camping.! As we drove up to the chalets I expected 'the boy in the striped pyjamas' to be running out and Rutger Hauer appear from one of the chalets, yes it does look like a concentration camp but to be honest our chalet was great, it was clean, although the furniture was a little dated. The camp was very clean and the caravan site well kept, the nightclub was ok if you like karaoke, the other facilities looked nice enough. If you're having a cheap break you get what you pay for and expect to rough it a bit, if you're a stuck up snob it's not for you. I must say the staff were excellent and very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stokepunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a weekend stay. Our caravan was lovely and clean. The children really enjoyed themselves. Plenty of activities on the camp to keep them happy. Staff were helpfull and friendly. We will be returning next year :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophiejane26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

our opinion, we went for the weekend as it was my birthday. Me, my partner, 2 girls 11,3 and my parents.

Accommodation
Stayed in a 3 bed caravan, the worst anyone had to say about it was from my dad "there's no teaspoons". It was clean comfy and had everything you needed (there were teaspoons!!)

Facilities
The pool was ok, the arcade was excellent, upto date machines, adults area, grabbing machines - all seemed in good order. The clubhouse bar was reasonably priced (but small, if playing bingo arrive early for a table or stand up - bearing in mind it was out of season when we visited) entertainment staff did a decent job, ALL staff we encountered were friendly and efficient. The chippy / diner was tasty and, again, not massively over priced. The adults only bar was v good, well maintained snooker table, sky sports, welcoming!!!

I would agree with some previous reviews about some of the clientele, I'll say no more than, a bit rough is an understatement !!! But in saying that, we never felt "out of place" or intimidated and were quiet happy to let 11yr old knock around the arcade on her own.

location
5 mins from Rhyl sea front, not too bad, I would suggest Lyons Winkups park is better positioned.

Now for the negative, we had the opportunity to look around a chalet, my Mrs wouldn't of stayed in one, nor my mum. I reckon I could have managed it, but if you've booked try and pay for an upgrade NOW. As previous reviews, they are what they are small 50s, 60s possibly 70s chalets, if your after nostalgia (and possibly a cold) these are for you.

Would we return??? Certainly, but I think well give Lyons Winkups a try next time as we visited that site and, in our opinion it suited our needs better.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boltonsfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
1.4 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
386 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
2.5 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Marine Holiday Park
2.9 mi away
Lyons Nant Hall Hotel
Lyons Nant Hall Hotel
#2 of 4 in Prestatyn
178 reviews
15.7 mi away
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyons Robin Hood Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyons Robin Hood Holiday Park

Address: Rhyl Coast Road, Rhyl LL18 3UU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Rhyl
Price Range: $30 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyons Robin Hood is a great holiday park in a fantastic location, an ideal getaway for the whole family! Our pools, play areas, excellent entertainment programme, amusements and various eateries and places to have a drink mean there is always something to do!Our park has more facilities than most; as well as all the things you would expect; launderette and 24 hour security, we also have a great entertainment complex, large soft play area for the children, arcade and amusements open daily, a fantastic entertainment team with an all new entertainment programme for 2013! There is always something going on at Lyons Robin Hood; whether it's at our Sherwoods Sports Bar, Foresters Show Bar, O'Neills Irish Bar or Lyons Cabaret Club, there is something for everyone, all year round! We are also just minutes away from the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lyons Robin Hood Holiday Park Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing