We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhyl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rhyl
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed may bank holiday weekend in a silver caravan, seemed almost brand new , very comfortable and clean.. Was quite a walk from facilities which let it down.. Club was ok shop ok chippy average.. We had a good weekend and weather was fantastic ..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 999-Medic-RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear 999-Medic-RK,

Many thanks for your review, we're glad to hear that you had a great stay back in May, hopefully you'll come back to us again in 2014 you'll definitely notice some positive changes! :0)

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    184
    88
    43
    35
See reviews for
477
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just got back from a week staying at this resort with three of our grandchildren, its long time since we had a holiday in the U K first impressions were that it’s a very difficult place to get into along a very narrow road only one car at once and no traffic control on the very long road into the camp, once inside the parking was not alongside the statics has at most sites so at times you had to park well away from where you were staying. The spaces between the statics were very narrow and didn’t give lots of privacy, although the gold one we had lived up to expectations. The swimming pool was far too small for a camp has large as this, it should be twice the size to accommodate all who want to use it, I can add nothing to the previous comments on the staff who run the place they do live up to their reputation. The club house facilities are O.K. and the entertainment was passable the Bingo sessions were well attended and the acts from outside were passable although the big coloured gentleman could try a bit of actual singing instead of blatantly miming all his songs. My only big complaint was the children’s disco bingo, the sessions were well attended and must have taken well over a hundred pounds, the kids really enjoyed taking part but if they were lucky enough to win a line or house the prizes were like something from a pound shop, they were pathetic. If you are taking these large amounts of cash from the kids then the prizes should have a relative high value, so come on fork out on something decent for the little cherubs to win.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToldoWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear ToldoWestYorkshire,
Many thanks for your recent review on your stay at Golden Sands. We continue to look into the entrance and some kind of traffic control especially in the busier periods though it is difficult with the location we have and in general most people are respectful to others and it doesn't cause a major issue so apologise if it did for you and your family.

I have passed on your comments regarding the prizes to the Entertainment manager.

Thanks again for your review.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We went here this week we paid for a silver plus caravan and what we got wasn't even a bronze it was 15 years old had no light covers stains on the carpet door handles missing apart from the accommodation the bars were cheap and the facilities were good lovely area if you stay somewhere else would not stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sharon I,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are disappointed to read that you were unhappy with the accommodation though must state in our response that none of our accommodation let out to holidaymakers is any where near 15 years old so we are a little confused as to where you came to this conclusion.

We wish you happy holidays in your future choices.

Kind regards,

The Golden Sands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was at Golden Sands 10-17 August 2013.
We were looking for a base for a family holiday with trips to nearby Snowden,Llandudno,Conwy and Bangor.
Golden Sands ticked all the boxes for us,location,direct access to beach,fun pool,childrens entertainment.
I was concerned that Rhyl is known to have been a little run down and the site is an independent family run,not one of the big groups so it was an unknown quantity.
However whilst Rhyl has sufferred in the last couple of decades there is an enormous amount of reinvestment happening in the area and seafront,3D cinema,leisure pool,amusements and of course great beaches,lots of sand hardly any shingle so perfect for beach games.
The Golden Sands site is not on the scale of a Haven site so dont expect the latest pool or showbar.However where Golden Sands scores is they do so much with what they have.
There is a more than adequate fun pool, 3-4ft deep, showbar ,playground,play area,organised games in and outdoors plus the Gold Stars entertainment team are as good as a Pontins line up(I rate them the standard to aim for) and the range of entertainment was,for my money,better than at Haven sites where after you have been to a few you find its the same every time.Also the childrens showbar entertainment is 6.30-8pm which is a good time.I had a look at the later shows and the Gold Stars were just as good at comedy,song,dance and games for an older audience.
Another bonus is the Gold Stars organise basic party games in the other. bar/restaurant/entertainment area during the inevitable 8pm bingo. There is also a reasonable 3 tier soft play area by the showbar entrance.
On site fish and chip shops are not always great but this one is top notch hitting all the buttons for cleanliness,quality and price;on this dont take my word for it but my father in laws,he was a top chef,used to have his own cafe,restaurant,take away,etc and we had food from there twice so it must be good if he says so. We didnt try showbar or cafe/restaurant food but what I saw looked ok and reasonably priced.By the way a pint of mild is £2.70, a house double and mixer £3.20 and a slush drink £1.50,similar prices to Pontins so that tells you where the business is pitched.
Caravan was fine,booked a 3 bed and was allocated a 4 bedroom two toiletts one.Very clean and supervisors came round later to check all customers were happy with their caravans.Arrived on a sunny day,key allocation was done outdoors as caravans were available post cleaning,looks chaotic but the system works well,this was also done by the multi talented Gold Star Entertainment Team.
Walking distance along the seafront was Knightlys Fun Fair,very good value on a wristband at £12 unlimited rides all day.Not a big funfair but big enough,made my 7 years of age daughter happy,nice staff there too check out the Knightlys website for details.
Final plus the location,it really is direct beach access,dont think there is another site that has this plus entertainment facilities,also its only minutes to the A55 for other local attractions.
Criticisms that dont detract from rating;gents toilets next to slot machine area(thankfully not a huge slot machine area)sufferred badly from customers leaving taps on,wrecking a hand dryer and leaving nappies by wash basins(what the men are doing using nappies I dont know)but staff attended to this once I notified them.
Also this site will not be for everyone(what is?) some will say its a little rough,well I'd say most of the customers are salt of the earth Brits,a lot seemed to be from Greater Manchester and Liverpool and some had tattoos and some wore vests in the showbar and some were balder than me,and if this kind of working class(like me) holiday and entertainment venue/environment is not for you then maybe look for a quiter site without the entertainment.
Tip for future booking,I went on Golden Sands website about 3 months in advance and saw a price of £650, I checked Hoseasons site and got it for £470. Whilst onsite the Gold Stars told me Golden Sands will now match prices seen elsewhere as they do place holidays with agencies like Hoseasons.
Also if arriving by car via M56 allow for delays on A55 as it is the route to Prestatyn,Rhyl,Colwyn Bay,Llandudno,Bangor,Snowden and Anglesy.
I would recommmend this site to anyone as long as you know what to expect,this is not a quiet 5 star hotel ovelooking the sea,its a lot of fun good value holiday site overlooking the sea in a very good location and the Gold Stars are a really top entertainment team(trust me I work in that field see www.psychicevents.co.uk if you want proof) and none of them paid me to write this nor was I offerred any other kind of favour from the ladies(or the men).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veryhappy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Veryhappy54,

Many thanks for your very in depth review, hopefully it will help many others who are thinking of coming to the Park. We hope that you return to us too!

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very un-organised upon arrival, I asked a member of staff the age children can go to the pool alone & was told 8, the following day our 11 year old was turned away because they have to be 14!! Staff were unfriendly & all very young! The Sandpiper was unclean & smelly, the tables were sticky & unhygienic! The sports court was too small & if the ball came out of the court the family in the caravan opposite would send their dogs out to bite the footballs ( surely they should ask to move location of caravan!) The chippy was good but not open all day, the shop was poorly stocked & overpriced! We had a gold caravan which was very good, however we were in the middle of lower rated caravans & families with approx 12 in each caravan & were very noisy!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Nicola M,

Thank you for your recent review, and your feedback through Hoseasons of whom you booked with. I have to say we are very disappointed with your feedback and especially your grading. In response to your points I would like to provide our take on them:

We are very stringent on health and safety in and around the park and especially the pool. OUR INSURANCE COVERS US FOR CHILDREN 14 YEARS AND OVER TO BE UNACCOMPANIED in the pool - therefore any child under this age is not allowed in the pool without an adult and all staff members know this and would never promote otherwise.
Our Sandpiper Bar/Restaurant holds the highest grade of hygiene though we apologise f you found the table you sat at to be 'sticky'.
t is most disappointing to read that you found all the staff to be unfriendly, this is certainly against the norm we receive from guests and hopefully other readers to your review will read other reviews on our page and see that this isn't the norm. Our team throughout the park vary in age from 18 - 60 years though not sure the relevance unless this affects the service provided.
The sports court is of average size and we would never allow our Owners to let their dogs off the lead - and they would most certainly lose their licence if they were sending their dogs out to catch footballs!

It is clear from your review that you did not enjoy your time at Golden Sands and if we failed in the service expectation then we are truly sorry, though in the main your comments are in the most unfair and untrue.

We wish you many happy holidays in the future wherever you may choose.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at golden sands for a week in July and had a fantastic time. We ate at the chippy the fish was fantastic (must try) the girls were lovely too. The shop is well stocked and the staff very present and helpful. The entertainment was brill. Overall I had a fantastic holiday already book again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahgrifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear SarahGrifs,

Many thanks for your recent review, its great to read that you had a great stay, We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were optimistic going to Golden Sands as the reviews are pretty good compared to other sites, so we thought we would take a chance, especially at the price and off we went.

It was a little disorganised when we arrived as it was not clearly sign posted to where we were checking in, but the staff all over the sight were extremely helpful and at 1.45 after a little delay we were off to our caravan. Now first suggestion, if you have a little one take a pushchair, do not forget it, as their new sight Beach Field is a fair walk, so anyone with walking problems like myself let them know before you go, although as soon as we told them that our caravan was too far away they changed it, although first caravan was a 4-bed and beautiful. The next caravan was in F row, a lovely caravan, very clean and comfortable for our week stay. The only thing missing was a little plastic table and chairs to sit outside, so take camping chairs if you want to make the most of the sun outside your caravan. The site is a little overcrowded where we were as it was so close and unfortunately the caravan next to us had a heard of buffalo's running thought the caravan every evening, which felt like it was running through ours!

Stacey and James in the entertainment team were the most remembered, and we thoroughly enjoyed the sense of humor from the children's entertainment and James' competition time. We did bingo every night and thought it was brilliant that the children were taken next door to the Sandpiper for the hour the bingo was on for fun and games with the entertainment team. A brilliant idea rather than gagging your children! The cabarets were a little hit and miss the Take That tribute band were amazing and a little hard to follow up after your first night!

The amusements were plenty enough for the children and everything was kept clean. We went swimming once and it was clean, although it is done on a wrist band scheme so that everyone gets a turn as it is so small, but on the plus side there are gates all over the site to access the beach for crabbing etc.. and the beach was lovely, one of my children was even swimming in the sea yesterday.

Everything is within walking distance, Indian Buffet, Chinese take-away (recommended) the restaurant on site is nice, we had breakfast. Towyn is a lovely little town with enough shops, amusements, pubs, cafe's and fairs to keep your kids amused. Knight's fair was £8 for a wristband for an afternoon which is well priced and this is next to Beach Field site of the park.

We are booked to go back again next year. Our only suggestions for the sight would be better organisation of the adults games as they were a bit hit and miss. Also the Kids Den was often shut, and we took the children twice to take part in the kids activities and there was no one there. So i think the entertainment team could do with a little more of an introduction when people arrive on the Saturday as to where to meet for kids club, or even a welcome meeting for kids going.

Room Tip: If you have lots of children that like to run around Beach Field is brilliant but don't forget y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlysdevil1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Charleysdevil1980,

Thank you for your review, it was great to read, I will most certainly pass on your comments to the team especially the details regarding the Children's entertainment.

We look forward to you coming back next year and hopefully seeing the change!

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
2.0 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
4.6 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
7.9 mi away
Presthaven Holiday Park
Presthaven Holiday Park
#1 of 7 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl

Property: Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl
Address: Golden Sands Holiday Park Foryd Road | Kinmel Bay, Rhyl LL18 5AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rhyl
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl is a Caravan park which has been established for over 80 years. We invest heavily into the Park on an annual basis which enables us to provide top quality accommodation, facilities and service to you and your family ensuring that you have a 'Happy Holiday'. The choice of accommodation we have means there's something to suit all budgets throughout the year. We also offer caravan Ownership for those holidaymakers who just can't get enough, enabling them to return time and time again throughout the year with our 12 or 10 1/2 month licences to choose from! We have a strict policy in our Bar/Restaurant with no children under the age of 16 being unaccompanied by an adult. The same goes for our Swimming pool where no under 14 is allowed to enter the pool without adult supervision. These both enable safety and comfort for all guests. Golden Sands is the perfect location for exploring North Wales! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing