We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See you soon :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Rhyl
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd week at golden sands this year, no complaints from us, lovely clean caravans lovely quiet park. Having a wide car we did need to park in the next row but only due to the fact we was worried people wouldn't get there cars past ours and didn't want to cause any problems blocking the road.The road into the park is a bit narrow but with common sense and careful driving this isn't a major problem. Fantastic park with great beach access. Fingers crossed we will be seeing you again in 2014

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claire Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Claire Y and Family,

Thank you so very much for your review, its great to have such positive feedback.
We hop that you get to book your stay for 2014 very soon - we have some special offer discounts on at the moment if you book before 31st Jan - you could save a fair amount!

So book soon (if you haven't already!)

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 805 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Well what can I say!! We have stayed at this park on our main summer holidays for the past 5 years and this summer was by far the best. The park is very clean and facilities are great, good food in the bar and the location is superb, 2 mins away from the beach. The park entertainment team are fantastic Kayleigh, Stacey, Paige, James and Carly certainly know how to entertain, they are fabbie with the kids our youngest Emily had a fantastic time and even our eldest joined in the fun. My husband who is well known as Mr grumpy back home lol even joined in and I've never seem him have so much fun. I cant recommend this caravan site enough. Big question will we go back next year?? ..... oh yes caravan already booked lol well worth the five hours drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fraserfamily70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear FraserFamily70,

Wow 5 hours drive! Thank you for continuing to travel so far to come and stay with us. We're so happy to read that you continue to choose Golden Sands and that we can continue to improve on one holiday to the next! 2014 surely is going to be even better? We have a brand new Sandpiper Restaurant/Bar for you along with brand new Entertainment Acts, (including Chico and Gareth Gates! :0) and some wonderful Gold stars Shows that are sure to go down a storm (if you got to see the farewell one - you'll no what I mean!.

We look forward to you coming back Fraser Family.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Yes , the map. You have to study it carefully to find golden sands , not a massive sign to the place and the entrance is sort of hidden in front of some shops.
A very nice clean friendly place. No entertainment on Sunday eve at the club which seems a bit odd , but , there's a pub , restaurant just up the road called the magpie and stump that will make you and your family more than welcome
But golden sands , fine , a nice place and I would certainly recommend it to others and would like to go there again

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Jimheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Jim Heath,

Many thanks for your review, its great to read that you had a good stay with us and we appreciate the signage isn't the greatest to the Park, though the best we can do with the local council guidelines and stipulations. We continue to update our map so that it is easier to read and understand, though from your review, seems we need to do another update :0)

We hope that we get to see you again in the future, you'll get to experience our brand New Sandpiper Bar/Restaurant. Oh and entertainment is limited during certain times of the year, though we generally do have Sunday eve entertainment.

Thanks again, Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Caravan clean, tidy and overall good accommodation. The park was as expected and appeared clean. Good location with beach access. Unfortunate about the ongoing work that greets guests at the front of the park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Sam C,

Thank you for your review, its good to read that your stay was a pleasant one. We apologise for the look on approach to the Park, its certainly something that we really wish was not the case, though we are the call of the local water authority to fix this issue and continue to chase for updates. However as it is just on the drive n, although it doesn't give the greatest first impression, it thankfully does not hinder from the rest of the services and facilities on park.

We hope that you get to visit us again in the near future, you'll see that we have a brand new Sandpiper restaurant/Bar, we cant wait!

Thanks again,

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having recently stayed at another lical site, we were eager to return to the area, but thought we would "upgrade" and book at Golden Sands.... we could barely have been more disappointed.

On arrival we found a group of foul mouthed teens running amok in the park, when asked to mind their words in front of my grandchildren, they swore and informed us of their right to do what they wanted, as they are owners! I looked for security, but was informed they did not start until 6pm!!

Having found our caravan, we decided to start afresh with a swim, sadly, this too was an experience not without fault, my husband is disabled and requires some assistance in dressing, on using the disabled changing room/toilet/baby change, we found that it does not have a lock, or, to be precise, a key. The key was not misplaced, it appears there is no key...it seems you have no dignity if disabled!

Overall we felt the lesser acclaimed, less expensive holiday, taken previously was far better and far better value. Just shows, stars are not everything.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1959Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear 1959Barb,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Golden Sands, albeit a disappointing read on our behalf that we failed you ad your husband during your stay. We apologise greatly for the experience you had with said teenagers, this is certainly not something we condone, yes we have Owners, but all who visit and stay are treated with the same respect and thanks for choosing our Park, there s no favouritism and certainly not any hierarchy. This will most certainly be investigated further.

It also is very disappointing to read that your husband was provided a changing room without a lock, there are no excuses for this and this has been rectified since your complaint.

From the sounds of your review, I doubt we will be seeing you in the future, though please accept our apologies for your experience and know that your feedback goes a great way to ensuring we continue to improve our services, thank you.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

It would seem that golden sands like to promise 24 hr security, but in reality the security guards finish at 2am. Then the thieves appear to pinch what they can. Call security after 2am and you get an answer machine. The site really aren't bothered as they already have your money

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank recuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Recuda,

We are glad that you opened an account with Trip Advisor to place your feedback regarding your stay and its disappointing to read that you were left to feel that we 'didnt care'. There is nothing in your review to give reasons to your disappointment and nothing in our complaints log from your stay detailing anything either. It is far from the truth that we 'Do not care' as we have your money. We welcome feedback and continually strive to improve on our service and are very open to put up our hands if we have made a mistake. Though without such feedback we are unable to make any necessary changes.

We are indeed in the process of reviewing our security and apologise if you feel you were mislead prior and during your stay.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

When we arrived, we were surprised by the building work but this was not a problem.We Found our way into the sandpiper and enjoyed a drink and something to eat before picking up the keys. Our Caravan was A4, very clean, nice kitchen and overall very clean. When extra bedding was required it came very quickly.The Entertainment was a little hit and miss, the performers were not very good, but we won on the bingo a couple of times.One Criticism, Tuesday, we drove into the ran-down Rhyl (shame!) and we couldn't find anywhere to eat so we decided to come back to the park. We Arrived an chose of the menu. But to our surprise, they were out of a lot of things, mainly spaghetti, chicken and white baguettes, and the meals also took a long time, over an hour and 20 minutes for a few meals. Apart from that, it was a good Holiday with a decent beach

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Thomas E,

Many thanks for your review, its good to read that you had a good stay with us. Yes unfortunately the building works on the main road into the Park do continue, we are recipients to weather and the tide coming in and out and the works you noticed upon arrival are below the ground, though we continue to push for this to be fixed, it is the council and local water authority that we are waiting on.
With regards to the Sandpiper experience, we are very sorry that it took this time, we do make all meals to order and fresh, though this is no excuse to the waiting time you experienced and this has been fed back to the retail manager. In February we are due to open our brand new Sandpiper, fully refurbished and looking wonderful, it will have a new menu, keeping n the favourites but having some wonderful tasty additions. f you return we hope that you will love the changes we have made.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
1.2 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
386 reviews
1 mi away
Marine Holiday Park
7.1 mi away
Presthaven Holiday Park
Presthaven Holiday Park
#1 of 8 in Prestatyn
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Talacre Beach Caravan Park
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
0.7 mi away
Berwyn Guest House
Berwyn Guest House
#1 of 26 in Rhyl
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl

Address: Golden Sands Holiday Park Foryd Road | Kinmel Bay, Rhyl LL18 5AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Rhyl
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl is a Caravan park which has been established for over 80 years. We invest heavily into the Park on an annual basis which enables us to provide top quality accommodation, facilities and service to you and your family ensuring that you have a 'Happy Holiday'. The choice of accommodation we have means there's something to suit all budgets throughout the year. We also offer caravan Ownership for those holidaymakers who just can't get enough, enabling them to return time and time again throughout the year with our 12 or 10 1/2 month licences to choose from! We have a strict policy in our Bar/Restaurant with no children under the age of 16 being unaccompanied by an adult. The same goes for our Swimming pool where no under 14 is allowed to enter the pool without adult supervision. These both enable safety and comfort for all guests. Golden Sands is the perfect location for exploring North Wales! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing