We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Special house in a beautiful location”
other travelers have booked this property
Stunning Edwardian Villa with beautiful gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Edwardian Villa with beautiful gardens
A rather lovely part of the world! Hafod Cae Maen (highlighted) sits above Portmeirion Village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Stunning Edwardian Villa with beautiful gardens
A rather lovely part of the world!
Hafod Cae Maen (highlighted) sits above Portmeirion Village
The family-friendly sitting room
The library - our favourite room.  Has an open fire, a piano, and hundreds of books
The kitchen - fully equipped by a professional chef
The dining room - seats 8 with ease and 10 good friends!
The house and garden
The Portmeirion Room
The Portmeirion Room
The playhouse in one corner of the garden
The Rhinog Room
The Moel Y Gest Room - can also be made up as one king-size bed
The Cnicht Room - can also be made up as one king-size bed
The view from the balcony in the Portmeirion Room
Dine al fresco in the garden
Relax by the fire in the library
The south-facing garden has panoramic views
Portmeirion beach - accessible at low tide and, in our experience, a good spot for proposals!
Our house is the one left of centre!
Hafod Cae Maen is accessed along a farm track
Hafod Cae Maen was built in 1919
Stunning Edwardian villa with beautiful gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porthmadog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LizzyLond...
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Hafod Cae Maen surpassed our (high) expectations. It has so much character and has been lovingly put together to feel like a home from home- but a luxury version. Staying here was a real treat. We loved sunning ourselves in the garden by day and sitting in the cosy library in the evening. The kitchen is exceptionally well-equipped, it was possible to cook and bake without missing anything, which is not our usual experience in a holiday rental. Our 4 year old son was thrilled to discover the play cabin in the garden and games in the sitting room, the house has something for everyone! There is loads to do on the doorstep- we managed a round trip on the Ffestiniog railway to the fascinating Llechwedd slate caverns, walks along the coast and on the beach, a visit to Harlech castle and a wander around Portmerion. I'd recommend it all, and so would our son!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2017
Dear LizzyLondon - thank you so much for the lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the house and garden and very much hope you'll be back again before too long. Best wishes, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackiecre...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A magical place”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly I would like to thank the owners for sharing there beautiful holiday home which is simply "Paradise"
Hafod Cae Maen lets your imagination run wild! Could this be the home which inspired the game of "Cluedo" or did Enid Blyton visit and write her children's books of "The Famous Five" or is it simply such a wonderful place you can let your mind wander.
From the moment we drove up the narrow road,that turned into a track across the farmers field and the friendly greetings from the sheep and cows we knew we had found a special place.
Fresh flowers,milk,butter and a basket of Welsh goodies greeted us,such a nice gesture to make us all feel "at home" this was definitely true as none of us wanted to leave after our week and our ages ranged from mid 20's to late 80's.
This place leaves you wanting to come back for more,views,serenity & homeliness,never had such an impact like this.Thankyou.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2017
Dear Jackie - thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time. We are also so grateful that you managed to locate the ipad my husband had accidentally hidden the week beforehand when we were staying ourselves - everyone else please take note that Jackie is a very helpful and delightful guest! We'd love to see you again but do appreciate that we are some way from Australia... fingers crossed though! Best wishes, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil J
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Simply stunning & spectacular Home.”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Located in beautiful surroundings with stunning views across the estuary, situated off a private road with tranquil privacy and all that can be heard is the sound of the birds and the bees. All you need is here believe me.
Great for family and kids, with lots of places to visit including the lovey Italian Village of Portmeirion, The beaches of Black Rock Sands In nearby Borth-y-Guest and Harlech Castle is but a short drive away and well worth a visit.
Plenty of shops and a Large Tesco in Porthmadog are just a 5 minute drive away.
Gwen welcomed us with a warm charming smile and tasty welcome pack, She also took delivery of our supplies from Tesco which made our settling down and relaxing so much easier. She has great local knowledge and makes you feel very welcome.
We chose the perfect weekend with glorious weather to entertain our extended family for my mother's 75th gathering.
Would we recommend this beautiful home, Hell no, we want it all for ourselves:-)
On a serious note though we are definitely booking again for another 4 stays next year, we have stayed in Portmeirion village for many years but this home has won our hearts from now on.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
Dear Phil - thank you so much for the fantastic review! We are delighted you had a great time and over the moon that you plan to become frequent visitors - in fact that's made my evening :-) We look forward to welcoming you again soon, Claire PS Glad you liked Gwen - we feel very lucky to have her!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a week!”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a week with brothers, dog, grand parents and kids and what a week. Had all the weather from howling rain to scorching sunshine but the house had it all class, charm, mod cons and space. Has everything thing you need and is well located for Porthmadog, Snowdon and other beaches. The house comfortably slept 8 of us and has loads of outdoor space. Located off the beaten track but with easy access by car, bike or walking to nearby amenities or the train the views are supreme and the house is completely recommended! Have had an amazing week!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so pleased you had a good time and would love to see you again some time. Best wishes, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linleyblu...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect house for a family weekend”
Reviewed May 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Hafod Cae Maen is a beautiful house in a beautiful setting. It's extremely comfortable and very well equipped. The views are absolutely gorgeous and the garden is a safe haven for both children and dogs. There's plenty to do in the area, Portmeirion is close enough to walk to for meals and the beach and the mountain backdrop is stunning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a great review. We are delighted that you had a good time and hope to see you again. Best wishes, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincePayn...
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Returning to our roots!”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have just returned from this beautiful home.Our daughter Emma had booked it for us for a Christmas present. Lucy my wifes Grandparents lived here for many years and what a Christmas present! We were with various members of our family including a young baby and 2 young children of 4 and 5 years old. The house has been renovated to an absolutely excellent standard but not only that it has been done totally sympathetically. There is a lot of room at the house and it is so well equipped for families or groups of friends. Fantastic gardens and in a beautiful quiet area.We loved it and are already planning a return visit.We totally recommend it for a wonderful relaxing break in a beautiful Home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so pleased to be in touch with you and look forward to your return visit! Best wishes, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkmans
bedford
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful house”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We spent a week at Harold Cae Mean over Christmas and used it as a base for bringing family and friends together. The house is wonderful for entertaining and relaxing. It is superbly well appointed, extremely comfortable and everything works - every door closes properly, the showers work, every light bulb works, the open fire is splendid and the logs plentiful and bone dry (unlike other places we have stayed in as a rental) and the house was spotlessly clean. The location is excellent, off the beaten track with substantial gardens and a delightful, elevated, view over the estuary. We could not fault it and will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad you had a great stay and hope to welcome you again soon, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing