We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl
Nearby Hotels
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plas Ifan(Prestatyn)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talardy Hotel(St. Asaph)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveler rating
424
217
98
53
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
424
217
98
53
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssandpiper barswimming poolon sitecentral heatingsoft play areachip shopgold caravanon arrivalgold starholiday parkdisco bingogreat holidaylovely beachsun holidayfree upgradefish and chipsbed caravan
Filter
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 834 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

1 - caravan (K3) had a number of substandard inc marks on walls, broken toilet roll holder, no chain on sink plug, trim coming off, chipped dinning table but more important gas fire took 10 min to get to come on and reported and not fixed even after 5 days the toilet when flushed leaks a little.

2 - pool time of 11 to 3 when pool staff at pool on some days from 9 to 5 so no reason to restrict people coming in to such a extent going messes up your day to go to other places
this also has the complex on some days not opening till 11 am

3 - kids show 7pm and 7.30pm not being done as staff just could not be bothered to go and persuade kids to join.

4 - the owners had party and trashed the place and took over every room leaving no were for non members to go

no door staff when opened and difficulty finding any staff, thing on floor still there for over 2 hrs uncleaned

I have been to many sites at this time of yr, low season due to cost and this is the 1st that has had nothing ever single site we have been have done more at this time
no kid characters, no shows, rooms closed, poor times. really makes you feel like they dont want you on the site

You can say its low season but the park had a good number of kids there the main reason is that parents did not want to disappoint them so took them else were to keep them entertained
we were provided with a list of what was on but most of these items were just not done

the only good things were - a good clean outdoor play area and the pool staff with a clean area other than the work required on the ceiling which has missing panels.

All faults were told to the correct staff and nothing was done when we were here about it.
We were not the only people who had problems with caravans or the sites services
I am not one to put down a site but there was so many things which were so far from what was expected i had to put them on here

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Scorpian999,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review based on your recent experience at our Holiday Park. Its certainly disappointing for us that you did not have a Happy Holiday with us and I have detailed below responses to your points in the hope that we could rectify your opinion of our Holiday Park.

1 - Caravan not up to standard - We carry out a check of all caravans several times a year in order to ensure that they are up to standard we would be proud of offering to our holidaymakers so I can only assume that the areas you comment upon are recent. However these should have been noted by our Housekeeping team and especially if you had reported the issues rectified at the time of your break, so I sincerely apologise that this was not the case and it affected your time here.


2 - Pool Opening Times - The pool opening times have been set for the time of year and the demand required. It is puzzling to note you state that the team were there from 9 - 5pm as this simply was not the case.

Complex Opening times - again time openings are based on the time of year and we communicate this in our confirmations, website and other communications around the Park.

3 - Children's Entertainment - The entertainment provided is dependent on the numbers of children that turn up - for example it would be difficult to hold a dancing comeptition when there is only one child. However it is our policy to wait for a period of time to see if any further children show and if not the Goldstar team member will stay around in the facility speaking with guests and playing their choice of music and interacting with any child that is there. There is NEVER an element that any of our Entertainment team 'could not be bothered' they are a lively, friendly, energetic group with their main objective to get smiles on people's faces and assist in them having a 'Happy Holiday'

4 - Owners Party - I have to state that this element is unfair and untrue. We, like many other Holiday parks have Owners of Holiday Homes. We provide a calendar of events for owners Only as a benefit to their membership of Golden Sands.

The Owners Party of which you speak was based in one of the two Entertainment rooms we have. However we cannot and would never stipulate to Owners that they are not entitled to choose where they wish to spend their evening - whether it be at the specific Owners Party or watching the cabaret act in the other room. However in response to your comment, the Owners Party was allocated in a room seperate to other acts provided.

5 - Staff are placed at the entrance to the Complex door each evening, so I apologise that this was not the case for you and your family and have brought this to the attention of the General Manager along with your comment of the flooring.

6 - Characters/Shows/Rooms Closed etc. - First & foremost we are a privately owned Holiday Park (not part of a chain) and it is our objective to ensure that all who come to stay have a 'Happy Holiday' and look to return. So we most definitely want you here. But no we do not have a character, but we most definitely do have a wonderful, friendly team.

However, like any other business, we have to look at the demand as we have to pay the team (as much as they are fab - they don't do it just for love! :0), but we also want to ensure that Holidaymakers get value for money. Looking at the demand for our facilities/entertainment we then provide it accordingly dependent on the time of year. We openly communicate that in the Winter period, facilities and entertainment are minimsed so we are sorry that this is something that was overlooked prior to your arrival.

Thank you again for your review, we apologise for where we did not fulfill your expectation and more importantly where we failed in providing a basic standard.
We wish you great holidays in your future choice and if you ever choose to come back here, we are sure you will notice a difference.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I visited golden sands a couple of years back with my family and loved it a really nice small site with easy access to lots of amenities would definately go back especially as now as I have my little boy there is lots for him to do. Also a lovely little bakery near the market in towyn is woth a visit

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla_Doig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Carla,

Many thanks for your review, hopefully you'll be coming back to stay this year?? :0)
We have new Swimming pool changing rooms and a fab Ents team who are as exciteable as ever! As well as all the old friendly faces! so we hope to welcome you back in 2013 (our 80th birthday!)

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Being a bit of a holiday snob I was slightly taken aback when some very well meaning friends said "their treat" they had booked us all into a caravan in Rhyl. I'm not a caravan phobic as I own a beautiful caravan in Oxford it was the thought of a huge commercial holiday site staying in a caravan used by all and sundry. The old adage never judge a book by it's cover certainly applied. We went the first week in March I was expecting to be cold - wrong. The heating was on when we arrived and the caravan was lovely and warm. It was clearly quite a new caravan and very clean. If it wasn't for the cigarette burn on the settee we could have been the first in. We were in a bronze caravan but it felt like much more. I could probably criticise the lack of a coffee table and side lights but I would imagine like the cigarette burn people just do not respect rental properties. Because of the time of the year we were not inclined to want to be outside much but had it been that time of year there is not a great deal of space outside your caravan but you can park the car by the caravan so you lose one but gain another. Very close to a lovely beach. The on site facilities are very clean and has everything you want. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Children running about in the bar is not to everyone's taste and is hopefully discouraged when it gets busier. Sadly Rhyl itself is very run down but we still managed some lovely days out in the beautiful surrounding countryside. If you are looking for a British beach holiday you could certainly do a lot worse.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Wendy F,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with your friends at Golden Sands. It's certainly great to read that you had an enjoyable break and that your initial thoughts were erased.
We continually strive to improve our offering so we are glad that we exceeded your expectations.
The nearby town of Rhyl is indeed sadly very tired and there are plans for the town to be redeveloped though to the other direction of our Park is the beautiful and historic Llandudno amongst a great many wonderful areas of North Wales to explore so we're glad you managed to discover these too.
Thanks again for your review, we hope you get the opportunity to return in the future and thank you for recommending us to others.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Overall excellent stay we stayed in a bungalow 2bedrooms livingroom/kitchen clean modan.
Th . Entertainment complex bar and restaurant was clean friendly and very welcoming we was in low season so there wasn't many people in the evenings in the bar so there wasn't much entertainment which we was ok with staff tho keep us company talk to us and being very friendly so thanks bar and entertainment staff.
The pool complex was clean was a bit tidyered looking but they was doing sum work to the changing rooms the staff where friendly tho.
So overrall no major complete with the park and I will be going back.
Once again thank you to all the staff for making are stay great from the bond family

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bond2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Bond2010,

Thank you for your recent review - its great to read you had such a fab time.
We are looking to refurbish the pool area at the end of this season, though additiona changing rooms have been added since last.
We hope to get to see you again later on in the season.

Kindest regards,

the Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

got a really good deal here for the feb half term. we were a party of six. four adults and two children. we stayed in a "silver" static caravan and it was lovely. Extremely clean, warm and spacious. We have stayed in many holiday parks including haven and butlins and i would say that the accomadation here was cheaper and actually a lot nicer. The park was quiet. apparently 95% of static homes are privately owned and not all get sub let.
The entertainment wasnt the best but then, for a small site, in feb (bearing in mind most camps didnt have their entertainment open at all) it did the job for the kids. There was not a lot really open in the surrounding areas at this time of year, but our site was right by the beach. our caravan was litterally 30secs away! It was a lovely beach with loads of sand, shells, pebbles and rock pools to explore.
for those who dont drive, asda is just a short walk along the sea. infact...it takes just as long to drive there.
On site there is a lovely chippy and unlike most camp shops, its reasonably priced and well stocked. They also give generous portions. There is a little shop and an icecream parlour (this wasnt open when we were there)
I can imagine that in the summer months the site may be a bit more lively and if it had a few more activities it would definately be rewarded five stars from me xxx

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hi Jessicaford,

Thank you for sharing your review with us regarding your recent break away at Golden Sands. Its great to read that you and your family had a good time.
February is the first month of opening to Holidaymakers and with it being a Winter month the Park isn't at its busiest so we do keep entertainment and facilities open to a level that accommodates the number of holidaymakers and owners on park.

We're glad to read that it didnt deter from a good break for yourselves and hope that you will think about returning in the near future.

kindest regards,

the Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews