We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Family bathroom
One of the en-suites
View from Awelon cottage towards Ysgwar, the square restaurant and The Golden Fleece Pub.
Road leading out of Tremadog
A early morning view from the front bedroom window across Tremadog Square
Pretty Portmeirion 10 minute drive away
Porthmadog Harbour 15 minute walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Porthmadog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SarahJane...
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed February 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house exceeded our expectations. The house itself was beautiful and so comfortable. It had everything we needed and more. The area was ideal with two pub/restaurants a few paces away and a shop for last minute essentials. We really enjoyed our stay and the owner was very professional easy to deal with. We would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger B
Oldham
2 reviews
“Wonderful home from home”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Very comfortable and homely with great Welsh cottage atmosphere. Well presented & furnished. Located in quiet village square. Beautiful countryside and near excellent sandy beach. Large family group loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welsh cottage atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleyEli...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday home in a great location”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We really enjoyed our time at Awelon. The property itself is a great size, with a large living room, and open plan kitchen and dining room. The bedrooms were ideal for our needs. The home was generally well equipped, although it would have been useful to have hand wash in all bathrooms (we only had it in two of four). The parking is on street, but we never had any difficulties in gaining a space close to the property. The location of the property was great for exploring the local area, and I would recommend the food at the local pub, the golden fleece, which is three doors down. Overall, the property was excellent value for money and due to the versatile nature of the accommodation I would recommend it to groups of friends or families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was a good size, well presented, and in an excellent location.
Liked least: Minor issue - no hand wash in two bathrooms.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate L
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed here with 7 friends for a week in august. Very very impressed with the house itself and the surroundings. Very good price for such a beautiful house. Village is small but pretty and still has 3 pubs and a restaurant, with Porthmadog also only 15 minutes walk away. Great holiday, thank you!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigerlily...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location close to Porthmadog and ideal for walkers.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We all had a great time with our daughters, partners and 4 grandchildren. Black Rock Beach is a must, ideal for children, with rockpools and sand dunes. You can drive your car right onto the beach. Borthly-Guest is an attractive quiet little cove with tea rooms, well worth a visit. The Festinog Steam train is very enjoyable for all ages. Sadly the week went too quickly before we had time to visit Portmerion. Hopefully next time!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30Pete
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great base to explore surrounding area”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Place was loverly,well decorated,large and well equipped.Stairs to upper levels could do with hand rails elderly mother did struggle. Restaurant Y-SGWAR was wonderful. Square could be a little noisey at night with traffic and pub opposite.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sana W
2 reviews
“Great stay!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for 1 week in the house over the May half-term.
It was great. Superb views surrounding the house, very convenient as it is near to the sea and near to the mountain.
We were 2 families with 5 children aged 11, 9, 9, 3 and 1.
Diana has thought about everything. It was very homely.
Overall, we really enjoyed it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing