We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a most enjoyable and pleasant weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“a most enjoyable and pleasant weekend”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Sportsman Hotel for my 40th birthday weekend at the end of January. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. We dined in the hotel restaurant on the first evening and were treated to an exceptional standard of food with a lovely atmosphere and very pleasant staff. The most enjoyable meal we have had in a long time. Due to a change of plans we ended up dining in the bar on our second evening and, once again, the standard of the food wasa exceptional. Great value for money and outstanding quality. The hotel and rooms were not particularly high quality, but they were spotlessly clean and had all the basic essentials in additional to the odd nice touch (good quality toileteries in the bathroom etc). The hotel is clearly an old building that has recently been refurbished to a decent standard. It is not a 5*, but then that is reflected very much in the price. Onsite car parking was secure, free and sufficient at the time of year we went, but I can imagine it would be more scarce in the summer period. The lovely staff couldn't do enough for us even when we had to leave very early in the morning on our day of departure, the chef cooked us up some fresh croissants and packed them for us to take on our journey. I really couldn't recommend the hotel enough if you are looking for a value for money break in a very beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMtheBGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    249
    85
    27
    22
See reviews for
92
320
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Sportsman in Porthmadog for a business trip before christmas, It is in an excellent location centrally placed within Porthmadog. Rooms were clean and tidy with all the required amenities, the bar is well stocked and generally busy enough with passing trade, the food on offer I would describe as OK! what let the hotel down for me was the officious nature of the owner and his overbearing presence on his staff!! this i witnessed several times during our week there, akin to this when we asked for a discount as we were booking 4 rooms i was told that he could do a £68 room for £66... a whopping discount of 2 english pounds! also his policy on not allowing Wi-Fi access to customers in the bar is wrong... surely as paying customers they should be given the code same as residents!! Only slight criticisms but definately something to work on in future... the other staff were nice especially the Scottish girl on reception. I think for the price they are charging you can find better value in Porthmadog, but if cash is no object you should have a nice stay... so long as Mr owner winds his neck in a bit!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripAdvisaBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croiala, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
If the guest had approaced any of the Reception Staff or myself, we would have been very happy to explain why this hotel no longer allow customers ,who are not staying at this hotel, access to our Free WIFI.

Previously, we did allow open access but a court case and very clear advice from VISIT Wales and the E-crime unit of North Wales Police changed our mind. The case involved an individual having a drink in a pub who downloaded unauthorised material. The pub was sued by the owners of the material in question and it cost the pub £6000 in an out of court settlement. We now only allow guests who stay here to use our WIFI and each one has to sign a clearly documented waiver declaration which we keep. We do not charge for WIFI here and is seen as part of the benefits for staying here. However, we cannot leave the hotel exposed to potential abuse from outside and unfettered use can slow the system down.

As for room prices, I am somewhat surprised by his comments. Firstly, the prices offered were already discounted and secondly, the guest accepted them. If he was not happy with them, he could have booked elsewhere as no one forced him to stay! During January to March, we always have a large number of business customers staying here, most referral or repeat guests; we must be doing something right!

It is always difficult to make comments about the interaction of staff and management after the event and it is very easy to take actions or comments out of context. We have a very good hard working team and it is a happy one, many of which have been here for several years; some are family members. The owner, myself, very much stands back and I trust our team but occasionally, an individual has to be reminded of the quality standards we have set for this hotel. I do not apologise for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Hotel was warm, welcoming & spotlessly clean. Rooms were well appointed & the food in the Restaurant excellent, well above expectation. The serving of locally produced, reasonably priced real ale in the bar was a bonus …

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCP163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2010

stay was welcoming as always had lovely walks and fantastic food .Room was comfy and warm.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyboop033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2010

An excellent welcome at Reception, very informative but friendly. The room was large and comfotable with a clean and tidy air to it, and a very good en-suite. The heating was already on in the room - a nice touch as it was cold outside. First evening (we arrived quite late) was spent having a drink and meal in Gelert's bar - excellent food; locals as well as guests in there (always a good sign) and the Bar Manager, Daniel, knows how to keep everybody happy and well served - a real credit to the Hotel!
Peppinos restaurant is used for Breakfast and also a more formal evening meal if that's what you want - we tried it and the food & service was excellent on each ocassion.
We took a look at one of the 9 'garden' bedrooms that are all easily accessible to people with a walking disability - a subject close to our heart for family reasons; and family pets are also welcome in these rooms.
The hotel is located towards the northern end of town, however walking to the other end of town is accomplished in 10 - 15 minutes (depending on how many shop windows the wife wants to look in).
All in all an excellent hotel, profesionally managed and run, good value for money; in a superb location.

Roy Lees 22/11/10

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186402Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed in November and the hotel was warm and welcoming with a roaring log fire in the bar.
Our room was large and well furnished with plenty of drinks and biscuits and even a teapot!
The mattress was a little hard but we put the extra blanket under the bottom sheet and were happy with that.
Most days we could choose to eat in the bar or the dinng room with the same menu and level of service in both. The food was very good except for the chunky chips which we found to be hard and overcooked.
The staff were very helpful and friedly - some of the best we have come across anywhere.
Altogether a hotel to be recommended

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenL2743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Little break away with Mrs, stayed at the Sportsman in Porthmadog. Restaurant was fantastic and room was clean and really well prepared. Staff very friendly and proffessional.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,392 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
275 reviews
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Property: Royal Sportsman Hotel
Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing