We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House, full of character”
other travelers have booked this property
Stunning Edwardian Villa with beautiful gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Edwardian Villa with beautiful gardens
A rather lovely part of the world! Hafod Cae Maen (highlighted) sits above Portmeirion Village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Stunning Edwardian Villa with beautiful gardens
A rather lovely part of the world!
Hafod Cae Maen (highlighted) sits above Portmeirion Village
The family-friendly sitting room
The library - our favourite room.  Has an open fire, a piano, and hundreds of books
The kitchen - fully equipped by a professional chef
The dining room - seats 8 with ease and 10 good friends!
The house and garden
The Portmeirion Room
The Portmeirion Room
The playhouse in one corner of the garden
The Rhinog Room
The Moel Y Gest Room - can also be made up as one king-size bed
The Cnicht Room - can also be made up as one king-size bed
The view from the balcony in the Portmeirion Room
Dine al fresco in the garden
Relax by the fire in the library
The south-facing garden has panoramic views
Portmeirion beach - accessible at low tide and, in our experience, a good spot for proposals!
Our house is the one left of centre!
Hafod Cae Maen is accessed along a farm track
Hafod Cae Maen was built in 1919
Stunning Edwardian villa with beautiful gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porthmadog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris C
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful House, full of character”
Reviewed November 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed with a group of friends and our young family - Hafod Cae Maen was an absolute delight. The house is beautiful (see the pics), set in a stunning location overlooking the Afon Dwyryd Estuary, with all the mod cons and very well restored and maintained. Our kids loved the grounds, and we loved having evenings in the library with an open fire (even in August) and a few bottles of wine. The location is also brilliant for visiting many local attractions - steam railways, mountains, castles, beaches. It was as close to perfect as you're going to get.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing in the library
Liked least: Struggling to think of anything...
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love the place ourselves and it's great that others do too! We are so pleased you had a great time and do hope you'll return before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen T
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you have the chance to stay at Hafod Cae Maen, GO! It's amazing.”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I'm just back from the most amazing holiday in Hafod Cae Maen with a group of friends and their children. The house is just fantastic - it felt just like home (except nicer!); everything you could possibly need was there. Every room was beautifully decorated, the kitchen and dining room was amazingly kitted out, the playroom and the outdoor playroom (!) were full of toys and games for children (and adults!), the garden was the perfect location for the children to explore and run freely and the Library was a fabulous room to enjoy some cheese and a glass of wine by the fire in the evenings. And I can't begin to describe how spectacular the view from the house is. If you have the chance to visit, just GO!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was just spectacular
Liked least: Having to leave and say goodbye
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so pleased you had a wonderful time and do hope you will come again. It's a very special place and the fact that others love it too make it worth all the hard work! Very best wishes, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seebefore...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Rain Didn't Matter”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this house for eight of our family and our 15 month old granddaughter over the May Day bank holiday weekend . The Saturday was very wet, and the Sunday drizzled but despite that we had a great time because we had such a terrific comfortable base.

This house is situated at the top of the hill over looking Portmeirion Village. Its spacious very comfortable with fantastic views across the estuary. The people who own this property have thought and provided for virtually every requirement irrespective of weather, age of group, heating, catering needs etc.

The person who looks after the house for the owner, Gwen, was brilliant. She sorted a problem with a pre arrival delivery we organised with Tesco, met us and came over to explain things us, and arranged for us to leave on the afternoon as nobody was coming in on the Tuesday. The latter enabled us to enjoy a sunny Monday at Portmeirion Village for our daughter in law's birthday.

We would definitely consider going back here and have no hesitation in recommending it. If I were picky the one change I would make would be a proper shower in the bathroom. These days as almost everybody showers eight people queuing for the shower room can be a little frustrating. In the context of the rest of the house the issue is minor

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, space, and the views
Liked least: The queue for the shower
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We love the house and gardens ourselves and it's great that other people do too! Please do come and see us again. Very best wishes, Claire PS I'm sorry to have taken so long to respond - for some reason I've only just seen your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning house in an equally stunning location”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I travel very often (whether for business of pleasure) and very rarely leave online feedback. If I stay somewhere which doesn’t live up to my expectations or I have a bad experience, I simply don’t go there again.

I am pleased to we have stayed here twice and thoroughly enjoyed our stay on both occasions. If you are looking for a luxury self-catering house/cottage in North Wales, then in my opinion you would honestly struggle to do better than Hafod Cae Maen.

My family regularly go the North Wales (2-3 trips) per year and plan to return here again. It is well set up for young children and the garden and playhouse are great for the children to burn off excess energy in a safe environment and also the views are breath-taking.

The house is very accommodating and managed to absorb 3 generations of my family with ease and without ever feeling cramped. The library is great for getting a roaring fire going and having a glass of wine, whereas the family lounge was nice for the children to have their own indoor space. The kitchen is extremely well equipped and my wife and I tried very hard to work out which utensil it lacked and gave up after a while! We got some goodies upon arrival which were gratefully consumed after a long drive and the housekeeper had already put away our online Waitrose delivery before our arrival.

The house is nicely situated and you can sometimes hear the toot of the nearby steam railway and also the chiming bells of Portmeirion. Other than Portmeirion (which has an excellent restaurant) and the Ffestiniog railway (good on a rainy day), within a short drive there are beaches, castles and slate mines and other activities to keep you busy.

I think the only downside would be that the house is approached by a single track road which is a little rough in places and may put off some unconfident drivers. Not an issue for us as we have a 4x4 and having said that my parents came to stay for a few days in their standard 4-door saloon and managed the road without issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are so pleased you love the house and gardens and are really grateful that you've put so much effort into telling others. Please come and see us again soon! With very best wishes, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C
Yorkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A truly special place”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a great week here over Easter 2015 with extended family.
This is a beautifully located home, situated on a hill above Portmeirion with expansive views south across the estuary and north towards the mountains. The location is at the end of a 0.75 mile bumpy track, so is secluded without being isolated.
The house is really well appointed and very comfortable. The gardens are extensive and well tended.
There is so much to do in the local and wider area for all ages and interests. There are lots of good walks from the house, either down into quirky Portmeirion or across the embankment into the hustle and bustle of Porthmadog. There is a train station at the end of the track in Minffordd,where you can take wonderfully scenic train rides either on the steam railway up into the mountains or the regular mainline trains that run along the coast. We did not use our car every day.
In short, it is just wonderful.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
Thank you so much for your review - it means a lot to us that our guests love Hafod Cae Maen as much as we do! Thanks for being great guests and please come and see us again some time. Best wishes, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCSAMWA16
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location, beautiful house”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

If you have kids or are going with friends, this is an ideal place to go on holiday. The house is ideally situated, beautifully maintained and has toys, books, DVD's and a good internet connection - ideal for all.

We travelled with 4 boys all under 7 years of age and when the weather was bad there was plenty to do, when it was good, the gardens and garden games are ideal for the kids and relaxing for the adults.

We will certainly be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are delighted you had a great time and that you enjoyed the house. And we would love to see you again! Best wishes, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L
2 reviews
“Home from home, but special - much better than home!”
Reviewed February 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

Hafod Cae Maen is an unbelievable place. Been back three times! Remote, in the sense of being well away from everybody/everything, with fabulous views, but a top class home-from-home, convenient for neighbouring - and superb! - local attractions Portmeirion and the Ffestiniog Railway, and peaceful dream beaches on the beautiful estuary below. Wonderfully roomy and well-appointed house, with big rooms (lovely library!) and terrific garden - so restful, so private, great for kids to do their own thing! Loads of parking space, but why use your car when you’ve got everything in the house, or within healthy walking distance?

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so pleased you love Hafod Cae Maen too! Please come and visit us again soon, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing