We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
$163
$158
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
$139
$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George IV Hotel(Criccieth)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Y Branwen(Harlech)
$111
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Mawr Hotel(Llanbedr)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Royal Goat Hotel(Beddgelert)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveler rating
314
268
101
28
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
268
101
28
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomcovered car parkexcellent foodno liftunder coverlocal producefamily roomboth nightslambcomfortable hotelpienorth waleshigh streetcooked breakfastthe welsh highland railwaycooked to perfectiontwo night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
690 - 695 of 734 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2009

recently stayed at the above hotel for a mixed golfing break .evening meal choice varied and of a very high standard, rooms clean and spacious, staff very friendly,for anyone who likes real ale the bar stocks good beer .

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank proudPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

I booked the Royal Sportsman for my 50th birthday celebration with my extended family, and we all really enjoyed our stay.
The rooms were clean, and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Louis the manager took the time to check everything was OK throughout our stay whilst Viorica his charming wife looked after us in the restaurant.
This is a well run hotel and the enthusiasm of the owners shows in the level of service we received.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hughzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We selected the hotel because of its cenntral location. We were given an extremely warm welcome by the owner, and his dog, and he gave us a potted history of his hotel. The room was small but comfortable and clean. We ate in the restaurant on both the nights we were there. The food was very good and the staff were very attentive. We also made good use of the bar which served excellent beer although there was a strong feeling that we weren't "local people". Overall a pleasant enough place but a bit pricey for a relatively small room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDaveWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

A group of thirty people from ages 3 to 69 stayed for the weekend at the Royal Sportsman, we all came to the same conclusion - the hotel is hugely overpriced. The rooms were clean but if you are not in the main hotel and you are placed in the back your room will be very dark and very damp. The rooms in the main hotel are fine but still overpriced for a basic very average hotel in North Wales.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank QualityCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croiala, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2010

The rooms in which the customers stayed have since this review been rebuilt and refurbished which was always the intention. New double lighting, flat screen TV's, showers etc have all been added. Some of the bedrooms did look a little dated but all bedrooms and public areas have now been given a completely new fresh look and feel.

We would not consider this to be a basic hotel but one of the very best 3* hotels in Gwynedd according to Visit Wales, the AA and most customers who have stayed here. The hotel has a Rosette and is in the Good Food Guide with high score for facities and services.

As for value for money, that is very subjective and assumes that the customer has stayed in sufficient number to make an informed judgement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

We stayed at the Royal Sportsman Hotel at Christmas 2008 for 3 nights, this being at least the fifth time we have stayed at the hotel. We found the rooms and the public areas of the hotel exceptionally clean, and the staff and management to be friendly and courteous, in fact they couldn’t do enough for us to make our stay the best we’ve had yet. The food is of the highest quality which you would expect from a 3 AA star hotel, with breakfast being the best we have ever had for a hotel of this standard. All meals are cooked to order and use fresh and local ingredients. The public bar of the hotel seems to be at the hub of this small community of Porthmadog. This lively bar is frequented by staff from the hotel, locals and guests, and has a real homely feel about it. The local people have always made us feel very welcome in the bar, as they do for all guests of the hotel. If guests don’t want to use the public bar, there is a very nice lounge where you can relax in peace or enjoy any meal or drink you wish to order, there is also a very well presented and maintained patio area for those warmer days! We will definitely be returning again to this hotel and I never hesitate in recommending the Royal Sportsman to anyone who wants to stay in Porthmadog or the Snowdonia area. Keep up the good work Louis and team!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpalmerManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews