We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sun holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Rhyl
Reviewed July 14, 2013

this is our third "sun holidy" first in Wales, booked in a bronze caravan (we believe its only to sleep in) we got the most wonderful caravan ever, it was like a brand new one. We were in K6 which was perfect to get to the shop, entertainment n swim etc plus it only took us 3 mins to get to the sea/beach. The caravan was a 6 berth, big double bedroom with lots of storage space, a triple wardrobe even a door to shower room (en-suit), the twin room was a decent size too, in the living room the two seater settee was a double bed, but didnt use it, just slepted on settees. there was 6 adults in our party, only thing we found we couldn't do was to sit altogether at dining table. what would be nice is if there was a hire shop, as we had fantastic weather there was nothing to sit on outside van, so used a blanket out of car. we went a walk across the beach to Abergele 5 miles but was lovely, came back on open top bus. We all would come back to this park, all staff were very polite and friendly. the park was lovely, clean and tidy. Fish shop on site was clean, we had all fresh food cooked while we waited. Thinking of doing price match for this time next year, saves going through saving vouchers. Fantastic from start to finish. Thank-you x The Often family Derbyshire

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PGSMITH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Often family,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay. Its great to read you all had a great stay, it really helps giving the guys a pat on the back for helping another family have a 'Happy Holiday'.
Re your comment based on the sitting at the dining table we have in the past fed this back to the manufacturers and will ensure that we do again, after all that's what holidays are all about - spending time together!
We hope to welcome you back to the park again very soon.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 809 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had a great 4 days at golden sands july 2013 lovely clean bronze caravan and had everything and nice to have net curtains. The site was clean and tidy and the staff very welcoming. There are three accesses to the beach which is good. We had hot weather so didnt go far out of rhyl. Site was good for all ages of people.Would definately go there again. A few shops were closed down in ryhl but still had plenty of shops on the seafront and car parking next to the beach which was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Pam J,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, its great to read you had a fab time, we hope that you come back to stay very soon!

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Good value for money through 'Breakfree Holidays'. The park is clean and there are a few entrances to a lovely beach. We booked this as a base to travel over North Wales which we like. The caravan was better than expected although lacking in kitchen equipment such as a waste bin, cutting board and oven trays. I'm sure if I had reported this to reception they would have resolved the matter but I compromised! It could also do with a 'deep' clean but it was OK.
The reception staff were very nice, especially Michelle. The main complaint I have is the opening/closing time of the swimming pool (10.00-5.00). I would have liked to have gone for a swim in a morning or early evening. Perhaps there could have been an hour just for adults? I spoke to some other people who felt the same about this. The showbar is a lovely room and the entertainment was OK.
I would stay on this site again and we were offered the same time next year for the same price as this year but, unfortunately, we are unable to go that particular week.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SthelensLasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear SthelensLasp,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our park on your recent stay with us. Its great to read you had a good time. re the swimming pool opening times we are about to extend these ready for the peak season as generally we have opened them on the hours they are due to the demand historically, though your comments have most definitely been taken into consideration.

If you do wish to come back then booking now means you get the rates in 2014 at this years prices, so it'll be cheaper! :0)

We hope to see you again soon.
Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We've been to a few parks in North Wales and decided to give this a go based on its "5 star" rating.
The park itself is very clean and well maintained as was our caravan, and sits at the head of a lovely beach.
However the entertainments complex was very basic in comparison to other parks in the area. The Sandpiper bar was a bit tired and stank of damp, which put us off eating in there.
The fun pool is very small, as was the amusement arcade. The showbar was okay however was nothing special and we tended to go off site in the evening.
Overall the accommodation and park grounds are very good but the facilities on site were very basic and I wouldn't say this was a "5 star" park, not in the same league as nearby Presthaven Sands

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greigboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Greigboy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay to our Park. We're sad that you didn't enjoy all the elements we have to offer though we are planning n refurbishing the Sandpiper in the Winter ready for next season. Though we are not and do not promote ourselves as a 5 star park.

We hope you enjoy your next choice of holiday destination, it would be great to have you back at Golden Sands.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Not being one for caravans or even holidaying in this country I was very surprised and overall impressed with the time we had, we booked a bronze caravan through "sun holidays" and wasn't expecting a great van after reading past reviews... We arrived at 4 after a long drive and the staff were very pleasant, we were given the map and key to the van and off we went, ours was a long way from reception I must say so I had to drive back to go swimming and for the bars and arcade, might jus be me being lazy but it is quite a walk, especially with a pregnant mrs and 2 kids :) anyway upon arriving at the van I was gobsmacked at the cleanliness of it, and it's been at least 25 years since I last stayed in one, it was pretty much brand new, lovely clean cooker(looked like it had never been used) and the master bedroom even had an en-suite lol something I don't even have at home! It had everything we needed, pots pans cups plates etc so all good! All in all we had a great 4days, weather was to be expected though but that's what you get in the uk!
Now then.... Rhyl itself is tired, you can see that there trying, injecting money into the seafront with sea defences and nice promenades but the buildings are in a sorry state and it really shows :( it has potential I'm sure but it's gonna take a while to get it up to scratch! We jumped in the car and went along the coast about 20 miles to a beautiful town called Llandudno :) a proper seaside location with lots to do for the kids, very beautiful and picturesque and even abit of sand on the beach :) definitely worth a visit in my opinion! So all in all we enjoyed ourselves and so did the kids which was the main objective, jus wish the weather was better that's all!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M4r7yn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear M4r7yn,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay here at Golden Sands. What a lovely review to read too! Caravans certainly have come on over the years, with double Glazing, central heating, ensuites and even some with baths! :0)
Its lovely to read that you and your family had a great stay and we hope to welcome you back again next year.
Rhyl is indeed tired but there s so many other places to visit around the area- north Wales in general is beautiful. so hopefully you'll get to explore more places if you come back :0) Oh and we'll do our best to book in the sunshine :0)

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

we have never been here before but wasnt disappointed the holiday park was lovely and clean an tidy. we had a silver caravan an it was clean and had all the things we needed. the staff were all friendly and helpful im happy to say not even the smallest children were left out of the kiddies games an this was important as we took our 2 year old grandson. a good value family fun holiday suitable for all from 0-90 i have already recommended to a friend and will probably bre back next year with both grandkids

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Peta C,

Many thanks for your review, its lovely to read that you had such an enjoyable time, we look forward to welcoming you back to the park next year.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Been to Golden Sands again JUNE 22 - 29. With the exception of Stacy there were all new Gold Star entertainers for the children and adults. I can honestly say they NEVER let the quality of entertainment down and were magnificent with the children. The caravan for a bronze was spacious clean lacked nothing for a family holiday. My wife and I who are OAP's were treated with respect by all staff. We took our daughter and husband and 2 grandchildren who hadn't been there before and they are now bboking again for a further visit there. For OAP's and Family holiday I once again would highly recomend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric24244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Eric 24244,

Thank you for writing your review on your recent stay with us. How lovely it is to read that you and your extended family had a great time. I shall certainly pass your comments on to the team to give them a boost!

And we look forward to welcoming your family back to the Park very soon (and yourselves too hopefully :0)

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
1.2 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
387 reviews
7.1 mi away
Presthaven Holiday Park
Presthaven Holiday Park
#1 of 8 in Prestatyn
1,946 reviews
1 mi away
Marine Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Talacre Beach Caravan Park
0.2 mi away
Sunnyvale Caravan Park
Sunnyvale Caravan Park
#1 of 2 in Kinmel Bay
84 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl

Address: Golden Sands Holiday Park Foryd Road | Kinmel Bay, Rhyl LL18 5AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Rhyl
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl is a Caravan park which has been established for over 80 years. We invest heavily into the Park on an annual basis which enables us to provide top quality accommodation, facilities and service to you and your family ensuring that you have a 'Happy Holiday'. The choice of accommodation we have means there's something to suit all budgets throughout the year. We also offer caravan Ownership for those holidaymakers who just can't get enough, enabling them to return time and time again throughout the year with our 12 or 10 1/2 month licences to choose from! We have a strict policy in our Bar/Restaurant with no children under the age of 16 being unaccompanied by an adult. The same goes for our Swimming pool where no under 14 is allowed to enter the pool without adult supervision. These both enable safety and comfort for all guests. Golden Sands is the perfect location for exploring North Wales! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing